We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Egyptian food in a comfortable environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koshary Abou Tarek

Koshary Abou Tarek
Choppin ln | Champollion, Cairo, Egypt
02-25775935
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 3,921 restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Egyptian food in a comfortable environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food has already been discussed here so I'll just share my experience. It was initially a challenge to find a worker who spoke english but this is how the system works: you order either the koshary or the the special after you're seated and you pay at the table before leaving. Pretty simple! My wife is a really picky eater while travelling yet both she and I had a great experience here and the special was well worth the extra money. We went here right after visiting the pyramids and the huge meals were more than enough to refuel us. Exotic food in a very comfortable environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    106
    71
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Real Egypt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great Koshary place near the Egyptian Museum. We ate on the top floor. I think we could've gone with the standard koshary, but we got served the "special" which is about 2 LE more. The hot sauce is actually spicy, which was a surprise since food isn't that spicy in Egypt.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“A MUST try in Cairo Famous for their Koshery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Every city or region is known for one or two very particular dishes. Well Cairo is famous for Abou Tarek's Koshery. Right downtown. The word may come from Hindi or Bengali .. Kitchoory. Basically its comfort food for Cairo. Noodles, rice, lentils, chickpeas, lemon, crispy onions, tomatoes sauce, chilli sauce... its a must must try. I have it at least once on every Cairo trip yearly. With visitors I always have them try this... hmmmmm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

If you want to have Egyptian meals
This is a perfect place for you

I and my wife have two normal koshary.
It's is delicious and just 14 Egyptian pounds for two

Also we cost 3 egp for an vanilla pudding

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited with our 2 kids who are both veggie and were fed up with bread and falafels. Go upstairs for the full effect of bling, fishes and fab air conditioning. Only one dish on the menu but koshari great for fussy kids as on the base of noodles, rice and bulgar you are given sides of tomato sauce, fried onions and chickpeas. Very busy with locals but waiter looked after us. Only le10 for a filling meal, happy kids and a true Cairene fast food experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koshary Abou Tarek also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Koshary Abou Tarek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koshary Abou Tarek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.