We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairo El Borg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cairo El Borg to your Saves list
Novotel Cairo El Borg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Saraya El Gezira street Zamalek, Cairo 11111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Central and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. It has nice views and the location is convenient if you want to visit the Egyptian museum. Hotel staff was friendly and the room was clean. It feels more like a business hotel than a family hotel but we did not mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Madame , Sir

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    179
    60
    29
    21
See reviews for
68
112
52
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hotel is in a great location just over the river from downtown. Good facilities though you need to know there is no alcohol served. The shame being that across the road on the river are tourist boats that play their music so load we were really deafened even on the 7th floor. Also, the WIFI in the rooms is lousy. Apart rom that, a nice hotel and pretty good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Sir

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies regarding the noisy coming from the boats in the Nile
At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel location near down town and Zamalek and Garden City is so good to get around especially with Cairo ever growing traffic. The hotel is nice although the staff could use more training to speed up the checking in - checking out process. Rooms are big and clean ( clean rooms are usually hard to find in Cairo even in big 5 star hotels) rooms with Nile view are so noisy especially from the loud loud loud music coming out from the boat harbor in the Nile right in front of the hotel. Take back side rooms for better sleep. The price is so reasonable and the breakfast is ok. For business trip in Cairo this is very good but if you are looking for relaxing time other places should be considered.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not on the Nile view are quite , rooms with Nile view are so noisy it makes it diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Sir

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies regarding the noisy coming from the boats in the Nile
At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We staying in the Novotel El Borg and by and large, enjoyed it. We had an ordinary rooms which was large and the bed was king size and comfortable. The shower room was also of a good size. We weren't on a B&B deal, so breakfast struck us as expensive, especially compared with the prices of the evening meals. That said, it was a buffet with a wide variety of food, catering to an equally wide variety of tastes. The evening menu had a wide range of dishes and was good value. I enjoyed all the meals I ate there.

The hotel is dry, but the fruit cocktails on offer were excellent and a real eye-opener to what you can achieve with different fruits. Although I didn't use the hotel swimming pool I had a good look at it and it's kept very clean and it was attractive, much more so than in the photographs on the website.

The hotel faces the Nile and backs onto the Teacher's Club, which consists of a park and covered market type area. The Teacher's Club is popular every night with families and on a couple of nights there was loud drumming from wedding celebrations, complete, in one case, with a whirling dervish. I found all this fascinating and the club seemed to close at 10pm so it didn't keep us awake.

There aren't any restaurants terribly close by: you'll need to walk down the Nile for about 10 minutes or so to floating restaurants, but there are several of these: Nile City and El Pasha are good with several different types of restaurant on board (the latter serving alcohol).

We didn't take any taxis from outside the hotel, but walked a short way down the road and hailed one. Taxi drivers can spot a westerner from some distance so getting a taxi just isn't a problem and they are cheap. It's not too far from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian museum. We were there in the run-up to the referendum and although there were some problems in the Square itself, they did not affect us or our stay. Egyptians are very keen for people still to go to Egypt and we had a great time.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a cash machine in the foyer and a travel desk for those who want to arrange trips - a friend of ours was in the travel business, so we did not use the hotel's travel desk, but the prices for the trips looked reasonable.

Tipping is expected and you'll find that trying to keep a lot of small denomination notes is not always easy - even banks want to give you large denominations E£200 or so, but they will give you smaller ones if you insist. US dollars are accepted everywhere. The hotel bill can be paid in E£, $ or Euros, but not sterling. We paid in E£.

Overall, a good stay in a clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It was wonderful trip and wonderful stay. The hotel has an excellent location with friendly service. The room is spacious and comfortable. The access to the hotel is easy. If I plan to go again,I will choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights, rooms are clean, breakfast is awesome..Nile view was great...bit noisy, 5 minutes walk to Tahrir squar. Hotel staff were all polite and very helpful, but there was no wifi...that was not so good.....despite that fact that theu had a free apple station with like 15 minutes of internet acess. Anyway I enjoyed a good stay and would definitly stay there again..

Room Tip: Nile view, but ask for higher floors to avoid niose from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir


First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cairo El Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo El Borg

Address: 3 Saraya El Gezira street Zamalek, Cairo 11111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo El Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Cairo El Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo El Borg Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairo El Borg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.