We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nubian Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nubian Hostel to your Saves list
Nubian Hostel
4 Elwy Street | off Qasr El Nile Street, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Most memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I spent last year travelling through Africa and this hostel has stuck in my mind - mainly because the staff were so fantastic. We stayed for 10 days and by the end felt like friends. Thank you Kamal and co! On other travel notes: good value for money, the location was fantastic in a wonderful quarter of Cairo with a safe-student vibe.There was reliable free wiifi. Everything was just great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
24
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The staff at Nubian Hostel is the best by far in Egypt. My trip began by Kamal arranging me to be picked up from the airport by a driver who was very courteous. The hostel is located in downtown Cairo in the center of everything. The museum is only a 10 minute walk away. The best part of my trip was with Raaouf who is an excellent driver as well as very knowledgeable tour guide. He took me to Sakkara and Dahshur and provided me with an outstanding history of ancient Egypt. He is very friendly and courteous. He will take good care of you and your travel needs. I highly recommend him. He is truly a gem!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

we definitely recommend this place! great value for what it costs!
really REALLY friendly staff, always willing to help you!
rooms are clean and quiet!
location is fantastic, just 1 minute walk from midan talal harb, right in the city centre!
Mohamed ali, magdi, kamel and everyone was so NICE!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

After 2 years we where back in Nubian Hosteland enjoyed our time there as much as we did 2 years before.Thanks to Mr Kamal and Mr Magdi and the friendly and helpfull staff.
We have had a great time in Nubian Hostel and in Cairo.
Mr Kamal and Mr Magdi are so nice people, we have had nice talks and a lot off funn together. We really miss them and fors sure it’s not our last visit in Nubian Hostel.
The rooms in Nubian Hostel are big and very clean. The staff helps you with all what you want or need ,give people who not use to be in cairo before good advises to discover this city and even trips outside Cairo and they will arange all that the tourist wants for a fair price .From our balcony we had a nice view on the street . On the corner woman are selling there home made fresh Aish ballaad,In Elwy street are many coffeshops, all with different colours off chairs and tables. Therefore the street looks colourfull and many people from all ages are drinking there chai or coffee or fresh juices, smoking shisha, reading the newspaper, playing board games or just talking and lauhging together .In this street the atmosphere is ,open and friendly and very cosy. Everyone talk with you and you feel like home there. On the corner from Elwy street you find a small fishmarket with all kinds off fresh or grilled, baked fish and shrimps for just a small money, buy a bread from the woman opposite and take place on one off the terasses , with an espresso or cappucino and enjoy the egyptian streetlife. This is real Egypt life in the middle off the centre from Cairo. There is also a great ta’amiya restaurant, with nice salads to take away or upstairs you can eat different egypt food in the nice small restaurant.
From Nubian Hostel it’s just a few minutes to the Egyptian Museum and Tharir Square.
The Egyptians are after the revolution the same and friendly,helpfull people as before but it is sad to see that after the revolution the poverty is growing dramaticly,and much people loose their jobs. Because tourisme crashed down. It’s a pitty that in this time now Egypt make a new start and people hoping for a better life, tourisme crashed down, so many hotels have to close and the economic situation is very bad in the moment.
I just want to say, don’t believe all you see or read in the media, Egypt is safe and a great land to travel in, with a lot off treasures, friendly and helpfull and funny people. Egypt is safe ,I was their one month travelling through the country without any trouble.
In Cairo I, as a woman could walk alone in the city, on Tharir Square, without any harrassing even the same in all the other places I visited,
Egypt and the Egyptians need the tourist and If you want to see, feel and be a part off real Egyptian life have a stay in the Nubian Hostel, hoping you feel as home as much I did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I sat in a hotel Nubian more than 4 nights and enjoyed at the hotel there are at the hotel an excellent team of staff room clean and the breakfast is good and also the hotel gave me good service and work for me some trips excellent, such as the pyramid and Alaxandera and Old Cairo and must thank Mohamed Ali it is a good friend and Director Magdy Thanks hotel Nubian

Room Tip: all the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

A hostel located smack dab in the middle of Cairo, 5-10 mins walk from the Egyptian Museum and Tahrir Square. Right outside the door of the hotel was a street with all sorts of tea / sheesha and food vendors and would be open uptil early morning. One could sit there and enjoy the local night life and play a board game or two.

As far as the place itself it was very reasonably priced placed but you get what you pay for. The hotel was on the 1st and 2nd floor, no lifts and you had to haul your luggage up and down. The rooms were very basic, linen was clean but a bit old, bathrooms were built inside the room separated by plastic panels (so smell and sounds travelled around). All the rooms are fitted with A/Cs. The staff was accommodating and helpful and booked us on a day trip to all the major sights in Cairo.

We had a mix up with our booking and it took a lot of arguing to sort out the matter so please ensure that you double check your booking a few days before landing here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

the room is cleaned well and the staff is really helpful. you can ask them whatever. you can also enjoy talking with them. and the taxi driver, his name is Rauof, a big man, is also very kind. He knows evrything of the town. you can feel very safe with him. the staff gives you many helpful advices. you don't feel alone here even you're traveling alone.
you're gonna have enjoyable staying. Surely!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nubian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Hostel

Address: 4 Elwy Street | off Qasr El Nile Street, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly hostel offers free wireless internet, in the lobby and rooms, and free breakfast. Our hostel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Cairo. We are happy to welcome you to Cairo and look forward to showing you true Egyptian hospitality. Our bright, colorful and spacious rooms come with and without a private bathroom, television with satellite and air conditioner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Nubian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nubian Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.