We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap accommodation for students” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pyramids View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pyramids View Inn to your Saves list
Pyramids View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Sphinx Street - nazlet el samman | Pyramids Sound & Light Square, Cairo 1212, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free airport Pickup
Ranked #2 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Cheap accommodation for students”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Openly said, it was my big mistake. I didn’t care to much about suspicious low price but I saw relative good rating, actually the best in the area close to pyramids. After very long searching (it took about one hour for my driver who is born in Cairo, and 30 minutes next day for another one) we found it and truly say I was shocked. The hotel is placed in poor area and it's poor itself. From outside it looks horrible and after “checking” I was given a key from the room which was “pyramid-see-view”. Room of dimensions 2x3m was full of a nice king-bed 1,6x2m, so there left not to much place for the movement, therefor there is a sliding door, which the hotel gay couldn’t close. The bed was placed under the window, which was in height of 2m, so if you wanted to see outside you would have to stay on the bed. I was aware that I am in Egypt but the rating was so nice...
Starting with disappointment, I was positively surprised to find the rooms very clean. The washroom is common for several rooms and despite my fear also this rooms were nice clean. Another positive aspect was very friendly and kind personal. WiFi in this hotel was really good and free in the room as well as on the roof.
This hotel I only would recommend to students and young people, who want to find a nigh shelter. They can find a cheap hotel situated directly to pyramids, with clean rooms and very nice people. I would never recommend it to anyone who is from abroad and expect at least a bit comfort. An Egyptian partner picked me up next morning and the first words yet before introducing himself to me were “who the hell told you about this hotel, look out on the streets, in this district there cannot be any good hotel”. Nevertheless the hotel looks horrible as well as the whole area, I have to repeatedly mention the cleanness and nice attitude of personal and that’s the main reason why I rate it with 3 points.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    61
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
62
57
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed there on May ,1st 2013 and our overall experience was very positive.

Positives :
1. Very punctual and courteous free airport pick-up. This is important if you are travelling first time to Cairo.
2. The room was very clean. The bathroom was ensuite and quite spacious.
3. The view from the room of the pyramids was very good ( just as promised)
4. The staff were very helpful and provided good information.
5. The owner Mr Samy spent some quality time on the afternoon of our visit. We enjoyed our
interactions with him.
6. The sound and light show from the rooftop is a free bonus positive.
7. The kitchen was usable to heat and make your food.
8. The breakfast consists of Egyptian fare (felafel and vegetarian dishes) as well as
cheese/jam/bread. Very filling.
9. The receptionist Mr Ahmed was very, very helpful.
10. The view from the rooftop terrace is stunning....right in front of the Sphinx and the Pyramids.

Areas for Improvement :
1. The felafel and breakfast items are very oily. There is another type of felafel available in Egypt which is dry and non-oily. ( I found this out later in the trip) This would be preferable. Also the local egyptian bread 'fitr' can be made available for breakfast.
2. No staff is available in the hotel early morning till about 7.00 am when breakfast is served.
( The power in our bathroom tripped at 6.00 am . I tried to locate the microswitch panel to again switch it 'on' , but because there was no staff we could not locate the panel. We had to take bath in the bathroom with no lights)
3. The taxi from the Inn to Giza station actually cost only 20 Egpytian pounds (after negotiations) and the shop-keeper below the hotel helped us get the same.
( However, the previous day when we checked with Samy, we were told that the hotel can arrange the same for 50 LE (Egyptian pounds)with the hotel's agency).
4. The hotel can keep a map of Cairo/Giza in the room.
5. Also approximate taxi fare charts should be kept.
6. A complimentary bottle of water (large) should be kept in the room. The hotel charges 10 LE for this but if you walk down the street it is available for 5 LE. The shopkeeper will first tell you 10 LE for this. But you tell him that it costs only 3 LE (actual cost in market) and then he will give you for 5 LE.
7. The cost of room is quite steep at US $ 60 for the pyramids view room.
The cost of a 5 star hotel room in Giza is between US$ 50 to US$ 60 only. Hence the steep price is for the view. Also I checked that now, (in the second week of May 2013) the room is available for US $ 50. Hence, feel that the charge was high for the facilities.
8. We had requested for one double bed, but the room had two single beds. Hence we had to use the single bed as a double bed !!
9. The room and the bathroom was very clean. However the cleanliness of the kitchen needs to be improved.

Room Tip: Go for the Pyramids View Room.The view is great and is well ventilated. The other rooms may possibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pyramidsview, Owner at Pyramids View Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear our valuable Guest

Thank you for your review and we appreciate it much do to the fact that all recommendations was taken very seriously and its perfect recommendations and we implemented the add on as of today includes the free large water bottle in room on arrival, taxi cost chart, and the free Giza map.

