We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Belle Epoque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Belle Epoque
Save Saved
You added Villa Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Road 13, Villa 63 | Maadi, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Cairo B&B and Inns
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed at this very friendly boutique hotel for a total of 4 nights in April 2012. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was good and the grounds of the hotel, (which is located in a quiet, leafy suburb in Maadi, Cairo), were kept in beautiful condition. It is somewhat off the "beaten track" and so may not suit those seeking a central location - however I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at the Villa Belle Epoque for a week during February 2012. The hotel is situated in a quiet street in Maadi. The rooms were very spacious, the staff were very friendly , had troubles with the Wi-fi, the hotel manager was very helpful to sort out the issue. Food at the restaurant is really good, the only downside is the service is slow during dinner time. The is about 45 minute drive from the airport and 30 minutes to downtown Cairo (can also take up to 2 hours on a busy day)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Had a lovely meal in this very atmospheric Colonial type hotel in Cairo

Both food and service were excellent. We were in transit between flights and therefore cannot comment on the accommodation but found the restaurant a very good place to eat.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed at the Belle Epoque this February for a week. I mostly agree with other reviewers here, but want to add a few comments. First, on the location. Its on a quiet street in Maadi, a Cairo suburb, about 45 minutes from downtown depending on traffic. Its an easy metro ride that may be faster (and is definitely cheaper) then a taxi. The good part is that Road 9 (just a few blocks away from the hotel on Road 13) in Maadi has a number of shops and restaurants, including a couple coffee joints, ice cream, cupcakes, bagels, a good sushi restaurant, La Gourmandise (a French style bakery/cafe with great baguette sandwiches). I only ate breakfast at the hotel, and ate out the rest of the time. There's also a great Chinese place in Maadi called China Winds, and a good Indian restaurant called Bukara, near the river (across the street from TGIF)

Sure, the neighborhood is dusty, and a little run down, but, this is Cairo.

The hotel is in two villas that are well decorated and very comfortable. Free wifi, comfortable beds. The place is somewhat deserted now, so one would expect better more individualized service, but it appears the hotel must have let some staff go, as there was hardly anyone around. 3 different days this week, I went into the lobby, sat in the restaurant, helped myself to the breakfast buffet (which is marginal given the price of the hotel, though understandably as the place was almost empty), sat and ate, then left without seeing a soul (including staff). I have stayed at other hotels since the revolution that have much better prices and have managed to maintain service standards.

I may stay here again as I really enjoyed the neighborhood and have business nearby. I wouldn't recommend it for those who plan to do sightseeing downtown, as its a bit of a hike, and there are better options elsewhere. The area is a bit removed from the political issues ongoing near Tahrir square and government buildings downtown and Maadi is one of the safer parts of town with lots of foreign officials living nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, Herts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The reality of the Belle Époque in Maadi is far removed from that promised. The following are just a few of our issues :-

No friendly welcome, surely receptionist, dirty net curtains, expensive poor quality food (not the luxury cuisine promised in the Sunday Times review when it opened). Very limited hot breakfast consisting of tepid eggs and beans heated by a single candle and a poor selection of other items. No tea of coffee facilities in the room.
Peace and tranquillity is promised, but the five thirty wake-up from the very nearby muezzin makes a mockery of this.
Tranquillity away from the hustle and bustle is one thing, isolation is altogether another matter. The Villa suffers from being in the middle of nowhere. No nearby restaurants or shops, with the railway line between the hotel and Corniche making walking to anywhere impossible
The property may have been fine when it was first opened and under the supervision of its owners for its review by the Sunday Times, but apparently the ownership and management has changed hands.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel has a great look it a run down area. When I went it was cold for Cairo so couldn't make use of gardens for eating etc. my room was large wi a TV and large shower and bath room. No tea coffee facilities in room. I obviously went at a quiet time and trying to find staff was very hard. The company that booked me in there rang the hotel on many occasions with no reply. Wifi is free but very intermittent. Breakfast was not good. The local shopping area in Maadi has 2 coffee houses which are okay but the town is run down and I watched children begging and fighting on the streets, and numerous wild cats roaming.
I ate there every evening, (on my own as no other guests) and must say the food was great. Probably best food I have had in a while at a hotel and reasonably priced too. Would like to try staying there in nice weather and better political climate, when I am sure my review would be so much more positive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This hotel in the Maadi area is located in a residential area so is a lot quieter than most hotels. The hotel itself is like an old colonial villa, with palm trees and gardens around the outdoor seating areas with several small lap pools also. It's really nice.
Rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. There is nothing in the immediate area so you will need to drive to get to any restaurants/sights etc.
The breakfast buffet is very, very limited and a bit disappointing. Dinner is a vast improvement with very good dishes, although service is very slow so you may want to be prepared for a long evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belle Epoque

Address: Road 13, Villa 63 | Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Villa Belle Epoque Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.