We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel in Islamic Cairo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabian Nights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arabian Nights to your Saves list
Arabian Nights
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Al Aded St off of Mansouria Street | Darassa, Islamic Cairo, Cairo 1111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 47 Cairo B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel in Islamic Cairo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a great hotel if you're looking to explore and experience Islamic/Medieval Cairo.

It's worth noting what to expect, however: if you have no experience with this part of town or with similar cities, keep in mind that the neighbourhood can be very dirty and messy. While the hotel itself is on a little street without much car traffic (though there are still plenty of people around even at night), the busier streets are choatic (though safe).
Similarly, the hotel is quite clean but still a bit shabby in places; paint might be peeling here and there, there might be an occasional stain on the walls, and the drain for the bathroom shower might be inconvenient. I did see some cockroaches unfortunately, but this is likely a consequence of the dirty neighbourhood surroundings, as the hotel itself is constantly cleaned by the staff. (Note: remember to leave your key at reception in the morning if you want your room cleaned or serviced.)

I am not sounding any alarms, however; if you're already familiar with this type of scene, then there's not much to worry about. If you're not, then just keep in mind this is a budget hotel in an old and dirty part of town, but one that is safe and quite clean inside.

What really makes this hotel stand out are two things:
1) The incredibly friendly staff. Most speak good English, and the managers are particularly friendly and easy to talk to. They really offer an unrivalled warm welcome.
2) A location that is extremely convenient for Islamic Cairo, about 5-10 minutes' walk from Al-Azhar, Bab al-Futuh, or the northern City of the Dead. This saves you from having to take a taxi or a very long walk from downtown (where most other budget hotels are).

The rooms are quiet and comfortable (with the occasional exception of noisy guests in the hallway), and are equipped with air conditioning units which are a relief on hot days. Breakfast was also good: a fried egg and rolls of bread with jams and/or butter, and good tea (or coffee), which is good enough to start a long day of walking.

Make sure to look for some of the great deals usually on offer, including the free pick-up from the airport with a certain number of nights. Definitely take them up on that if you can.

A minor downside is that the hotel isn't near any metro line, but taxis are very cheap in Cairo anyways. It's also near the Salah Salem highway, which means places like the Citadel (for example) are very quick and easy to get to by taxi.


In conclusion: if you're looking for a cheap and friendly place to stay in Islamic Cairo, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
26
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My partner and I really enjoyed our time at Arabian Nights.
It is difficult to find a quiet hotel where the street noise won't keep you awake in the night. Because the hotel is in a quiet street you can have a nice and quiet street.
The rooms are really clean.
They picked up my partner from the airport.
The hotel also helped us book tours around egypt with decent prices.
thank you magdy
we will come back again

Room Tip: Great service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdańsk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good location is the old Islamic area. all of the staff are very nice were able to be picked up from the airport because we stayed more than they booked for us all the tours around egypt and was really great and was really amazing that's was the best, thanks again for everybody spacial thanks to mohamed magdy :) and mark all the five rings

Room Tip: don't speak much with the ppl at the street who wants to sell you something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

despite of the calm area Not sure how people can be voting this so high, this really is one of the worst hotels I've ever been in. I'm only giving it a two because the rooms are actually ok. Clean and quite nice for the price you pay....

However the breakfast was really the worst I've ever seen...disgusting and there was food and cigarette buts all over the tables from the previous nightare the electricity disconected many time. A\c not working fine .

Room Tip: try to avoid intial rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Top rouf is really nice to have the breakfast in the morining, the pepole are working they are taking care very much of me, if i could i would stay here the rest of my life, the room is nice and clean, the when u come out of the hotel door everybody smills at you and very friendley....
i highly recommend this place for pepole...

Room Tip: really quite here but if you need room more quiter take room in the back not face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel is really nice and clean compare by the other hotel's in Egypt i have stayed, i loved the top rouf i have breakfast everyday at the rouf and it was fun to talk with all people there, my room was really big and clean so the bath house keeper is really funny...thanks for everybody who make my stayed wonderful..i'll come back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braniewo, Elblag, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had several great days in Cairo and the Staff,Good clean hotel,the staff were so nice and friendly they made me feel like I was at home,in the morning the Breakfast was very nice ,I will stay here always.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabian Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Nights

Address: 10 Al Aded St off of Mansouria Street | Darassa, Islamic Cairo, Cairo 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Arabian Nights 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to have won the TripAdvisor 2012 Award of Excellence. Come let our friendly, energetic staff help you discover the true charm of Cairo. Enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms, free breakfast, free wifi and complimentary hot drinks anytime on our gorgeous rooftop. We have thirty air-con rooms available with private bath and satellite TV. We also offer shared facilities. Members of our highly trained staff are fluent in both English and French. They are ready to facilitate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Arabian Nights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Nights Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabian Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.