We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks all stuf for all advice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nubian Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nubian Hostel to your Saves list
Nubian Hostel
4 Elwy Street | off Qasr El Nile Street, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“thanks all stuf for all advice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

If you want to enjoy Egypt, nubian Hotel is the place to be. The hotel staff members are friendly and are always willing to give advice. Very good people. I loved it there. i will back again thanks for all their waleed and ibrahim and magdi and sherif and bata and all their thanks for evry thing and i will back again

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
24
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

The hotel is very clean and recently remodeled. The location is great right near the subway and center of downtown.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. They provided a lot of information about Egypt and how to travel around the city and country even on a budget.

The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very clean. Breakfast is good also.

I have traveled the Middle East for a long time and this is the best place I could find with affordable rooms and a nice atmosphere.

It is quiet and safe. It is a great place to relax after visiting all the sites in Cairo or if you need to stop for a transit stop for overnight.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

i love this place becouse when i was there i enjoy i fell im in my home its good people their i will come back agin thanks for all people thier

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Nubian Hostel is a perfect place for people looking for a nice and cheap accomodation in a central location. The staff at the hostel is always willing to help. One can surely not expect german standard but it´s a perfect place for a short trip to Cairo, close to most of the major attractions, such as Egyptian Museum, Tahrir Place, Cairo Tower, ...
Thanks to Magdi (the boss) and his staff. I´ll be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

I got there quite late, and they charged me 30 dlls, instead of 25 or 20 which usually charge, because i didn't book. My Room, which I guess is next to some mummy because it stinks like death people, and is full of insects, mosquitoes and bed bugs.

Sheriff is very friendly, yes, but is also pushing to all guests to write nice comments in trip advisor. I asked him for the internet password access, and he took my laptop to write it himself, and he open the website and start clicking in the best reviews for the hostel, then he asked me to write nice comments on it, and I did, I was the one who wrote he went with me to the clubs, which is not true, and the rest of stuffs is there, which personally I didn't agree and refuse to write my e-mail!!, and he's so not that smart that he wrote his own :s ... hahaha...

anyway, the place is the worse hostel I've ever been, is not clean at all, is located in a very noisy area, the breakfast is just a cup of tea, and there's BED BUGS!!!, I really don't recommend anybody to go there, since the price is compared to any 3 star hotel in cairo. and i think the building is just about to fall anyway.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We were vacationing in Egypt for 2 weeks (Sharm El Sheikh, Cairo, and Luxor).

We stayed in Cairo for 1 week at the Nubian Hostel. When we arrived we were greeted warmly. The receptionists are Sherif and Abrahim and provided great service. When they are on shift, they are always helpful with directions, breakfast, etc. The service is excellent. I had a stomach problem when we arrived and Abrahim brought up two cups of herbal tea to help my stomach which it did.

The hostel itself is fairly typical for Cairo. Buildings are old from a different era, so there are constant renovations happening, and elevators are not always present. The hostel is located on the second floor, so it was fine if you are traveling with two rucksacks and a roller bag. We saw a few of the rooms and all the rooms are clean. The bathrooms are clean, but could use a little improvement. There is one lounge, and its cozy and comfortable.

The location is excellent. It is a 5 minute walk to the Egyptian Museum, 3 minute walk to Sadat Metro Station (which is great to go to Giza), and there are plenty of shisha bars, local restaurants, and American fast food (KFC, McDonalds, Hardees) all within a 5 minute walk. Overall, the stay was pleasant and inexpensive, so if you are on a budget Nubian Hostel is a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

I liked the Nubian Hostel becuase it is very clean,safe and situated in a down town. Mr Majdi are very cooperative and nice person. All the staf is also very nice and cooperative, especially Mr Sharif. Its my advice to go to such a place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nubian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Hostel

Address: 4 Elwy Street | off Qasr El Nile Street, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly hostel offers free wireless internet, in the lobby and rooms, and free breakfast. Our hostel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cairo. We are happy to welcome you to Cairo and look forward to showing you true Egyptian hospitality. Our bright, colorful and spacious rooms come with and without a private bathroom, television with satellite and air conditioner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Nubian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nubian Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.