We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GENERALLY VERY SATISFIED.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City View Hotel

Save Saved
You added City View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 El Bostan St. Downtown, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 131 hotels in Cairo
ATHENS GREECE
1 review
“GENERALLY VERY SATISFIED.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My friends and I are very much satisfied by this hotel.Price and value are in good connection.
The rooms, the toilets ,the beds were very clean.The staff was very very friendly, the breakfast was very good concerning the daily price of the room.We also felt very safe, and the location of the hotel was marvelous, just in the heart of the city. It was also convenient to pick us up from the airport.
I would only like to advise the management to take care a little more the cleanness of the door and stairs of the building ( the hotel is in the 5th floor ) as well its decoration which is old fashioned.The dinning room has also to change a bit, in order this hotel to be perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    85
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
76
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a great price for what service they give. Very clean throughout the hotel especially the rooms. There is air con and they have newish bathrooms. breakfast was always served with a smile and the layout was great. It's got a good location with public transport very close by.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly, the food great and the room extremely clean. If you do not mind squeezing into a small room, you will be more than compensated by the extremely low price and location right across the Metro subway and Museum of Antiquity.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with someone, you can get a room with a balcony overlooking historic Tahrir Sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

From when Marco and driver picked us up from airport at 3am until we left (6 days spread over 3 weeks) the service was as good as we had in 6 months in Africa. Salam and Tiger organized some tours for us which worked pretty well. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We could also get a beer here which was difficult in some areas.There were some riots in Tahir Square while we were there but more of a sight than a hindrance. Just dont go walking in that direction.
Rooms were comfortable and roomy. Good shopping and restaurants just around the corner

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was a really quaint little place on the 5th floor. Staff very friendly. Neat , clean near Taahir Square. Love the breakfast , everyone very accommodative , allowing us to have our dinner in their dinning area (every night).The only thing we had to get use to was all the tipping! But overall we had a fantastic time. We were seven and two rooms as the kids , myself and my husband shared , it was an experience. The Rykliff's , South Africa .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

big rooms, bath, fridge, breakfast really good with tasty coffee :) staff are SO nice and helpful. we arrived from a bad experience after a train derailed and we were stuck somwhere the whole day so arrived in a bad mood and the staff offered us drinks and were so sweet haha. nice evening views of the museum

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stay here if you want the 'true' Cairo experience. Egyptian standards of 'clean' and 'quiet' differ greatly from Western expectations.

This hotel is actually one floor of a very old building that overlooks Tahrir Square. All rooms are off the reception area, and because of that, it's impossible to leave your room without staff asking what you are doing, where you are going, etc. There were men (who I don't think were employees) hanging around the reception area all day; as a female traveller this was a bit unnerving.

That said, staff were nice and very helpful. Of course they will try to sell you tours etc., but they definitely aren't as forceful as most Egyptians.

Room Tip: Ask for one as far away from reception as possible!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Hotel

Address: 1 El Bostan St. Downtown, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City View Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City View Hotel is located in the heart of the City within walking distance to the marvelous Egyptian Museum and the hotel offers its hospitality to both business and vacation ravelers for our facilities and services have been designed to meet the expectations of our discerning guest. City View Hotel is located in Tahrir Square (Revolution Square) exactly in the shadow of the magnificent Egyptian Museum and it offers you a complete range of services that will help make your stay a pleasant and memorable one. The unique location of City View Hotel is helping you to find easily a variety of restaurants, banks, embassies and metro are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your City View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.