We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service, Amazing Osmanli Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo to your Saves list
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Ahmed Ragheb Street | Cornish El-Nile, Garden City, Cairo 11519, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Nice, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Service, Amazing Osmanli Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We heard so many bad experiences regarding the hotels and food before we go to Egypt. I think they have never been in Kempinski! What make the places good or bad is the people who live there. Kempinski's staff were impressive not only due to their professional qualities but also due to their smiling face. And what about Osmanli Restaurant! It is not surprising for me any more that Ottoman Empire lasted as the main power for centuries after tasting the amazing food they had been eating! Egypt is a beautiful country however unfortunately I couldn't experience it very much as we couldn't leave the hotel :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us at Kempinski Nile Hotel.

We can’t agree with you more that people and quality are essential tools that make the place good or bad, we don’t just make sure to use the best ingredients and quality in the world but our dedicated staff also is always trying to go to the extra mile to exceed our guests expectations and make their stay with us wonderful.
We are so glad you have enjoyed Osmanly restaurant, with the support of our guests we succeeded to be number 1 on TripAdvisor Cairo restaurants. Please join us on our Facebook page to stay always updated with our latest news and offers.

We hope to see you soon again at the hotel for your next trip to Cairo. We are sure you didn’t get the chance to do everything on your list and we would love to help you to get the most of your time in Egypt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    76
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
70
170
55
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel is situated between the Four Seasons and the Intercontinental, ideally located for central Cairo attractions. However if you are thinking of walking to the Egyptian Museum along the banks of the Nile then think again as you will have to cross the suicide highway outside the hotel entrance, take a cab.
Hotel restaurants are limited, we tried the 'turkish with a twist' which was over priced and very average. I ordered a 360Le bottle of Italian wine only to be told they didn't have it in stock, instead they offered an 800Le bottle of Barolo, not quite in the same league or price bracket.
Breakfast was average for a hotel of this quality (request fresh coffee as always luke warm)as was the chocolate coffee bar adjacent to reception.
Don't even think of attracting the waite'rs attention at the 10th floor bar, he was far too concerned with studying the coloured lights on the till despite there only being half a dozen people in the bar.
Room was small but well decorated and furnished, (no alcohol in the minibar) however no seperate shower in the bathroom despite this being a superior Nile view room. Go for a suite.
You will need a room high up in the hotel to appreciate the view, ours was on level 7 but the Nile view was partially blocked by the trees outsid ethe hotel. Roof top pool small but adequate. Some staff excellent, others required much more training.

Room Tip: go high for a view, make sure you pester for a non smoking as I requested but didn't receive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski N, General Manager at Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Your thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent experience.

We are sincerely disappointed that you did not take the utmost of your experience at our Turkish restaurant, your concerns have been discussed with the team, and we will do our best to ensure that such incidents will not happen again.
We have recently launched a new menu at Osmanly with a very affordable price offering to our guest the opportunity to discover how original and surprising Turkish kitchen can be. We hope that you will be able to try it for your next stay in Cairo. Have you heard about the Turkish chicken breast pudding? Also, concerning the wine, we are offering a selection of wine such Cap Bay with grapes from South Africa. This wine is offering as an example a great value for money in comparison with the imported ones.
Concerning the room, we would like to suggest for your next visit to book suite as we are currently offering a significant number of suites at a price of a deluxe room through our website. Indeed, we believe that our guests would value such upgrade and could feel get the most from their Cairo experience. You can even benefit from our Winter Break offer and save up to 30% off in addition to all our complimentary amenities we make sure to offer to all our guests (free internet, free on demand movies videos, free mini bar etc.).

