We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stop for food after the pyramids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andrea El Mariouteya

Andrea El Mariouteya
59-60 Mariouteya Canal Road, Cairo, Egypt
+20 2 33831133
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 3,910 restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Barbecue, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
535 reviews 535 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Best place to stop for food after the pyramids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

delicious restaurant nearby the pyramids that specialize in grilled meat. Especially quail and chicken that are spectacular and grilling freshly on a spit as you walk in. The stuffed grape leaves and pita bread made fresh are also te best we had in Egypt. Andrea is as popular with locals (who come after 3pm) as tourists since many buses stop here after the pyramids for lunch. Entrees are £45 each.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    59
    32
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Andrea has been around for over 40 years. The chicken charcoaled in oregano abundant marination can be served in half chicken portion with bones or boneles (full chicken) or skewers of small pieces of chicken. Quales are also avaialable. The pre-main dishes are a great variety of starters that Andrea is also famous for, small round freshly baked bread is also one of the good memories this restaurant leaves for any kind of visitor. The chickens and quales are grilled by the entrance, so you cannot miss the vast barbeques on your way in or out. Andrea is a vast outdoor restaurant that also has an indoor area. The food has been traditionally served for the past four decades without ever missing a beat. So the food quality is constant. It is a casual place open for lunch as well as throughout the day until dinner. It also serves wine and beer. It has not home delivery and no other branches in Cairo though there are a few other places named Andrea that have nothing to do with this genuine and original location. It has only one branch on the Mediterranean coast at the gate of a famous compound named Hacienda, but you do not need to enter the compound to enter the restaurant that has a street entrance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliAwadi, Owner at Andrea El Mariouteya, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We appreciate such an amazing review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Over the years I've eaten at Andreas restaurant many times. They are consistently excellent in what they do best--chicken. The chicken is always crisp and juicy. And the bread is to die for, made on the spot. Their baba ganoug is the best in Cairo and the tahina is loaded with garlic, just the way we like it. All the side dishes (grape leaves, liver, meatballs, everything!) is beyond reproach.

The service is top notch and English is spoken by everyone. My visit to Egypt is not complete without a meal at Andreas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“"A must visit in Cairo, for me it brings back all the childhood memories"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Whether you are a tourist or a resident you have to go to Andrea, it's one of the oldest restaurants in Cairo. It serve mainly grilled food however there are also have vegetarian options.
Mainly Egyptian plates like the vine leaves, sambousak, and very nice fries. There bread is freshly baked by the entrance of the restaurant. The whole atmosphere brings old memories as I used to go with my family when I was a kid, the atmosphere is still the same; same tables cloth colour, same chairs and same waiters uniform besides food is delicious as it always used to be. It's a perfect place for families, open air and there is a small playing area and a donkey that take the kids for small rounds! I recommend the grilled boneless chicken, chicken liver, sambousak and vine leaves above all the bread which is amazing.
If you are going after sunset I strongly suggest taking a jacket as it gets v cold and any anti Mosquitos cream or spray, there is a v good spray that you can get from the pharmacy called OFF. Mosquitos turn wild after sunset!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Walking up to the entrance, the smell of BBQ makes your mouth start to water. You know it's going to be good. Next, the ladies baking the traditional bread and showing how it's done makes you want to sit down and dig right in. But that's not how it's done. Our group of 7 was given a table off to the side, in the sun, and the atmosphere was peaceful and leisurely. Our starters came, which would have been enough of a meal for me, but then the chicken was served. And it was awesome. And a large serving. It was a relaxing meal after a long morning of visiting some of Cairo's most incredible sites.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrea El Mariouteya also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate

Been to Andrea El Mariouteya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrea El Mariouteya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.