We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in old Islamic Cairo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arabian Nights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arabian Nights to your Saves list
Arabian Nights
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Al Aded St off of Mansouria Street | Darassa, Islamic Cairo, Cairo 1111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Cairo B&B and Inns
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in old Islamic Cairo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is my fourth time over the last three years staying at this hotel. The staff are very friendly, speak very good English and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Rooms are a reasonably sized and very clean with AC and satellite TV.

The rates at this hotel coupled with the friendliness at the hotel has made it a pleasant stay for me. For sure I will return again and again because I feel as though this hotel has become my second home.

Hotel is located close to the Khan Khalili Bazar and the world renowned Azhar mosque and University.

Room Tip: Its best to go with the private ensuite if you are willing to spend that bit more. But there are ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
26
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The staff is so helpful and nice. The price is perfect for limited budgets and students. If you want a real feel on Cairo and it's inhabitants, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yorkers in Ladakh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

In historic Darassa, where you can enjoy old Islamic Cairo, this family-run hotel was a pleasure. I had stayed at a 'five-star' hotel Mena House in Giza, and it did not have the personal charm of this place. Breezy shaded area on the roof to read and relax, hospitable owner Mohammed and his family..a welcome one night respite at the end of a journey. Wish I'd heard about it on the front end of the trip....you can walk from the hotel to Alzar park, the Islamic art museum, several famous mosques...

Room Tip: just ask - they will make sure you are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

After visiting many times Cairo my favorite hotel remain "Arabian Nignts"! welcoming staff, clean room, about 12 euros for one single room! absolutly rare for a hotel in the historic area, close from all activities, amazing monuments, markets n restaurant at really good price. The area is really lifefull and the room are quite at night. I simply highly recommend the hotel for his great familly atmospher, also Ibrahim the owner speaks french, english, arabic..a pleasure to share around a good tea (free anytime). I thanks the staff for there help during my stay n the beautifull surprise u done for my birthday! unforgatable!

Room Tip: Chic and not expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My sis and I stay in Arabian nights hotel for several days, it is safe, and seem like a calm oasis in the middle of chaotic Cairo. It is clean, hot water 24 hours, with free wifi and reasonably priced. The staff are very informative, efficient, and helpful. Though the hotel is in the back street, but mention it is behind Cinema Kwuekib, off sharia Mansouri, many people could tell you the way, and it is located near the Khan khalili, Azhar Mosque, and the Hussein mosque square, it's a very convenient base to explore the Islamic Cairo area. If I return to Cairo again, this will be the place I want to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Arabian Nights is located close to the Khalil Mosque, in the arab quarter, a little bit far from Downtown but in a very charming suburb. Staff is nice and very helpful, rooms are clean and quiet, you can book good tours directly at the reception. Breakfast is poor, but the hotel is surrounded by the best street food choice in Cairo...Finally I think Arabian Nights is a very good value: is cheap, quiet, and clean, something not so easy to find in Cairo...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Bay, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed twice at the Arabian nights for a couple of nights. The hotel is a budget hotel which means reasonable prices but it has none of the typical bugbears of a budget place. Facilities are good for the price ( wi-fi/desktop in the lobby, a decent local break-fast meal, basic but clean rooms that have a tv , ac and heated water.). Most of all Muhammed who runs the hotel is a extremely warm and accommodating guy and so is the rest of his extended family who always have a story or 2 to exchange with guests.

Some tips if you stay here:
1) It is located in Islamic Cairo in one of the side streets off the main road and not extremely easy to find. Suggest you book a pick up from the hotel . Taxi's at the airport have to be bargained with ( if you find one) . If tried a few times and each time the lowest bargain price I got was about the same or just marginally lower ( a couple of $) lower than the hotel pick up price.
2) It's located close to Kahn el Khalili where they have the free sufi dance performance. Not to be missed - so make the most of your location.
3) The hotel arranged private taxi for a tour of the city and pyramids is a definitely a great deal. Again I tried my own luck the 1st time ( flagging down a back taxi and bargaining on the tour rate) and then just decided to use the hotel guy the 2nd time. Advantage is that you have a familiar face, the rate is reasonable, the driver is also a licensed guide and also is usually the same guy who will pick up or drop you to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabian Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Nights

Address: 10 Al Aded St off of Mansouria Street | Darassa, Islamic Cairo, Cairo 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Arabian Nights 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to have won the TripAdvisor 2012 Award of Excellence. Come let our friendly, energetic staff help you discover the true charm of Cairo. Enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms, free breakfast, free wifi and complimentary hot drinks anytime on our gorgeous rooftop. We have thirty air-con rooms available with private bath and satellite TV. We also offer shared facilities. Members of our highly trained staff are fluent in both English and French. They are ready to facilitate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arabian Nights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Nights Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabian Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.