We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beef in Egypt!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Swiss Restaurant

Little Swiss Restaurant
Corner of 18th and 84th, Maadi Sarayat, Cairo, Egypt
01068502236
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 3,910 Restaurants in Cairo
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois USA & Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Best Beef in Egypt!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I had a nice romantic dinner here last week. I was never a real fondue fan, but my wife wanted to go. I read good reviews, so I was expecting a lot, and I was not disappointed. Everything was very nice, clean, and the restaurant is small but cozy.

Their cheese is imported. But by far the best thing we had was the beef. Their beef has to be the best beef I've ever had in Egypt. I have been here since 2005. I am a very picky beef eater. I think most beef in Egypt tastes a bit "gamey". I prefer the USDA choice beef from the States. But this beef (although it is from Egypt) is softened and prepared perfectly. It doesn't taste gamey. In fact, it tastes so good!!!!

I would come here just for the beef!!!!

One thing: you have to make a reservation. It is booked in advance for many days!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    25
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great fondue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

my first time was couple of months ago, a friend invited me there and said ''definitely u should try this, trust me''despite of that im not a meat lover but i did!i really enjoyed my meal and went several times since, cheese fondue is amazinggggg! the place is small but cozy though, managed by a v v v nice and friendly swiss lady!i strongly recommend this place!:)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“great fondue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I wanted to try this restaurant once I heard about it and finally went last week. Despite the decor being very cheesy (no pun intended, but it is really awful), the restaurant has dim lighting and a very romantic feel.

The cheese fondue is perfection, the raclette is as real as it gets, and the grilled meats are so fun to do at the table. The chocolate fondue at the end was just incredible. This is one of the few places in Cairo where things are done correctly, and not "good enough" as most restaurants seem to target in this city. The meal generated several, "Mmm, delicious," comments.

The portions are extremely small, so you practically have to order everything on the menu for a proper meal, which is very pricey. Without wine, we spent 550 LE for 2.

However the disappointing part (which is why this only gets 4 stars instead of 5) is that at the end, while we did order a lot and were really taking our time enjoying the meal, before they even took away our dessert, the owner asked us to leave because she had other customers waiting outside. I'm sorry, but when spending so much for a meal, I expect to take as much time as I like enjoying it. This really left a bad taste in my mouth and I'm not sure that I would go back there again as a result.

Hopefully other guests don't have the same experience. Make a reservation, the restaurant is so small it is necessary.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been there once; loved the fact that the place is not really known and commercial! Somewhere hidden in maadi degla! Meat and cheese were AMAZING! Fondue and Raclette couldnt get any better! Great choice if you are into real swiss fondue...very expensive though!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Swiss charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Celebrated my birthday in excellent atmosphere. Great cheese fondue, table grill and chocolate fondue! 1 fondue per 1 person (small portions). Good value for price.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Swiss Restaurant also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Little Swiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Swiss Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.