We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but nowhere near 4 star.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tiba Pyramids Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tiba Pyramids Hotel to your Saves list
Tiba Pyramids Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Pyramids Road, Cairo 11511, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK, but nowhere near 4 star.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Travelling on a budget, it's fine. Rooms are ok, think we had some bed bugs, but the bathroom was clean. No idea if the staff were friendly because they were never there. Breakfast wasn't worth getting up for by any means.

Go here if you intend to be out all the time, and literally just need something to sleep on, but it is not good for hanging out, eating at or, well, enjoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or you get a view of a wall, or a construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    29
    14
    14
See reviews for
11
21
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

stayed at the hotel 6 days.
The room was big but not perfectly clean, especially the bathroom was horrible! But i did'nt see any bugs.
The view is just fantastic!
There is a bad traffic noise, but i think that it is like this in all hotels in Cairo. There is traffic noise from every street in Cairo, so if the hotel is on a street, there will be noise!
My friend and I lost some money the forst day we were in Cairo, and thoughed that it had been tricked from us on the street, but the last day we were there, all our money had dissappeared from the HOTEL ROOM! We had had all our money when we got up to the hotel room, and had went up to the pool for some hours, when we came back all the money had been stolen from our valet! We had had a "no cleaning" sign on the door all week, so nobody should be in the room. I went to the reception and explained what had happened and they took it seriously. They checked our room though, to see if we had hidnt the money i guess, but after some investigation, they came back to the room and say'd that they would get the money for us in 1 hour. After 1½ they came with the money for us. We guess that it was the same thing that had happened the first day, because we also had been by the pool and had counted our money afterwarts. So watch your money, and do not feel safe by leaving them in the hotel room!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

the tiba cave has its pluses and minuses...being a single american blonde woman traveling solo throughout egypt this was the first place i was staying and for the price it met my middle eastern standards--if you are looking for ANY type of western comforts, look elsewhere. the tiba hotel is located on top of a crazy intersection- you will hear honking & screaming, see families sleeping and eating on the street's median, hear the call to prayer at unwanted times throughout the night and watch in amazement as cars don't smash into each other. there are elevators in the hotel but good luck comfortably fitting more than 2 people in there and if you have luggage well...you smush. the staff were friendly and decently accommodating- the bell men will escort you to get money from the cash exchange and will bring up your bags. the bathrooms are small, and the shower is about the size of a plate to hold a turkey at thankgiving. if you're a larger person, ya just won't fit. the sheets (like everything else in egypt) smell like cigarettes.

so whats the plus you ask? it is close to the pyramids, there is a decent cafe downstairs that has enclosed outdoor seating and shisha. you can get a taxi easily and go around to cairo proper and see the egyptian museums and local markets. beside the ever lingering stench of cigarettes, the hotel was clean and i felt safe staying there.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the pyramid, at least it will make up for hearing the loud beeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

An average hotel just a 10 minute walk from the main entrance to the Great Pyramids.
If you intend on calling room service, the restaurant or even reception for that matter don't bother, they never answer.

The hotel is on the corner of a moderately busy intersection so expect a fair bit of noise from those much beloved Cairo novelty car horns.

The breakfast was decent with plenty to choose from. All the staff I encountered spoke very good English and could give me answers quickly when face to face.

An average hotel but did all that it needed to, would recommend for budget travellers like myself.

Room Tip: Up high away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

1)This hotel is not a 3star or 4star I would rate it 1.5 star max
2) the hotel lobby or the coridor are not li properly
3) the rooms are very compact
4) the toilets look good but very cunjusted
5) room service takes 30 to 40 min
6) they dot have in house laundry there fore any thing u give will take 1day to deliver back
7)no basic infra available such as visa machine is not working,wifi,some times available and at time its not.
8) you will always here traffic noise if your taking any room facing outside.
9) out look of the hotel is very ugly
Good side of the hotel
1) the staff tries to help but since the hotel is ill equipped they also can't do any thing much.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The rooms are a good size and a great view of the pyramids. However the shower had boiling hot water for 15sec and then ice cold water the next 15 sec. I could not even wash my hair.

The breakfast was basic, no fruit or toaster for bread.

We were out on tours the entire day so just coming here to sleep was fine. Beds are hard and there is no kettle for tea. If you need a hairdryer, you need to ask at the desk. No iron or board.

This was a clean place but nothing to impress. NOT A4 *, more like a 2 *.

If you looking for good cheap food, come out the hotel and walk right then turn right and you will see "GAD", they have an english menu as well.

Room Tip: 5th floor room with a view of the pyramids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Tiba is 4 star hotel and when you look from outside, you cant know that this is very nice and clean hotel. All managment is very pleasent. We have BB and breakfast is very nice and plate is full of different food. Rooms are very clean and bathroom also, nice and clean. The best is when we wake up in the morning..... we saw Great pyramid like we can touch that. Beautiful.

Room Tip: For passengers who wants to be close the plato of Giza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohsenaboelnaga, Manager at Tiba Pyramids Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you very much for sharing your stay feed back with all our future travelers.

I'm so pleased to know that our service was up to your expectation for tiba pyramids hotel property. I’m looking forward to hosting you soon again at our own tradition of warm hospitality.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from Giza

Mohsen aboelnaga
Online marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiba Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiba Pyramids Hotel

Address: 33 Pyramids Road, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tiba Pyramids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tiba Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiba Pyramids Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.