We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as they write” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairo Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cairo Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairo Downtown Hotel
2 Amir Kadadar St | Bab El looq - Tahrir Sq, Cairo 11511, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Poznań
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As good as they write”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is very good for it's price. We recommend you buying the trip to Memphis, Sakkara, Dahshur and Giza with camel ride at the reception desk - it was really interesting and fun.We have nothing unfavourable to say. Maybe one thing - don't get suspicious when you see the entrance ;)

Room Tip: The windows of our room were on the main street and it was loud all day and all night so if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
11
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is centrally located at the heart of Cairo within walking distance to Tahrir Square and Egyptian Museum, which is what I need. Access to restaurants and money changers is really easy. The room is clean, spacious and cozy. Bed is really comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they are not pushy in selling you tours. Come to Egypt. It's safe and has been greatly exaggerated by the media.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stay just one night sadly in this hotel. The location is great very close to Tahrir sq which is very quiet when we come. it is near Sadat metro station. We booked room with private bathroom. It was very clean. The room also very quiet given the location. It is completely safe to stay in this hotel. Will definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: Choose room number 506, the room is very quiet with beautiful window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Upon climbing several flights of colonial steps, you enter the warm and friendly charm of CDH. The owners are genuine and helpful and the facilities excellent. Most importantly, the beds are comfortable. It's a shame so many tourists are being put off Cairo at the moment, reports of trouble are greatly exaggerated. Excellent location, being just off Tahir Square. If you're staying in Cairo, you won't find a better resting place for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here a few nights before moving into an apartment in Giza near the pyramids. You can't go wrong here. The only thing is the entrance is hard to find but fortunately most people speak some english and they'd be happy to show you. Also, being on one of the busiest (and loudest) streets in Cairo, the rooms are surprisingly quiet and you get an awesome breakfast every morning. I am definitively staying there again when I go back to Cairo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I simply can't rate this hotel highly enough. I booked in advance based on its rating. We were a party of four - three women, one man, took up three rooms, and stayed three nights. We are Americans. We were picked up with no problems at the airport. We left at 1:00 am on the day the constitutional amendment was announced jammed into the hotel staff's car because the taxi couldn't get through. Previously we had spent 8 days on a private sailboat on the Nile and two days in Luxor. We were traveling by ourselves. Hotel staff truly represented the best of Egyptian hospitality and kindness (dealing with folk in Luxor had just about burned us out). First -- female products. Women -- if you don't know about female products in Egypt before traveling there do your research! After we made stops at five pharmacies all of which claimed "no knowledge," we broke down and explained the situation to the front desk folk. They got on the phone and did serial phone calls to find a pharmacy that not only carried such things but delivered! You really have to have visited Egypt to appreciate this. Second, in the midst of building protests my daughter and I were concerned about going out by ourselves and searching for an ATM at dusk -- without even having to be asked staff pulled out the keys to the car and drove us around until we found one that worked, stood by while we got our money and drove us back. Tours -- my daughter and I got the all pyramid tour -- not just Giza (as I've said we were pretty sick of haggling for ourselves at this point) -- great tour guide - great tour - great price -- arranged at 11:00 at night the day before the tour. Third -- lovely rooms -- comfortable beds, air conditioners work great -- balconies are wonderful -- we sat for hours just watching the traffic, clean rooms, bathrooms spotless - food fine - finally someone explained that if I wanted coffee with milk I needed to order Nescafe. Be prepared for the staircase -- it's straight out of an Orson Wells movie -- but everyone helps get the bags up. Our best to everyone there -- are thoughts are with you.

Room Tip: Front corner room -- 503 is big with two balconies -- its on Tahrir Road and some folk would think i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The taxi driver and I had difficulties finding the hotel (make sure you print out a map of its location), but it was well worth the trouble. Sony and his team are helpful to the right extent without being too helpful (i.e. pushy), which was a relief after reading about high-pressure tour sales in hotels and on the streets of Cairo. They helped me to do what I wanted to do, as independently as possible, without trying to persuade me to do other things. Now for the hotel itself - great value, fabulous location (though it was only pure luck that there was no upheaval in the square while I was there), tons of character, clean, what more can one ask? I took on the decidedly creepy stairwell as a photography challenge and chance to make friends with some Egyptian cats, with rewarding results. My only suggestion would be to offer a more "local" breakfast, including some of the fresh Egyptian flatbread, as well as some European/North American options. Overall, highly recommended for anyone with at least a slight sense of adventure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the alley are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairo Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Downtown Hotel

Address: 2 Amir Kadadar St | Bab El looq - Tahrir Sq, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small local hotel with high standards of service and cleanliness that is also conveniently located in the heart of Cairo's Central Tahrir Square. We offer accommodation for travelers to ensure their comfort during their stay in Cairo. Along with hotel services, our central location allows access to all of the Cairo Metro, Egyptian Museum, Bus Terminal, Ramses Train Station, restaurants, shops, and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Cairo Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairo Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.