We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm in Cairo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Belle Epoque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Villa Belle Epoque
Road 13, Villa 63 | Maadi, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 Cairo B&B and Inns
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in Cairo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We chose the Belle Epoque (BE) having read a number of press reviews - D Telegrapgh, Observer etc. The BE is located in the Maadi District of Cairo (south of centre). It is a residential area and therefore has less hustle and bustle than central Cairo but be aware that there is a mosque close by so if you are unused to the morning call for prayer then be prepared to be woken up early! The BE is also well placed to use the Cairo metro (5 min walk) and very cheap (1 EGP to any stop). The BE is a boutique hotel and is beautifully furnished and has very pleasant gardens (and 2 x pools) to relax in. The rooms are all individual in decoration with excellent bathrooms and are well equipped - TV, mini bar, A/C etc. We ate a number of times in the hotel. The breakfast is good (buffet style) and the dinner menu has a good range of food to choose from. The room service (choice limited) is also good. The staff provide an individual service and are attentive without going over the top.

We also arranged airport pick up with the hotel which is advised because most taxi drivers will not be aware where it is located. We also used the hotel to arrange a day trip for us with an excellent taxi driver (Tareq) who was very informative, spoke good English and was very reasonable.

In summary, an excllent hotel for those wanting something a little different, especially for couples.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer block are very spacious - the best appear to be on the 2nd floor. However, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This was our first trip to Cairo and our tour booked us here. The neighborhood has many of the ambassadors, it is safe, clear and away from the traffic. It was also close enough to everything you need to see. The rooms are large and very well decorated. The bathrooms are large with shower and separate bath. They include almost every type of bath supply you can think of. The service was great and the restaurant is well regarded. The breakfast buffet is really great with local and international offerings. This is a B&B so the only negatives are things you might get at a large hotel such as money exchanges, tour services, local transportation, etc. All of those can be easily obtained anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We wanted to avoid the mammoth hotels in Cairo and we think we chose well. Although it isn't ideally placed, it certainly offers a lovely refuge in the city. The gardens are peaceful and we spent afternoons and evenings recovering from the heat and dust and grime of Cairo.

We found the waiters and staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble - including a bucket of ice and champagne glasses for the bottle we had brought with us. Food was reasonable, with a fair choice. Egyptian wines to wash it down.

The new villa has just been opened, and I think the rooms in there are even more sparkling than in the original villa. Two small but swimmable pools, plenty of outdoor seating with candles at night, bathrobes, slippers, and fruit on arrival. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

located in one of cairo's most desireable districts, a short distance from the bustling city centre; villa belle epoque provides the best of both worlds. the frenetic allure of cairo is a short cab ride away, but villa belle epoque is relatively quiet and is set amid fragrant mimosa and jasmine. the proprietress, beryl, is among the chief attractions, marshalling a diligent and good natured staff. expect high service from them and good food. the rooms, however, are the principal draw. it's like stepping back in time, to a golden age where every last detail is attended to. highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Despite reading rave reviews about this small out of town Boutique Hotel our stay there was very disappointing. Lately, on our travels we have been seeking out small hotels and are prepared give up some of the advantages of a central hotel in order to enjoy the extra service these small hotels offer. On arrival at reception, the very first demand was that we pay for the transfer from the Airport, this before we even sat down. We assumed this could be added to our bill. So far, in Egypt, every single one of the Hotels or the two boats we sailed on, offered us a refreshing welcome drink while we completed the registration, but in the case of Villa Belle Epoque, not even a glass of water.

The first night we decided to have dinner at the hotel. Arriving in the dining room at 8.30 there was no-one there and assumed that we were too late for dinner, there was no-one at Reception either. We were just about to go out, when another couple came from outside obviously for dinner so we waited until a member of staff turned up. The staff were surly, not as much as a smile from any of the waiting staff the whole 3 days we were there. No-one there at breakfast either and we had to search for someone each morning to serve coffee and the last day even worse, they had not even bothered to make coffee or tea. Breakfast was very boring and not to the standard we had previously experienced.

Having said that, the kitchen turns out excellent food for dinner and lunch.

What should have been a really nice experience was spoiled by the lack of service and a mean attitude. Even to the point where we were charged for the water in the room. Considering every hotel and ship in our two weeks travelling had provided 2 bottles of complimentary water daily as a nice gesture. We cruised Lake Nasser on Kasr Ibrim which is part of the same company where the service and food were first class, therefore this was a bitter disappointment.

If they are to compete with other Hotels they will have to provide those little extras. We could have stayed at a 5 Star Hotel in Cairo for less and enjoyed the advantage of not being a 40 minute taxi ride out to the suburbs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Hard to believe that there are any quiet corners of Cairo, but the Belle Epoque, in the leafy Maadi suburb, is blissfully quiet. Lush gardens and incredibly stylish revamp of a 1920s villa. The rooms are huge and furnished and decorated with real character. For someone who travels on business as much as I do, finding a hotel with no international branding in sight - and with real charm and character, is an enormous treat. Would recommend to anyone wanting a retreat from the chaos of downtown Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We wanted a smaller hotel away from the c.b.d. and one which was not offering normal multiple choice of international cuisine etc. We were looked after attentively throughout the four-night stay and all support asked-for in terms of visiting other parts of the City were efficiently dealt with. While wine and beer were both available, One needed to bring ones own spirits [ available at local supermarkets].

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belle Epoque

Address: Road 13, Villa 63 | Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belle Epoque Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.