We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food by the Nile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kebabgy

Kebabgy
3 El Thawra Council Street | P.O. Box 732, El Orman - Giza, Cairo, Egypt
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 3,929 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant situated in Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah hotel. Mostly patronised by locals and VIPs.
cairo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food by the Nile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is by far my favourite place to have grilled chicked and kebab since I was a child, the Quality remains unbeatable over the years.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were disappointed with this restaurant. Lovely setting with gorgeous views of Nile. Food was average and nothing special. Customer service was frustrating.We felt meal was overpriced and did it reflect the positive reviews we had read.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Top Contributor
667 reviews 667 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
559 helpful votes 559 helpful votes
“Excellent in all areas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After arriving at the Sofitel we ha a tour around the premises to check it out and when we arrived at the Kebabgy at 1pm we were offered a free bread to just have a taste. Very good first impression and the next night we cma ein to have food they staid with it.

A very nice outdoor seating with a very good view over the nile and the passing boats sheltered form the wind (which can be cold in March in Cairo). We had the cold mezze and all of them were freshly made, very tasty and this could have been enough for us. I tried the mixed grill and my girlfriend the chicken and both came in timed so that some mezze were still left (which made for interesting mixes) perfectly grilled and on a little BBQ to keep it warm while we were eating.

A very nice idea because the portin wa so big that we could hardly finish it all.

The staff was friendly very fast and efficinet and unobtrusive as well so we had a wonderful menu in a very nice setting and enjoyed it very much. If you are not a good eater, leave the appetizers out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I don't like”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I don't like either the food ,nor the staff , neither their attitude , no customer service at all .....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Scegliete la terrazza esterna! Vista sul Nilo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The place is located inside the Sofitel, there is a beautiful terrace outside, unfortunately weather was too cold to stay there. Inside the light are too bright, the music is live Egyptian very cozy.
Food mezzes are good, and the best main dishes are lamb chops or half grilled chicken or shish taouk. Desserts are not exceptional, they are average. Forget the fruit salad, it is made of apples and cantaloupe melon... That's it. Another think we did not like, around 11 pm the restaurant guy at the terrace put back the terrace cushions on our window blocking the view... Place to come but watch out for the service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kebabgy also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Kebabgy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kebabgy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.