Your review was one of the most important for us due to positive review about all the good areas in our hotel and of course the advice you gave.

Thanks

SAMY Ghoneim

Pyramids view inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The obvious lure of this hotel is the excellent location. For the price, I can't imagine having a better place to stay. A rooftop view of the pyramids (perfect for the sunset) with ample room to sit, eat, and mingle are well worth the stay alone. The food is what you'd expect from Egypt and the staff will help you in any way they can. As others have said, they include either transportation to or from airport (or wherever you're coming from) and can give you the other way at low cost.

I think the only "downside" are the rooms. For me and my wife, the rooms were fine. They're small and don't have much in terms of amenities; but, we really just needed a place to sleep and spent our "relax" time hanging out on the roof. The bathroom (shared) seemed to be clean anytime I used it, so no problems there.

Overall, if you're traveling on a budget, this is a nice place to stay. Great location, excellent staff, and sufficient rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My three lads and wife really enjoyed this hotel (as did I). The staff was very helpful, they offered an airport shuttle, and arranged some inexpensive tours for us. The view from both our room and the dining area on the roof was amazing. We would absolutely recommend it to our friends, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As mentioned earlier - dont expect a great hotel with full facilities. It is an Inn with a double bed and shared bathroom. However rest of the elements are great:
1. Excellent location
2. Very helpful staff - special thanks to Kamaal who had everything - including prepaid mobile recharges, water, even served us breakfast at 5:30 am before we left for the airport
3. Free pickup from the airport
4. Good breakfast
5. Away from main city and Tahirir square - so no issues about safety (for those who are concerned)

Downsides:
1. Point 5 - so one way taxi fare to cairo city costs 40-50 egyptian pounds
2. Rooms could be cleaner - dont think they do any cleaning on a daily basis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pyramidsview, Owner at Pyramids View Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear our Guest
Thank you for your great review, and I am glad that you had A great time with, regarding the Bathrooms, it was true with only 3 rooms in the back of the building but the rest of the rooms has its own bathrooms, as of 15 April even the back 3 rooms will have its own after we got the approval from the local government.
All rooms get cleaned every day, however clean the room again later on the day is up to the guest request. Which we have signs in every room explain the process of cleaning.
Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The service and food were really great. The waiters are helpful and serve you with a smile.
They present a wide variety of food on the open buffet.
I had a special breakfast and morning there. The hotel is beautiful, a resort in the city.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel does indeed feature a wonderful location and fabulous rooftop deck where you can see the Sound & Light show in the evening. Food is served on the deck which is very good and resonably priced. For this alone, I feel like the hotel is worth consideration. We had a fabulous evening on our last day in Egypt here enjoying the view from the rooftop. The hotel also arranged a very good price on our airport transfer at 1:30 am.

But, be aware that what you get is a small room with shared bath and sitting area. I was shocked when we were first shown our $80 per night room. It was about 10 x 10 feet square with two double beds crammed against the walls and a small nightstand inbetween. There was literally nothing else in the room and the decor was a sort of mishmash. It had a sliding glass window with a view of the pyramids. We were supposed to have a balcony, but when we checked in apparently they had given that room to someone else. It was hard to appreciate the view as you had no where to sit. We were told that our bathroom was private, but it was in a communal area and wasn't locked so anyone could use it. I was really glad that we had only booked one night in that particular room.

I think this hotel would be a good choice if you pick a budget room and enjoy it for the wonderful rooftop deck and communal features. But, I would not recommend the premium pyramid view room if you are expecting a nice room for that amount. Save your cash and spend it on a nice dinner on the deck. This hotel is not for anyone wanting any sort of luxury! But, it is a very good budget option if you are OK with hostel type accommodations.

Room Tip: Go for the budget rooms otherwise you may be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pyramids View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramids View Inn

Address: 10 Sphinx Street - nazlet el samman | Pyramids Sound & Light Square, Cairo 1212, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pyramids View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
with free airport transfer . at the historical area of the pyramids of Giza Facing the 3 pyramids and The Great sphinx , pyramids , Giza,the nearest location to the pyramids of Giza,only 300 feet from The pyramids and front of The entrance Gate and Roof top sitting With The Best View ,All rooms with air condition and (hot & cold water), living room with American kitchen and balcony overlooking the Sphinx. The rooms, furnished with an elegant and luxurious wooden ceilings and marble floors, offer the most modern standards. Each room has quality fittings, air conditioning, TV color satellite, ISDN fast internet connection, direct dial telephone. All rooms are equipped with emergency lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pyramids View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyramids View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.