We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Alexander Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   165 Mohamad Farid St, Cairo 506011, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Cairo B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Awesome service, the staff are friendly and helpful.
Great Location in Cairo downtown.
Breakfast is nice egyptian bread/jam and coffee which we were happy with.

This is a budget hotel so hence the rooms need work but they are clean.
My only issue was the bathroom which was too small. We aren't fussy though so we got over it quickly. I needed ear plugs for the airconditioner but again, we had them and I slept well.
Definitely come here if you want good service and low price and are realistic about what you are going to get.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
13
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I've been traveling all around Egypt, staying in hostels at Luxor, Aswan and Dahab, definitely Alexander Hostel in Cairo is by far the best one! Friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, accurate tourist information and a very good-central location in Cairo!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dargaville, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The people at the Hotel are very friendly, they helped out with any travel information that i needed and also helped with booking of tickets for further travel. They were helpful in teaching basic Arabic which made it easier and more fun for communication to the local people.
Had alot of fun at Alexander Hotel and came back every time i visited Cairo through out my trip in Egypt. Would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Vacation in Egypt was my cherised dream, I could get a trip with my best friend. We had to be sure that everything was perfect since we come from Mexico City, from plane ticket, transportation, visits to touristic sites. I highlight the service we were provided in this hotel: cleanliness, facilities, and the warm and professional attention from all employees, what is a must to us, and price is reasonable. Location is excellent also to make walks. Inshallah (as Egyptians say) I will come back and my choice will be again Alexander Hotel.

Room Tip: Separate beds for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preveza, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

alexander hotel is the place that i stay again because everythink it was perfect. Direction&personel were very kind

Room Tip: i prefer a room with a better external view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and was impressed with everything. Good value for money and great location. Staff were amazing and they couldnt do enough to help. Mostafa was very helpful and had great knowledge of Cairo and helped us alot. Thanks to eveyone at Alexander Hotel and when we return to Cairo and would certainly stay there again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We had a great stay in Alexander hotel, the staff was very nice and helpfull. They told us about nice trips we could make and also about the sights in the area. The room was very nice and there was also wifi internet. Mostafa and Haitham were always there to meet all of our needs. Our room was kept nice and clean and also the common room was a nice place to eat the food that we bought in the area. The location of the hotel is also very nice, it's in downtown Cairo, but even though this is the busiest area of the city, the hotel is still quiet and we never had problems of hearing noise. This is because the rooms are all at the back of the hotel and not in front of the street, and if you ask me that's a real must have in busy Cairo. Because the hotel is in downtown, it's also close to the big shopping streets and the metro is also nearby. I'm sure i will go to this hotel again, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: 165 Mohamad Farid St, Cairo 506011, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander is the latest hotel opened in down town, Cairo. Opened on May 2009. By its perfect location, well furnished rooms and the decoration which make the place has a magical atmosphere , ''YOU WILL NEVER FORGET IT''Our location is the best . few steps to every where, the Egyptian national museum only two short streets by walk And the lovely River Nile is behind it , the subway stations are around us. Also for traveling only five Min walk to and from the main Cairo Bus station Elturgman, and the main Cairo train station Ramses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.