We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Triumph Hotel

Save Saved
You added Triumph Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Triumph Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El-Khalifa El-Maamoun St. | Heliopolis, Cairo 11341, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 131 Hotels in Cairo
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rustic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Triumph is in a serene location in Cairo. Great Shops within the building. The design is one of aging wealth which tries to bridge the gap with modern times. My room had a great night line view of the city. Staff helpful in providing transportation for tourists. Was fortunate to witness an Egyptian-American Wedding. Not bad eventually.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    8
    9
    9
See reviews for
8
8
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel check in was easy, room spacious linnen changed every day bathroom clean and toiletries replenished every day,
Great location
Friendly staff
No bar but it wasn't a problem for a short stay.
Cafe was nice
Room service good
Overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boullay-les-Troux, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a lovely suite for just 100 USD before the 22% tax... dining/sitting room,
large bedroom and bathroom. Room service was quick, but no beer or wine
served in the hotel. But you can bring in your own. Two TVs, but not flat screen
and bad reception on one of them. Don't use the hotel
taxi service as they wanted 50 in Egypt money and the real local cost was 5 for a trip
to 'downtown'. Just go outside and flag down a taxi. To the airport: 65-70 is
the going rate. Breakfast was a buffet with all you could want, but the
'American' coffee was sock juice and undrinkable. Take the tea.
Also it was quite noisy... they could use triple glazing... honking starts
about 7 am. No idea about the pool or spa as we didn't use them...
if the hotel had them?

Room Tip: Room 426 was quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I sepnt 3 days in this hotel bed is confrtobel you even though yu have to pay extra for room service to have clean sheets; deffently need express renovation crapets old stained tv old only arabic channels.breakfast is poor.
will never stay in this hotel ever again this not a 5 stars hotel a 2 or 3 very expensive very below stander

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smarshy12
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I wanted to be objective after 10 days at this hotel whilst travelling on business but I'm struggling for positives. Things to know, this hotel is owned by the Egyptian Army, it is long long past its sell by date and needs a significant investment in order to get it up to scratch which is highly unlikely to happen, it is completely dry.

It started badly when the driver I had arranged with the hotel failed to turn up and it took me four phone calls, no apology and being hung up on twice to finally get one they, they still had the cheek to demand full payment which was refused.


Upon arrival I was shown to my room on the 7th floor which was ok with a decent amount of space and balcony with a good rooftop view over Heliopolis..

Downsides:

The plugs were hanging off the wall, they would not pass any safety test

The curtain by the window was stained and dirty

The carpet was not hoovered once and was disgusting

The 80's Tv was at best temperamental and more accurately knackered

The fixed line (no wi fi in room) simply didn't work when tried by a colleague

Wi fi exists in pockets through the hotel, it is awful, patchy and constantly failing altogether

The shower was described by a colleague as an involuntary skin treatment as it constantly alters between hot and cold without having to adjust the controls, just hope for the best

The safe started to fail after the first day coming up with an error message, the first maintenance guy promised to come back a few minutes later and never reappeared. When I called again the second guy informed me it was my fault as I had put the wrong code in too many times (I hadn't ever put it in wrong) however reiterating this got me nowhere and I learnt that I had to leave 10 minute intervals between opening and closing.

I asked for an iron which came with a cord about 1' long and necessitated significant furniture rearrangements to get to one of the two overused and broken plug sockets.

The air conditioning was variable and on occasions extremely loud, luckily it was not too hot.

The in house taxi firm is awful, quoting us 240 LE for a trip to the City Stars Mall we refused and got a local taxi for 10LE, when we booked for a return trip to the airport the night before departure they had no record and we had to start from scratch.

The check out was really really really slow and laborious.

Although there is security at the front and back doors with an x ray machine you can walk in through the cafe and completely by pass it making it completely irrelevant

Upsides:

The food is ok although a little samey, some of the waiters do make an effort and go out of their way to make up for the very limited options. Do not expect quick service though, even when the place is absolutely deserted

The gym is pretty good and always empty though a bit tired, there is after all nothing else to do there

There is a shop called drinkies about 0.5 miles away and you can bring beer/wine back in to the hotel.

That is it for positives, unless you are a teetotal pauper who is getting a fantastic rate I suggest you don't bother.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel location was ok for me as I was visiting Ain Shams university, and as the airport is close. I cannot recommend the hotel to tourists who should stay closer to the city center for business it's fine. (Btw, this hotel does not serve alcohol like the tourist hotels.)

The room was very spacious as well as the bathroom and the balcony. My room has no carpet and it was nice as some people here have complained about dirty carpets.

The breakfast had plenty of choice and the food was fresh.

For dinner I would suggest the cafe rather than the so called Italian restaurant. I did not try the fine dining one. (There are 3 or 4 restautants in the hotel.)

NB! In the rooms there is only Internet with wire, not wlan. If you take your iPad, like I did, there's wlan at the ground floor but it's rather weak.

The hotel gym is good and free for hotel quests. The spa (a good Finnish sauna, a steam bath, a whirlpool bath, massage) has separate hours for female and men and doesn't cost much.

Some staff members were nice and polite and some not.

The only thing that I was disappointed with was the safebox in my room. It did not work and they did not fix it. After 5 or 6 phone calls to the house keeping I gave up.

For the travellers who complain about not having tea/coffee making or ironing equipment in the room, I would like to say that in a four star hotel in that society (and the prices) you are not supposed to make your coffee or do your ironing yourself but to use the room service and laundry service. You can afford it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I landed up in the hotel cause of Egypt Air. At first glance it looked great.. But reception was rude.. Maybe because we were in transit passengers.. The breakfast, lunch and dinner timings written on paper and actual are different. And the staff is arrogant. In case you are not carrying cash and only have card you will have to starve.. The moment you check-in the Servants will be after you to take up a city tour. They will not give proper details cause of poor english and u will land up taking a tour in which you will be taken to 2-3 places only and that also for taking pictures from a distance of 400-500 meters from the main monument. They will also take you to 2-3 shops they have tie up with and will try to sell you normal costing things at very high cost. The cost of this trip for 2 persons is 50 Euros excluding the entry charge for monuments.

Room Tip: Unless you are forced to take this hotel by Egypt Air.. please dont make the mistake of staying in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Triumph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triumph Hotel

Address: El-Khalifa El-Maamoun St. | Heliopolis, Cairo 11341, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 131 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Triumph Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Triumph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triumph Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.