We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wake UP Cairo Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wake UP Cairo Hostel to your Saves list
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
33 A Ramsis st., Marouf Tower, 7th floor, Cairo 11111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
saskatchewan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My twin sister and I stayed here for 5 days while visiting Cairo. The staff was really freindly and helpful especially when we needed to get our India visa. The place has great view of Cairo, has a great location, offers breakfast and has hot showers! Some nights were a little noisy due to a wedding on the street but still overall a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
25
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Wake up Cairo hostel is defo the place to be for young travellers. The hostel is in the heart of Cairo 5mins from the museum and Tahrir square. I'm a solo backpacker and stayed here for 5 days made tons of pod friends both other traveller fellows and the extremely nice and friendly staff at the hostel. The dorm and the rooms are clean and spacey. I love it and can't recommend it enough. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

... don't advertise having a common room with a TV available if your staff is just going to be watching it (in Arabic stations) throughout the entire day without regard to any paying customers who might want to spend a few minutes flipping the stations. Not sure why Lonely Planet was gushing over how nice the staff is. They seem pretty indifferent to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was my first time in Cairo and this hostel was great. The location is extremely central being minutes away from the Egyptian museum, tahrir square, the metro, etc. The staff were great. They were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I'll probably end up staying here again when I pass through in the fall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

this was my 2nd time to visit Egypt.it was Incredible value for money.i was absolutely impressed. What i got for 9 euros? - Perfect location: 2 minutes from the museum and Tahrir Square - Clean room and WC - Breakfast included- Staff was very friendly. Despite early arrival (5 hours before the check-in time) they allowed me to check in. I would definitely recommend it to everybody looking for cheap and quality stay in Cairo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Found this hostel through lonely planet, was expecting the rooms and toilet to be cleaner. We spent two of our first nights in Cairo there and to be honest for the price of a double room we found many better options than Wake UP. The staff though are friendly and pretty nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is an oustanding hostel, especially for the cost. You are right next to Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum in the heart of downtown and can get to anywhere in Cairo from bus depot or never ending line of taxis. The hostel in managed by a great staff. They were all friendly, helpful, and fun to chat with. The hostel is not very big, so it has a nice charm to it as some hostels feel like you are bunking up in a mental institution. I really enjoyed talking with Peter who works the front desk. This is a very trustworthy place as I found out upon checking out when I had left my passport and money under my bed. A cleaning lady turned it in and I was relieved of what would have been a true dilemma. I would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: The common area have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wake UP Cairo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake UP Cairo Hostel

Address: 33 A Ramsis st., Marouf Tower, 7th floor, Cairo 11111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Wake UP Cairo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wake UP Cairo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.