We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Berlin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berlin Hotel
2 El Shawarby St 4th Floor | Off Kasr El Nil St Down Town, Cairo 11111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Fyzabad Village, Saint Patrick, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you are looking for low-cost but comfortable hotel,then Berlin Hotel is the place to go. I stayed there for one week and was very satisfied with the accommodation. My room was clean and spacious and the air-condition worked There was also a shower in the room. Although the toilets were shared, they were always spotlessly clean. The manager, Mr. Hisham, was always inquiring about my welfare and the staff was very attentive to my needs. Mr. Hisham was also kind enough to arrange several tours for me to popular tourist sites. Do not let the entrance to the building or the elevator throw you off. The hotel is good. If I have to go to Cairo again I would go there.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
12
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Berlin Hotel is really a very good place. You can feel a wonderful atmosphere there thanks to the manager mr. Hisham and also thanks to all the staff. It is like the atmosphere of the "old good times". I felt better than at home. Things are handled in a very professional way. My rooms was spacious and with A/C. The hotel is clean and it is located in a very central area were you can find anything you need. I strongly reccomend to visit Berlin hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

i stayed here almost 2 months and i would stay again. conveniently located near three metro stns , restaurant, entertainnent, shopping and more.staff were great and helpful at all times. do not let the appearance of the building throw you off. the hotel itself is good.All my needs were catered to.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The owner Mr Yousiff was very attentive, a welcoming email and (as he was at home ill) regular phone calls to make sure I had everything I needed. The room was large with large windows, and a shower in the room. Toilets were nearby in the corridor. Overall staff were excellent and helpful. Mr Yousiff arranged two tours for me by taxi for 200EP, about £20, which I found very reasonable. It is two blocks from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum, and easy access to all the other sites.
This is not a triple glazed International Hotel. If you want absolute quiet and the same experience you'd get anywhere else, then go International. This is a local hotel, some traffic noise though being on the 4th floor helps. The hotel covers this 4th floor, the building is old and has a great feel to it. High ceilings and unusual and local decor.
Staff were great and very helpful. Breakfast was simple and I'd recommend trying the local Turkish coffee, thick, with bits and very strong!
I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will stay there again. Go for a slightly more expensive room, for $26 a night you get three beds and loads of room!
Tips for Cairo - it is safe and feels safe. Very few tourists and a great time to travel there. I had the 2nd pyramid to myself when i went! Locals are friendly and just pleased to see tourists. Be aware as a westerner you're a target for touts, avoid striking up conversations at the main sights, don't follow anyone to 'their cousin's shop', avoid any demonstrations (I saw none, but Fridays can be more of an issue), take the owner's advice on where to go and when. Simple good advice for any new city. I loved my first visit.

Room Tip: Ask the owner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I spent one night at the Berlin hotel our of four nights in Cairo and found it to be a lovely hotel with a very convenient location, fine accommodations, and a very helpful manager. Even when I was not staying at his hotel, he helped arrange a taxi hire to tour the pyramids, gave me a half-day rate for the day of my flight out, and was always very communicative and helpful. He was always completely honest and straightforward about the special arrangements and I felt that I always got excellent value for my money. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent three nights in Hotel Berlin and really enjoyed the warm welcome, spacious and atmospheric rooms and the excellent central location. The manager was very helpful - in English and German - throughout our stay and the tour organized through the hotel was good value and exactly what had been promised.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I spent two days in Cairo in late December 2012 and chose to stay at Berlin Hotel given its favourable reviews on this site and positive comments from Lonely Planet. Our expectations were definitely met and even exceeded by the wonderful service the owner Mr Hisham Yousef, his manager and the other staff provided. Hisham arranged a transfer from the airport for us for a fair price. Once we arrived at the hotel, Hisham spent time advising us on how best to travel around Cairo and avoid some of the common pitfalls faced by tourists. Our room was clean and very big and the shared bathrooms, of which there were many, were also spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a great central location, just a few blocks from the Egyptian Museum and various metro stations.

On our request, Hisham arranged a day tour, with one of his drivers, to see the Pyramids of Giza, Saqqara and Dahshur. Our driver was great; he even helped us purchase delicious and very cheap street food during our busy day. We had plans to take the night train to Aswan, visit Abel Simbel and cruise/sail down the Nile to Luxor and asked Hisham if he could arrange a tour for us. He very helpfully arranged for a recommended tour operator in Aswan to call us at the hotel. The tour operator did so very promptly and within 45 minutes we had a brilliant and very affordable five day tour organised. We are so grateful to Hisham for his assistance. It’s always nice to feel that the owner and staff of a hotel are on your side and happy to help you in any way.
Matt & Tessa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Hotel

Address: 2 El Shawarby St 4th Floor | Off Kasr El Nil St Down Town, Cairo 11111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin Hotel is a small, simple hotel in Cairo downtownWe are currently expanding tooRooms has private shower cubicles with hot water available 24/7,rooms has also air conditions and beds are so comfortable.-Worth mentioning that all the bes are very comfortable,and are equiped with ' Jansen ' german brand of fancy comfortable matresses,made of large springs,cotton,and foam,plus an extra upper matress too,and the beds are designed to be easily combunable,so two if combined can form like a large bed-For guests who has their labtop or mobile phones equiped with Wi-Fi connection,they can use our high speed WI-FI connection copletely free of charge-Cheap internet access for guests who uses the hotel pc,-Cheap airport pick-ups and airport drop-offs are available-Excursions to Saquara,Memphis and Dahshour are available too.We are keen to keep friendly,informative and very helpful staff ,also worth mentioning that the hotel arranges private arabic language classes ,and B.dance courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Berlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.