We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Star Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo to your Saves list
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Ahmed Ragheb Street | Cornish El-Nile, Garden City, Cairo 11519, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Baltimore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“6 Star Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I spent a wonderful time at the Kempinski, Cairo. We chose it based on Trip Advisor reports as well as it's relatively reasonable rates compared to similar hotels. A previous reviewer who said that this was a 5 Star hotel with 6 Star service was absolutely right. Our Nile View Room was smallish but immaculate and 5 Star. The bed mattress and pillows were the best I have every slept on (including Ritz Carltons etc).

The bathroom was very nice, however the glass enclosure on the bathtub is small and let's a
lot of water out on the floor when showering. While our room was a Non-Smoking, cigarette smoke did filter through the ventilation which was annoying.

There was pretty fast and FREE WiFi Internet. Congratulations for Kempinski to be one of the very few luxury hotel to offer WiFi for free. Kudos to the management.

Most important of all was the embarrassingly superb and personalized service. From the check-in Desk, to the porter, to housekeeping, to the restaurant (Blue Room), to the in-room dinning, you all have been outstanding...keep it up.

Would definitely return again and again.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so glad you could benefit from our online rates and promotions and get the chance to welcoming you and your daughter at Kempinski Nile Hotel.

Our personalized service and free luxury amenities are our tools to exceed guests’ expectations and make them feel like home.
Your kind remarks have been delivered to the hotel management in order to make sure that all our estimated guests are provided with a pleasant and smooth stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again at our hotel, please join us on Facebook to stay updated with our latest news and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    82
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
72
176
56
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We normally stay in small boutique hotels and were a little apprehensive about staying in a larger hotel but our fears were unfounded. This hotel lived up to the reviews posted - just lovely, the room (nile deluxe 8th floor) although a tad small was wonderfully appointed with a balcony and a great bathroom. The bed....ahh the bed....was one of the most, if not the most, comfortable I have ever slept in.

The staff are lovely (especially the 2 x Mai on reception, Mahmoud the doorman, the butlers and the pregnant maitre'd - sorry I think her name is Hounda - in the breakfast area) and try hard to please. Although if I'm honest the service doesn't always meet the expectations of a 5 star hotel - not through lack of willingness but generally through human fallibility. Such as forgetting to place an order, forgetting to bring the tea, multiple requests for the same item. Replenishment of room supplies (toilet paper, soap etc) wasn't always done - but these are small niggles and really wouldn't stop us staying there again.

Location is good although if you haven't been to cairo before be prepared for the constant noise and incessant blaring of car horns. The traffic is diabolical and I strongly suggest you don't hire a car.

Some tips:
Taxis are cheap and make sure the drivers use the meters - don't bother negotiating a fixed price - its much cheaper using the meters

Make sure you keep notes of small denominations - hardly anyone will have change of a £50EP note or higher values - 5, 10 & 20 notes are most useful.

Try to engage a guide, especially for the more famous sites - if only to help stave off the constant hustling from beggars, touts etc - which can ruin a trip to the pyramids.

The food in the Kempinski was fine - we had room service several times and it was great. Try the Victorian High Tea in the chocolate room and ask for the poached eggs at breakfast.

There is a great restaurant - Taboulah - 5 minutes walk.

If this Kempinski is typical of the Kempinski Chain then it will be our hotel chain of choice for the future - as near to perfection in terms of what we like from a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you feedback with us and recommending our staff, your kind remarks have been delivered to the team.

As our aim is to deliver the best service in town and exceed our guests’ expectations we promise you that in your next stay you won’t find any “small niggles”

We are all at your disposable anytime you visit Cairo, you can also join us on Facebook to stay updated with our latest updates and special promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Booked direct with the hotel a last minute stay with my wife and two daughters. We were offered a suite with connecting bedroom for our two children at a reasonable inclusive rate for the two rooms.

The hotel arranged for us to be met at the airport by the hotel representative who escorted us through the airport to a waiting car to transfer us to the hotel. Check in was efficient with the receptionist showing us to our room.

The suite was beautifully appointed including a separate lounge, kitchen, and spacious bathroom, large walk in shower. Our daughters had a connecting room which for them was perfect. The connecting room however would have been rather small for this standard of hotel if booked on its own.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was good although the buffet selection was not a comprehensive as some larger hotels but was more than adequate.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Egyptian museum with the river Nile literally across the road. The hotel location is ideal for seeing most of central Cairo

The hotel concierge was helpful arranging a day trip to the pyramids for us, to the bazaars etc. The hotel was security conscious and if anything possibly overly conscious but it was reassuring, We found Cairo safer to walk around than many large cities although crossing the road was a challenge.

The roof top pool is small but provides a stunning vista of the river Nile and central Cairo. The pool staff were friendly and accommodating, a great place to relax at the end of a day seeing the sights of Cairo. The pool is heated which made winter use a pleasure.

The butler service with complimentary tea and coffee was a nice touch although the accuracy of delivery could have been better. For example requesting cold milk with tea would either produce tea without milk or hot milk. Always willing corrected but a bit annoying when it happened repeatedly despite the butler correctly repeating back the order once it had been given but then being delivered wrong.

Overall service was always attentive with staff eager to please. Service speed best described as leisurely rather than speedy.

Liked:
Good central location
Smaller hotel
Helpful staff especially the pool staff,
Security conscious
Complimentary soft minibar
Our suite with connecting room was perfect for a family of 4
Restaurant happy to accommodate our daughters

Disliked
Butler service a few repeated sloppy errors
Hotel cars very expensive compared to local taxis

Would look forward to staying here again on return to Cairo.

