We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a chaotic city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo to your Saves list
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Ahmed Ragheb Street | Cornish El-Nile, Garden City, Cairo 11519, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Hornchurch Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a chaotic city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here on business for 5 nights and it is on a great location for getting around Cairo. Rooms are lovely and with a partial view over the Nile very well positioned. Room was lovely and well kept, bed gloriously comfortable and service in the hotel second to none. Would highly recommend if coming to Cairo as a base. One word if warning, the driving in Cairo has not improved so when in a taxi so hold on tight and enjoy the ride. By some miracle they never seem to collide!!! Kempinski 5 stars for a reason, stay here and you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor,
We are so glad you could find your oasis of calm here at Kempinski Nile!

We hope to see you again very soon and accommodate you with another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    100
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
85
193
62
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

At first looks the hotel seems to be quite small, but as soon as you enter through those doors you discover you are in a world of its own! Away from the noise and dense traffic of this huge capital, you enter in a world of royalty. The staff is beyond excellent and professional showing true egyptian hospitality! The rooms are quite elegant and the view on the Nile is breath taking.
My favorite spot was the roof pool where you enjoy a nice refreshing cocktail in the skies of Egypt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor,

We are thrilled to know that we could meet your expectations, our guests satisfaction is our top and first priority.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future; please allow me to invite you to join our Facebook Page in order to stay always connected with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Travelling with Kuoni starting our Egypt holiday ( Cairo, Cruise, Luxor) we spent three nights at this hotel. We had been in e mail communication with the hotels concierge team before arriving to arrange a guide and transport to the museum and the pyramids.
The hotel and the staff were excellent. Great to be able to have lunch and swim at the pool on the roof top above the madness of Cairo. A private gude and car to take us around Cairo was superb and not as expensive as you might think and a lot cheaper than the UK.
We really do not understand why some people would choose to stay out at Giza and the pyramids. Cairo airport is the other side of the city from Giza so you need to travel across the city to get to your hotel. Giza is not very nice and would you come to London, arrive at Heathrow and then stay out 20km the other side of town ? Cairo traffic is mad and this hotel is a haven from it all and we felt totally safe and looked after.

Room Tip: We had a medina room. We originally thought we wanted a Nile view room but so glad we did not as to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to the travel community,

Indeed our location in the heart of Cairo over the Nile river is a bless, we would like to thank you for complimenting our staff and operation team who are always trying hard to fulfill all our guests needs and exceed their expectations to make their stay with us remarkable and wonderful.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel did not disappoint me. First to start with, the staff was very hospitable, professional and dedicated. Cairo is famous for air pollution, therefore the view of Nile was not at its best but you will have great angle of the view depends on the location of the room. Prime location near Four Seasons and foreign embassies. The building is little claustrophobic. The Jazz bar is a good place to relax at the end of the day. Most of all, the staff was excellent which I could call it Kempinski hospitality. Surprisingly affordable rates for its overall quality. Front desk upgraded my room instantly and I enjoyed their suite so much. Conclusion, recommend, give it a try! Executive package includes 30 minute massage at the spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

On behalf of Kempinski Nile team, I would like to thank you for complimenting our staff; we have shared your feedback with rest of the staff as nothing motivates us more than knowing about our valuable guests satisfaction.

We are so honored we got the chance to welcoming you at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

So often I book a hotel for its lovely reviews and facilities, only to find it comes up short and leaves me wondering if I've missed the boat. This time I had no such disappointments.

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and for the entire stay, I felt like a queen!! The room was appointed beautifully and the bed was so comfortable. We were shown the room amenities by our butler (yes, our butler - now that is service!) and from start to finish, he was a delight - bringing us a welcome drink, sorting out travel adapters, arranging transfers and all tasks catered to almost instantly. Breakfast was great and we chose to take it in our room - it was delivered on time with great ceremony every morning and I have to say I miss that a lot now that I'm home.

We availed of a promotion with the spa for a 50% discount on a 90 minute massage which they organised for us to have in the couples suite. It was pure bliss - we did this on our first morning and that has to be how every holiday should start. From there, we spent some time in the relaxation room and then checking out the rooftop pool.

We ate twice in the hotel restaurant Osmanly which had Turkish food - it was beautiful and definitely have meal there if you can.

We bookended the holiday with another 90 minute massage in the couples suite. I felt so sad leaving it.

There were some nice little extras included as well - a comprehensive in room movie on demand service, high speed wi-fi, soft drinks and bottled water and beautiful robes and slippers.

All in all, I will return here when I visit Cairo again in future and recommend it to anyone. If you choose to stay here, do make sure to visit the excellent spa.

Room Tip: I liked the Nile view and if you're not a light sleeper, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear our Queen Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your extensive experience with the travel community.

We are thrilled to know that you could have time to enjoy our outlets and could benefit from our special Spa promotion.
Our main aim is to provide our guests with an unforgettable and pleasant stay; we try to ensure that with our Butler service and all our complimentary amenities aiming to make our guests feel that they are home.

