We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cairo Center Hotel

Cairo Center Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cairo Center Hotel to your Saves list
Cairo Center Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   20 Adly street, Cairo 12421, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 47 Cairo B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

It is not 5-star hotel for sure. But for downtown Cairo in this price range it was really not bad. I stayed there for a week and checked 3-4 hotels around and did not find any better (considering price of cause). We had two rooms, the one (double) close to reception was small and humid (I guess plumbing problem somewhere). And it had birds living over the ceiling! But WiFi was working inside the room (when it was working at all) and it was crucial for me. Also it had quiet air conditioner. Hotel manager proposed to move to large room on the third day, but WiFi did not work there and we refused. Another room (twin) was upstairs and was twice as big as the first one. In general the rooms upstairs are bigger and quieter, so take them if you have a choice. Staff was nice with usual oriental slyness. Located in quiet (in Cairo scale:) street betweel very busy ones, most rooms are with "yard" (other building in 5 meters) view.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
9
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our last evening in Cairo was ruined when we discovered that we had been cheated by the hotel staff member responsible for organizing tours in & around Cairo. We stayed 4 nights at this hotel, centrally located in downtown Cairo. Upon registration and even before we could check-into our room, we were ushered into the dining hall and put through a 20-minute elaboration of the various tours by the hotel.

The receptionist failed to return the 64 L.E. change from our room payment till we asked for it later that night. Our passports were requested for registration as per the norm, but again, we had to make an effort to request for its return several hours later.

Keep all your receipts after payment to the hotel as we encountered a dispute by the hotel receptionist about how much payment was still due on the eve of our departure. Note that the cost of tours offered by the hotel also vary depending on whom you speak to and when.

We booked 2 tours via the hotel for our final day in Cairo. The straw that broke the camel’s back was the Giza Pyramid Sound & Light Show which the hotel costed at 200 L.E. per head. Before confirming, we had asked the hotel receptionist how much the actual tickets were and he told us at 125 L.E. a head, with 75 L.E. added for transportation per passenger. At Giza, we discovered that the tickets were only 75 L.E. each i.e. a variance of 66% per ticket. When we raised this concern with the same receptionist who ‘sold’ us the show, he denied this saying that the tickets were only 75 L.E. Only after a shouting match did we recover the 100 L.E. owed to us. The receptionist apologized profusely the next morning for the night’s misunderstanding and shared that he had quoted us the Local ticket rate of 125 L.E. as opposed to the Tourist rate of 75 L.E...In disbelief (and some disapointment), we departed with a distrust of the hotel and the integrity of it’s employee.

In fairness, the twin room we got was spacious, although the en suite bathroom was extremely old and looked unsanitary despite being reasonably clean. Our room was cleaned daily which was a nice touch. This is a hotel on the extensive downtown Cairo budget hotel list to consider, but please exercise caution when dealing with it’s staff regarding all money matters.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Easy to find, just opposite the jewish synagogue, and with a sign of the hotel in the entrance. I had asked for a room with a private bathroom and a window or balcony and i got what i asked for. The room and bathroom were very clean (the bathroom was a real room and not just a box attached in the rest of the room) i had a tv and a large confortable bed with clean sheets and pillows and with my towels left on the bed in swan shape while the room was cleaned daily. I could see the synagogue and the street from my balcony. The breakfast was enough and according the egyptian standards, it didn't include at least tea, but instead you had to pay a small amount to get this or any other drink. The daily trip to Sakkara, Memphis and Giza unfortunately included only the driver and not a guide and it was a bit expensive for getting just the driver. The location is great, downtown, near to everything with lots of shops and restaurants around but most important safe, as there are always policemen in the entrance of the building and outside the synagogue.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Yorks
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights yes it is shabby needs updating ...never a 3 star...still a problem with mosquitoes.The breakfast was a waste of time didn't even have butter 2 days just bread roll/jam cup of tea or orange,no restuarant you just ate in the reception area and seemed to be run by all young males.No signs so you would never know the hotel was there.Our room was very large likewise the bathroom,there was a small!!! portable tv in the far corner.
Yes it is in a good location for the Egyptian Museum you can walk there.
So ok....... we only paid about £16 a night and a one free transfer from Cairo Airport.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Hotel is centrally located; room with 3 beds (no.320) was comfortable and big. Neighborhood is famous for shopping and located on walking distance to National Museum or Railway station. Staff is very friendly and helpful, free internet facility, in short a best value for money.
Mosquitoes are the problem due to climate of Cairo but hotel staff reacted immediately after complaint.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Given its budget prices, we expected very basic accomodation. HOWEVER we were very impressed. It was a bit tricky to find initially, but once inside the staff were extremely enthusiastic and helpful. The rooms had all the facilities we could want(plus the added perk of free WIFI internet access). It even had those extra 'luxury' touches that were a pleasant surprise(eg. towels were folded into beautiful swan shapes). The breakfast buffet is varied and caters to most tastes. I would definately recommend(especially if you are lucky enough to catch this hotel with one of its great 'last minute booking' discounts!).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I can't understand good review about this hotel. All staff is extremely rude, hotel is extremely dirty, and have old furniture, Every room is different. Don't believe whatever they says: all interest is your money.

Summary: Never stay there !!

Many hostel better than this hotel.

Only good things is free internet

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairo Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Center Hotel

Address: 20 Adly street, Cairo 12421, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairo Center Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Air Conditioning Units in All of the Rooms - Same low prices!!Warm, clean, and affordable, Cairo Center Hotel is an excellent place to stay at while in Cairo. Cathedral ceilings, high French windows, wooden floors, and sun-light filled rooms provide a quiet escape from the bustling streets of Cairo.But, the best feature of this hostel is the helpful and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cairo Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairo Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.