We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dina's Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dina's Hostel to your Saves list
Dina's Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   42 Abd El Khalek Sarwat | 5th Floor, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

THis was my second stay at Dinas hostel. IT is spotlessly clean, wifi is fast and the airport pickups were fairly priced. I stayed in the dorms which were very comfortable. It obvious the owners take pride in their establishment. WOuld stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    30
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
23
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff were nice and funny. They speak english fluently and can help you with any questions that you have about the city and being a traveler there. I stayed in the dorms, which was a great way to meet other travelers that I explored the city with. Rooms and facilities were clean and nice. Breakfasts were simple, but very good and filling. For such a low price, I can't imagine a better quality hostel. I will definitely stay here again when I need a cheap, convenient place to stay in Cairo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Bearing in mind my tastes are very much more at the hotel end (I had to stay at a hostel with my Egyptologist friends), I was surprised by comfortable Dina's was - a real achievement in downtown Cairo, and the staff were great, especially one young lady who took me to a local pharmacy to help me with my mosquito bites. There seems to be a very good atmosphere and I was impressed by the film showings they have there. It is a gem of a place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Really felt at home in this hostel. Staff were always helpful and gave good directions to either transport options, food or local advice.
The prices were really fantastic value and the location was central enough for making your way around Cairo on foot.
What I really personally like best was the decor, the wood and furnishings, coupled with the big lounge area. The high ceilings and airy atmosphere seems so beautiful.
Toilets were always very clean and hot water (hooray!) was always available. I stayed here twice, with both stays coming a month apart. The second was much better because they seemed to have tackled the mosquito problem very well.
One of the best hostel's I have ever stayed, in all my little bit of traveling. :>

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that don't face the main road. The traffic can be crazy, even at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

staff is amazing, Dina is a good host but always busy, the place is laid back, a typical backpackers hostel where to meet people and use as a base for personal expeditions. rooms are huge and the place is all very clean.

Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

It's not the cleanest hostel. The bathrooms were dirty and they don't change the blankets. The staff don't seem to know much either and there are far too many mosquitos. There are definitely much better hostels around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was amazed after staying in several different hostels in Cairo over years that I have been coming back to Egypt at how unique and lovely Dina's Hostel was. The standards of cleanliness, inexpensive prices, the variety of breakfasts, friendly and engaging staff, spacious rooms, cozy common areas made my stay delightful from the beginning to the end. Dina's Hostel is where I will be coming back to on my next visit to Egypt. I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
8.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 135 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.3 mi away
Bella Luna
Bella Luna
#11 of 135 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#35 of 135 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.3 mi away
One Season Hostel
One Season Hostel
#1 of 133 in Cairo
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dina's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dina's Hostel

Address: 42 Abd El Khalek Sarwat | 5th Floor, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Hotel Class:2 star — Dina's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Dina's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dina's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.