We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, honest and authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabian Nights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arabian Nights to your Saves list
Arabian Nights
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Al Aded St off of Mansouria Street | Darassa, Islamic Cairo, Cairo 1111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 47 Cairo B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Simple, honest and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The price is suitable for what it offers. The accommodation and breakfast are simple but sufficient. The service always friendly, concerned to serve us well and make us feel at home. You can book many tours directly at the hotel as well as airport transfers. On one day we took the tour to the Pyramids of Giza, Saqqara and Dahshur, on the next day we did the tour around Cairo and a dinner in the Nile. Located in the Islamic Cairo, the neighborhood is simple, maybe poor, but very authentic and safe. The streets and shops are crowded until late night, 1 or 2 in the morning (the latest time we returned to the hotel). We walked day and night without any problems. It is a region where there is no harassment, until you arrive at the Khan-el-Khalili, but this is part of the experience, and after a while you learn how to deal with it. There you won't find luxury, but an honest and authentic place to enjoy your days in Cairo. It's a shame that the terrace is abandoned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
27
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is family-run and caters mostly to the Egyptian clientele but many tourists find it very convenient to stay here to explore the Islamic part of Cairo. It is in an area of Cairo that many travellers might find negative to their liking. But if you are an intrepid but cultured person, you will find this hotel and its surrounding area a very interesting and intriguing place to show where and how a regular Egyptian lives. The hotel itself is quite unique with interesting pieces of turn of the century Egyptian furnitures with inlaid shells and bones. Unfortunately, not many of the staff seem to know how valuable these pieces could be. The rooms are large enough for two people with basic needs and are relatively clean.. Do not expect Egyptian cotton sheets and towels and they are not changed automatically everyday but probably can be done on request. I am fine wtth that. Breakfast consists of a fried egg, lots of bread, cheese and jam with coffee or tea. The Reception staff are very helpful with directions and they speak English well. Thanks to Hassan, Mohamed, Mahmoud, Huwada, and Safa.. As mentioned before, Khan el Khalili is just a walking distance from the hotel. If you are brave enough, you can actually make a shortcut to reach Khan el Khalili by using the maze of alleyways from the right side of the hotel. This is really very interesting as you will be meeting the neighbourhood people who are always ready to smile or greet you. Be prepared for the onslaught of outside noise which can be heard anywhere in the hotel as the hotel is beside a street thoroughfare and a mosque..

Room Tip: Get the room with a window that can be opened although no private bath. It seems the rooms with ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013, in a time where there was supposed to be political unrest.
On a night where there were 'Fire Wars' happening outside, the manager padlocked the doors.
The Government also put the power out one night, and being a westerner, I was a little bit cautious, but they made me feel safe and very welcome. Organised great tours to the White Desert and the Pyramids for a good deal.
Being in Islamic Cairo was quite different to the main city but it gave you a real feel of how they live.
The manager, who had lived in Germany for 10 years, had a great knowledge of westerners, so was very comforting.
I even organised a last minute trip to the hotel, when I arrived at the airport as they were already picking someone up!

Would stay here again if I ever ventured to Egypt!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I'm an American student and was visiting Egypt in early May with two friends from my language program in Jordan. We booked the Arabian Nights Hotel looking for a decent place to stay on a budget, which is exactly what it is.

The management arranged a taxi driver from the airport to the hotel at a reasonable price, and we were welcomed and shown to our room. The bathroom was a bit small and simple, so my friends requested me to ask for a larger room. The management had no problem with giving us an upgraded room free of charge.

The room was comfortable, and the staff are helpful. Breakfast was simple but satisfactory. They arranged taxi transport for us to the Pyramids at a good price. Wifi was a bit iffy...it worked on my friend's iPhone but not on my laptop.

The hotel is located in Islamic Cairo, close to Khan al-Khalili (which is over-rated, btw). It is a poor but safe neighborhood.

Overall, it is exactly what we expected for a budget hotel. If you want 5 star accommodations, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a clean, quiet place to base your stay in Cairo, the Arabian Nights Hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiers, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cheap and clean hotel in a nice neighborhood.
But, beware the tours organized by the hotel are much too expensive. The staff is kind, but that kindness has a purpose!
The hotel is situated in the islamic part of Cairo. Very nice to walk through. A taxi to the Tharir square cost about 15 pound(1,80 euro).
The famous Khan al khalil is real touristic, so you can better spend your time in an other way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We wanted to experience the authentic life in Cairo and not stay in a luxurious but main stream hotel. We were not disappointed with choosing Arabian Nights. The hotel is placed in the old Islamic part of Cairo. The neighbourhood is old and shabby, but if you want to experience the authentic life in Cairo, this is a part of it. And we felt safe all the time. If what you are looking for is the Western standard of luxury, this is not for you.

The room was clean and ok, and the staff was very helpful and they spoke great English. They operated outside normal schedules, which were to our convenience. For instance, they served us breakfast whenever we got up. They also served us tea several times a day if we wanted.

We asked the hotel to order a taxi for us to go around Cairo, and the desk clerk organised for one of the staff to drive us where we wanted. This sounds like an offer you should beware of, but everything was to our benefit: we agreed on a set price before we started. We visited the Egyptian museum, while he bought train tickets for us to Alexandria. Then we went to Alexandria for a few days, but when we got back to Cairo, we were so pleased with the service that we went back to Arabian Nights for two more nights.

We booked a new trip with the driver from the hotel and he took us to see more of Cairo: the pyramids; the Citadel; a nice public park filled with local families and afternoon shows; a mosque; and a local Egyptian restaurant where the regulars were locals. It was a wonderful day and we were full of impressions. We would never have managed to experience all this on our own. We also felt much saver doing this with the guy from our hotel instead of taking an ordinary taxi.

As we are rather experienced travellers we are used to manage ourselves on the road. In our experience, Cairo is not the easiest place on the planet to travel like this. The city might seem rather chaotic, and the riots of the last few years do not make this better. Thus the safest bet in Cairo is to have a local guide. Even when near Tahrir square where many riots have taken place, we felt safe travelling around with our man from the hotel.

If you want to stay cheap and safe, but still experience the authentic life of Cairo, Arabian Nights hotel is a very nice alternative. We would definitely use this place again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed with Arabian Nights Hostel for 3 nights at the end of January 2013. Not only did they surpass our expectations in accommodations, they win the hospitality award in my books. The hostel rooms are clean and well maintained, the shower in our room did require a hose, but other than that the room was great. Enough heat and blankets in winter, very hot water that's easy to adjust and clean linens/floor space. Manager Mohamed is eager to please as is his staff who make sure your questions are answered. Booking tours with the hostel was easy, economical and reliable. Despite recent developments affecting security & tourism, the adventurous and conscientious traveller will enjoy Egypt tremendously. It's a fantastic country! What are you waiting for?
Point of note: Ensure you learn to be comfortable avoiding/ignoring hassling sales in markets and on the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabian Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Nights

Address: 10 Al Aded St off of Mansouria Street | Darassa, Islamic Cairo, Cairo 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Arabian Nights 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to have won the TripAdvisor 2012 Award of Excellence. Come let our friendly, energetic staff help you discover the true charm of Cairo. Enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms, free breakfast, free wifi and complimentary hot drinks anytime on our gorgeous rooftop. We have thirty air-con rooms available with private bath and satellite TV. We also offer shared facilities. Members of our highly trained staff are fluent in both English and French. They are ready to facilitate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Arabian Nights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Nights Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabian Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.