Room Tip: The hotel although new is a renovated older building. Standard rooms are small, the suites are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent experience to our guests.
Indeed we believe our pick up service at the airport is offering a great experience to our guests that can avoid waiting in the queue or being blocked by customs.

We are glad to read that your family could enjoy our Suite, Also, as you were aiming for a bigger space we would like to suggest for your next stay to book a Grand Deluxe Suite (136 sqm) that we are currently offer at a very reasonable rate.

We hope to see you again soon at our lovely hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is very reasonably priced. Asked for pick up at airport this was overlooked. Took taxi in, no problem. Hotel is in very good location, decent walk to Egyptian Museum, right on the Nile. Close to wharf for Fuluka rides. Lobby is very understated, security is relatively tight. The reception staff was slow, however once the front desk representative engaged, she was very good, showed us to our room. The butler, that is included with the Nile view Deluxe room, was very helpful, bell man very helpful. Mr. Mohd, at the concierge desk was very helpful and arranged all of our arrangements with a very professional guide and historian Dr. Latif. We actually saw every significant site in Egypt in one day, except for the Egyptian Museum, of which we could have done, but we were too tired. We ate mostly outside of the hotel, but unlike most American chains, almost everything is included, like soft drinks and water, coffee and tea. All were quite nice. Room service was quite nice, very tasty and reasonably priced. The rooms are small, but very nice, very comfortable bed. Great View. So make sure to ask for at least Deluxe Nile View Room, others who have stayed at this hotel mentioned that they were upgraded at the time of check in, but we were not. Overall the staff is pretty attentive, they work pretty hard, it seems like they are always here at work. Also all the movies in many languages are free on the TV in the room. Have other friends that recommended the 4 seasons, that is right down the street, however I think this is probably a much better deal. Only knock on the room, is that the shower is a tub shower, and I think that the standard for a 5 star hotel is a walk in shower, and separate tub. But that is just my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view room. If you go roaming around the hotel, Do Not Go Into Any Art Shops Around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that we have succeeded to accommodate you with a pleasant and smooth stay, our complimentary amenities and butler service are our essential tools to make guests feel like home.

We are so glad you have enjoyed our room service, therefore allow me to suggest for your next visit to try Osmanly restaurant, the first and only Turkish restaurant in town as we are launching a new menu soon in order to offer our guests the opportunity to enjoy a fine Turkish culinary experience.

We hope to see you soon again at our hotel, you can also plan your next trip with us by joining our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I loved,loved,loved....this hotel.
the service z exceptional to infinity.
the rooms very clean and stylish and well equipped.
the bathroom z a dream.
the view z exceptional.
the staff was the best and friendliest and the most professional i've ever dealt with and thats among all 5 and 4 star hotels in the middle east,europe and even usa.
I only hold one thing against them "the couch" its very stiff for the back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting such a positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are all at your disposable anytime you visit Cairo, and always ready to accommodate you in everything you might need.

we are looking forward to welcoming you again when you have recovered from your last visit to Cairo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We got a great deal for a two night stay at the Kempinski Nile in Cairo.
We would normally book a less upscale hotel but things are tough for the tourist trade in Cairo and we were able to get a significant reduction off of the internet rate. I think this is the first time a Wall-Mart sweater ever crossed the doorway of this hotel!!!

The hotel was terrific. The room was nice if a little small but the decor was very nice and the perqs where super. Free wifi in the rooms. Butler service. Robes and slippers. Jars of bath salts and bath oils. Candles in the bathroom. Fancy bed, sheets and pillows.
Lots of personalized service. Basically everything you'd expect for 5+ star service.

They accidentally took away my wife's nightie in the used bedding. When we called ask about it, they sent two employees to the laundry room to search for it. They located and returned the nightie washed and pressed. It was an impressive handling of a guest's problem.

They are located along the Nile just south of Tahrir square in an area called Garden City. It's a safe area and we were able to walk around without any problems.

The view from the roof-top pool area is spectacular. Try to be there at sunset. It's well worth the effort

Room Tip: Booking through an Egyptian travel agency can save you a lot compared to using the regular internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so glad you got the chance to book your room at a significant rate; giving us the chance then to welcoming you at our hotel.

We hope to see you soon again; therefore allow me to inform you that we are currently running special online promotions offering a number of suites at the same rate of a Deluxe room through our website.
There is also a link on the top of TripAdvisor page that will give you an access to our special promotion that offers up to 30% discount for 3 nights stay or more.

You can also join us on Facebook to stay posted with our latest and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Kempinski hotel is the finest hotel I have stayed in, a true 5 star. From the front desk, to the rooms, I have no complaints at anything in this place. It has two great restaurants, The Blue and Osmanly, and the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. Samy at the Blue was a gentleman, who gave superb service and also highlighted areas of Cairo that should be seen. A truly great hitel with truly great people! I want to return, and actually, changed hotel plans to stay at the Kempinski after a return from a cruise......loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.
Your thoughtful remarks have been shared with the staff and we are so proud to know that we succeeded to make your stay with us memorable.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo

Address: 12 Ahmed Ragheb Street | Cornish El-Nile, Garden City, Cairo 11519, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Cairo’s affluent Garden City district, Kempinski Nile Hotel offers luxurious rooms on the shores of the Nile RiverEach room is fitted with free Wi-Fi, free Minibar, Flat Screen TVs with satellite Channels, Free Movie Library, 24/7 Butler Service, Complimentary Tea and Coffee throughout the day. Kempinski’s full-service spa and wellness center offers Free access to Jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna.. Guests can also enjoy professional massages, or cool off in the outdoor swimming pool on the hotel’s rooftop.The hotel is few minutes walk from luxurious shopping areas, Tahrir square, Egyptian Museum, Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.