We are so glad we have succeeded to exceed your expectations. It was a pleasure to provide you with a smooth and pleasant stay and we wish to welcome you again at Kempinski Nile Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was my third stay in this lovely hotel, and for sure I will come back as as possible. This time I also booked Madina Junior Suite, which was perfectly clean and well appointed. Turndown services was perfect and Room Service staff so polite and nice. Staff is very friendly from the pick up services at the airport, the driver was very friendly and cooperative, reception, security, concierge, pool staff, through the reservation centre. At that moment were clashes on nearby Tahrir square , but it was not affected our security or feeling of safety at all. Before arrival, friends suggested me to cancel my stay in Kempinski because of demonstrations, and vicinity of Tahrir square and embassies, but I did not want, and I made a good right decision. During my three stays I have visited lots of other Cairo 5 star hotels, from both Four Seasons, Sofitel, Cairo Mariott, but only at Kempinski I had a feeling that everything is perfect. So, if you see on TV that is some problems near Kempinski, please, do not change your decision, I was three times there and the each time were clashes and demonstrations, lots of teargas on Tahrir, but the stay in KEmpinski each time was perfect, safe thanks to amazing staff from Noha in reservation dep, Amr at pool, Nader at door, great security, concierge and all other staff, really.

Room Tip: book a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for recommending Kempinski Nile Hotel to the travel community.
We would like to thank you for complementing our staff, who will always go the extra mile to exceed our guests expectations.

We are glad to know that you didn't cancel your reservation and gave us the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel.

We hope to get the chance to welcoming you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived here on the evening of 1st February when there had been trouble in Cairo, but there was good security when we arrived and we felt safe in the hotel.

We arranged to have the 'meet and greet' service at the airport through the hotel. This was great as we were met even before we collected our bags and our visas were sorted out for us and we went straight out to our transport.

I forgot to pack our toothbrushes and the reception staff arranged to have 2 toothbrushes delivered to our room by the pharmacy, which was done very quickly. The toiletries in the room were nice and good quality.

We stayed in a suite but had requested one that did not have a Nile view as we had read the reviews about the noise from the busy road between the hotel and the river. This was definitely a good move. The traffic in Cairo is totally bonkers and the beeping of horns seems to be a reaction to every possible situation - it is interesting to watch though and we did find it entertaining looking out from the 10th floor balcony.

We could see the Nile from our balcony if we leaned out and looked to the right. The view was not great if you looked ahead! The rooms were spacious with 2 flat screen TVs, bedroom, lounge area, a bathroom and a shower room (the shower door didn't stop the water from going over the floor so we had to put a towel down to avoid being flooded!). Free water was provided in the minibar. The bed was comfy although somewhat soft.

As there don't seem to be many tourists in Cairo, we seemed to have the hotel almost to ourselves. We only saw one or two other people the whole time we were there. It's great if you want attentive service, but not if you want a bustling atmosphere. My partner doesn't normally eat breakfast but felt obliged to order a fresh waffle as he felt bad not eating much when there was so much food on offer (it was very tasty so not too much of a chore to eat it!)

We ate lunch in the restaurant on floor 10 (nice views of the Nile), and had dinner in the Jazz Bar and in the Osmanli restaurant. The food was nice in all of them, although the Osmanli restaurant had smoking and non-smoking areas, so that could be a problem if there were any other people around. We found that the price of meals was quite reasonable. Wine from outside Egypt was extremely expensive and choice was not great, but we found that in the other places we stayed too.

The really disappointing thing, especially as we were unable to go to the Egyptian Museum on our first day due to the trouble in Tahrir Square and had to hang around the hotel, was that the pool was closed for the duration of our stay for refurbishment. The photo of the pool was one of the things that drew us to this hotel, with its view over the Nile, but we weren't even able to go up on the terrace to see the view from the top as it was 'too dangerous'. We weren't informed before we got there that this work was planned and it was only when we went and asked to look round the spa and pool areas that we were told. We did spot a notice in one of the folders in the room which said that they had made arrangements with a nearby hotel 'within walking distance' to use their pool facilities, but we were not told this by the member of staff who told us that it was closed. It was only when we were leaving the hotel and expressed our disappointment that we were told about the arrangement by staff. If we'd known this we would have arranged to stay in the other hotel instead which is maybe why they didn't tell us until we were already there. When enquiring about safety we were told that we were safe within the hotel because they had their own security, so then to be told to walk over to another hotel to have a swim doesn't seem all that appealing. If you book a hotel with a pool, you expect to be able to just go for a swim whenever you want. If it's going to be closed, they should tell you before you arrive.

The staff were helpful regarding advice about when it was safe to go to the Egyptian Museum and we did manage to take a guided trip (although we arranged this ourselves, not via the hotel) to see the highlights of the Museum. We were informed on the morning of our visit that Tahrir Square had no signs of trouble, that the traffic was moving freely and that it was safe to visit, which put our minds at rest.

Overall, it's a nice hotel to stay in and staff are helpful; the pool being closed was our only problem.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise, don't go for a Nile view room...we read the reviews and made our cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are so delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have liked our free amenities such as free bottled water, Soft Minibar and Butler service that we make sure to provide to our valuable guests to make them feel like home.
We are so disappointed that you were not informed about the pool closure for maintenance and the possibility to use our neighbored hotel swimming pool, please accept our sincere apologies and rest assure that for your next visit everything will be faultless.

We hope we get the chance to welcoming you again and your partner and accommodate you with a faultless and an unforgettable stay.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo

Address: 12 Ahmed Ragheb Street | Cornish El-Nile, Garden City, Cairo 11519, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Cairo’s affluent Garden City district, Kempinski Nile Hotel offers luxurious rooms on the shores of the Nile RiverEach room is fitted with free Wi-Fi, free Minibar, Flat Screen TVs with satellite Channels, Free Movie Library, 24/7 Butler Service, Complimentary Tea and Coffee throughout the day. Kempinski’s full-service spa and wellness center offers Free access to Jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna.. Guests can also enjoy professional massages, or cool off in the outdoor swimming pool on the hotel’s rooftop.The hotel is few minutes walk from luxurious shopping areas, Tahrir square, Egyptian Museum, Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.