We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view to Cairo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wake UP Cairo Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wake UP Cairo Hostel to your Saves list
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
33 A Ramsis st., Marouf Tower, 7th floor, Cairo 11111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing view to Cairo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

this was my 2nd time to visit Egypt.it was Incredible value for money.i was absolutely impressed. What i got for 9 euros? - Perfect location: 2 minutes from the museum and Tahrir Square - Clean room and WC - Breakfast included- Staff was very friendly. Despite early arrival (5 hours before the check-in time) they allowed me to check in. I would definitely recommend it to everybody looking for cheap and quality stay in Cairo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    21
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
25
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Found this hostel through lonely planet, was expecting the rooms and toilet to be cleaner. We spent two of our first nights in Cairo there and to be honest for the price of a double room we found many better options than Wake UP. The staff though are friendly and pretty nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is an oustanding hostel, especially for the cost. You are right next to Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum in the heart of downtown and can get to anywhere in Cairo from bus depot or never ending line of taxis. The hostel in managed by a great staff. They were all friendly, helpful, and fun to chat with. The hostel is not very big, so it has a nice charm to it as some hostels feel like you are bunking up in a mental institution. I really enjoyed talking with Peter who works the front desk. This is a very trustworthy place as I found out upon checking out when I had left my passport and money under my bed. A cleaning lady turned it in and I was relieved of what would have been a true dilemma. I would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: The common area have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyväskylä, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I really appreciate how the staff of Wake Up give many advise where go to in the Cairo. Wake Up is small, but cozy hostel. There is everything you need. It is cheap, and they have nice common area. I prerer Wake Up, if you want stay place where you can be relax. Trustworthy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Highly recommended. About 10th floor, very nice view of the Nile and the traffic over the bridge from the lobby. Air conditioning to warm your room in the winter, showers, nice common area, friendly owners. Restaurants nearby.. local, turkish, ... long shopping street 2 blocks east. Local restaurants nearby cost 15 EGP / person plus drinks.

Toni

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Do not go here! It's disgusting, the people are arrogant, rude and liars. We booked a room with them and they were charging us 110 pounds and when we go there they said it was 120.00 and had us pay upfront before we could check the email to confirm. They kept pushing us to take a tour with them, which was highly overpriced. They didn't give us breakfast and even if they would have, I don't think we would have wanted to eat it because this place was filthy! It's a roach nest. When you go to the bathroom and turn on the light you see tons of roaches and same in the kitchen. Another thing that is horrible is that there is no free Wifi. You have to pay 20pounds a day. It's just absolutely crappy service. The building it's in will make you want to throw up and it's rare when the elevator works. Go somewhere else where they won't lie to you, where it's cleaner, and where you'll get your moneys worth. This place should be shut down and lonely planet should not have put this place in the book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Cheap place to stay, includes breakfast and depending on which bundle you choose you can have free airport pickup or a free trip to & from Pyramids of Giza. We had a lovely driver who gave us a history lesson and had a personalized sign waiting for us. Elevator works. Although we did experience a blackout which meant 10 flights of stairs! Clean rooms, good aircon, helpful staff(mostly). But very noisy. Located next to a main road, next to mechanic street and it's just very noisy. We were told the cheap food locations and had a pleasurable stay in the end. Wifi connection wasn't great, bathrooms weren't spotless, but for the price the value and the experience was more than we expected.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wake UP Cairo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake UP Cairo Hostel

Address: 33 A Ramsis st., Marouf Tower, 7th floor, Cairo 11111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Wake UP Cairo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wake UP Cairo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.