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and be assured that we will take the utmost care to make sure you are accommodated in everything you desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

As I travel alot and have stayed in many hotels...I was hoping this would live up to expection..I was wrong..this hotel has everything and more..My Suite was amazing with a living room, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, and a bed that you don't want to leave!! Staff..very helpful nothing is a bother day or night they want to help you with anything they can..I ate my lunch in The Blue resturant one afternoon and enjoyed it so much that i was offered to join the chief in the kitchen to learn and cook my meal!!..
while i was there i celebrated my birthday and decided to go to the spa for a pamper day..I enjoyed so very much 3 and a half hours of total relaxation..body scrub..mud wrap, massage, facial..My skin was like a babys afterwards! :))
They have a great bar on the 10th floor and the view is pretty amazing at night..I enjoyed myself there and the cocktails very good..
I even had a suprise from hotel management..A birthday cake was brought up to me in the bar..I was deeply touched..
So thank you Kempinski for the time of my life...I hope to return very soon..

Room Tip: Try and ask for a nile view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My 5 day stay at the Kempinski Nile Hotel was one one of the best I have had! Their staff is truly amazing and the concierge will literately make any request come true!
The Hotel is centrally located and our suite had the most spectacular view to the Nile.
Watching the sunset from the roof top terrace pool was incredible.
I recommend it without hesitation!

Room Tip: Definitely a room with view to the NIle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel! From the reviews online to the excellent webpage to the Concierge Mohammed Sabry who helped arrange a lovely two day private tour of the environs of Cairo to Amir the pool guy! All around amazing property! We were clearly upgraded to a suite with two washrooms, kitchen, living room and terrace. Must be 1000sq. feet in size. Not sure if we got the upgrade due to the revolution and fewer travelers but we were not going to complain.

We never ate at restaurants on the property but did enjoy some chocolates and macaroons from within the hotel. We did room service for breakfast and had one late night meal order. All were tasty although nothing spectacular. Many food options in Cairo although we stuck to the larger hotels and or we'll known Concierge recommended restaurants. Cairo during the election just wasn't a place to explore safely on foot.

The bed was phenomenal and the best sheets ever! Ample storage space, room safe, complimentary soft minibar, free wifi and free in room movies as well!!! Oh yeah, a butler service although this was shared amongst a few rooms although definately very personalized service.

The hotel is not well known by taxis although the concierge will give you a business card with directions and a map to hand to taxi drivers if you are out and about and need to grab a taxi home. Just as easy to say British Embassy as well as it is beside the hotel!

Mohammed Sabry the concierge provided us with a car with driver and an Egyptologist who was amazing. If you are making arrangements with the hotel for private tours I recommend you ask for Hanan Omara who was the best guide we had in Egypt. She was very professional, articulate, courteous and an advocate for her clients! She will weave you through the complexities of Cairo life with ease. She can be emailed as well at her name at hotmail.com! Extremely reasonable rates and it was great to see Egypt through the eyes of a female guide. Very humorous as well!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011 via mobile

New modern hotel on nile river. One of the most recommended hotels in Cairo!! Cozy, very good spa

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

The hotel was truely one of the best we have stayed in and suite was very comfortable for our family of 5. Even though the protests were near by in the square, we did not feel in any danger and traffic was no worse than the typical Cairo "madness". The view of the Nile from the balcony was fantastic. The only drawback was there are not really any restaurants or shops within easy walking distance of the hotel as it is surrounded by the various embassies- which also makes it a secure area to be in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo

Address: 12 Ahmed Ragheb Street | Cornish El-Nile, Garden City, Cairo 11519, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Cairo’s affluent Garden City district, Kempinski Nile Hotel offers luxurious rooms on the shores of the Nile RiverEach room is fitted with free Wi-Fi, free Minibar, Flat Screen TVs with satellite Channels, Free Movie Library, 24/7 Butler Service, Complimentary Tea and Coffee throughout the day. Kempinski’s full-service spa and wellness center offers Free access to Jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna.. Guests can also enjoy professional massages, or cool off in the outdoor swimming pool on the hotel’s rooftop.The hotel is few minutes walk from luxurious shopping areas, Tahrir square, Egyptian Museum, Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.