We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh ingredients,good koshary recipe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koshary Abou Tarek

Koshary Abou Tarek
Choppin ln | Champollion, Cairo, Egypt
02-25775935
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 3,919 restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fresh ingredients,good koshary recipe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

fresh ingredients,good koshary recipe,value,if you want a proper koshary recipe order an extra lentils and salsa

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    106
    71
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best Koshari in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Since opening, maybe 29 years ago or more, Abu Tarek had always gained a top Value
Abu tarek started his career as the owner of a small carriage in the same place and fought hard till he became the owner of the best.
I congratulate him
An Advice for foreigners: get a take away meal, as spoons are not extremely nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aswan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Egyptian famous food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Koshary, this is the name of one of the most famous and delicious food, this food made of " Rice, Pasta, Sous , Onion, Lintel & Chili "...
Abou Tarek is the most famous restaurant to cook and service this kind of food... Abou Tarek located in Cairo downtown near Tahrer square and the Egyptian museum, I advice anyone want taste the real Egyptian food to get a dish of Koshary from Abou Tarek

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I went abu tarek today with my husband, we had two large koshary for $2.5 us dollars. Extremely cheap and food was just fine for me because they had no meat,but My husband loved it. The place was huge they have 3rd floor building, I was seating on 2nd floor. I enjoyed street view from my table. Overall was just fine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service and cheap!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We walked here from the museum. Just a few blocks, but ask a local exactly where it is because a little difficult to find. Once there we were taken to a table and our friendly waiter explained the choices which were two - which are Koshary in the bowl or the 'special' which is the main ingredients in the bowl and everything else on the side! There were two of us and we both ate till we were full for a cost of less than 30 egyptian pounds.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koshary Abou Tarek also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Koshary Abou Tarek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koshary Abou Tarek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.