We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Museum View Hotel to your Saves list
Museum View Hotel
2, Shampion Street, Cairo 1145, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“VFM hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stumbled upon this hotel, when we were looking for a single night to stay prior to our wadi el ryan visit. The hotel is located directly across the Egyptian museum, but the location is very easy to miss, we only came across it by chance. The rooms are very clean, and the hotel is a budget one, but for the similar price you can find better hotels if you do some snooping around. The hotel is also located close to the tahrir square and few metres walk away from the KFC nearby, as with all the VFM hotels, this one has no elevator, but we did not need it coz we were located for the day on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
5
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an amazing hostel. I stayed here for a week and enjoyed it thoroughly. The hostel is located just perfectly opposite the Egyptian Museum, close to shops, the subway station and some coffee shops. From the balconies, you will have an amazing view over Tahrir Square, I was sitting there for many hours and really enjoyed it a lot. The rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean, I had my own shower and bathroom and air conditioning, everything was working. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and able to arrange any kind of daily or weekly trips if you wish. As a single female traveler I especially enjoyed the common room with TV and internet where I could chat with other travelers or the staff …… and everyone was always up for a cup of tea! I felt very safe and would definitely choose Museum’s View again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Museum View is located across from the National Museum near Tahrir Square.It could be hard to sleep as you are in a busy part of Cairo. It is hard to find this place if you don't keep your eyes peeled.You have to walk up two flights of stairs to get to the reception.The rooms are adequete with shower,ensuite bathroom & fan.Basic clean place to stay at a good location at a good price.They have a small family room with a television a kitchen to do cooking there as well.A lot of people I talked to there mostly students told me that they enjoy the place that they have stayed there for quite a while.Not a bad place at all.

Room Tip: Don't take photos of the museum from your room it's a security matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have stayed with them before and im always going back because they have kept the nice quality of the hotel - nice and clean rooms, well equipped kitchen, very cool and smart staff and they act quick to help You with any questions you might have!

Room Tip: In thr summer ask for the AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I want to thank Ramy, Amir, Amirah and the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay. I felt at home the second I arrived. I was greeted with a smile and a hospitality you rarely find. The room was spacious and tho the bathroom leaked a bit I didn't mind it. I had room 504 which had a magnificent view of Tahrir square. The best room in the joint. The location is ideal which is across the street from the museum and the metro is close by to take you to many corners of Cairo and Giza. Thanks guys. You will be missed. I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Centrally located, they are in down town and close from metro stop, bus station, and a short ride from the train station. Right in front of the Egyptian museum,
also there are plenty of shops around, snacks, and supermarket.
The room was clean and the beds very comfortable particulary after a long day walking, they have balconies in some rooms, or large windows in others, all facilities are available, TV room, internet access, WIFI, there is also a kitchen if you feel like cooking something,
but there is plenty of exotic food to be tried in Cairo !
Towels, toilet papers, soap, and extra duvets, are all included,
and the staff will always be there if you need anything,
to me it was a real sense of service.
I highly recommend them to any one passing by Cairo...
Peace
§

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I have travelled through many countries and I can honestly confess that none of these match the experience I had with Easy Travel Egypt's crew and Museum View Hotel. Unlike other travel agencies and hotels that try to suck your money by quoting elevated prices for tours, the staff of Museum View Hotel and Easy Travel Egypt were quite the contrary. Our budget for this trip lasted twice as much longer as we had expected it to. At first we we had booked our room and tours with Juliana Hotel (also in Cairo) but they hadn't shown up to even pick us up from the airport, despite confirmation that they would. When we called Hany at Juliana Hotel was very rude and said that he didn't have us on his reservation list. We were baffled and quickly googled for an alternative. Glad we did this, because we were graciously welcomed and treated by Rami and Ahmed (the prince) who manage Museum View and Easy Travel Egypt. Their treatment of us, made up for our poor experience with Juliana Hotel. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to be in downtown Cairo close to everything in town! Thanks Ahmed and Rami for taking care of my family and me.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a view of the museum...highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum View Hotel

Address: 2, Shampion Street, Cairo 1145, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just opposite to the Egyptian Museum, just 2 minutes from Sadat metro station and in the main square Tahrir square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Museum View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.