We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real 5 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heliopolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Heliopolis to your Saves list
Fairmont Heliopolis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Uruba, Heliopolis, Cairo 2466, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 132 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A real 5 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

One of the best hotel rooms I have ever seen; extremely spacious, clean, modern and comfortable. The bathroom is huge with a very modern shower unit.
The hotel offers a lot of different cuisines: asian, oriental, italian.........
It is very close to the airport (5 mins driving; shuttle bus is offered for free); however a bit too far for touristic purposes. So a ride to the museum, pyramids etc will take you around 45 mins (average traffic). One of Egypt's biggest shopping malls (City stars) is 10-15 minutes away.
Definitely a good choice.

Room Tip: There are 2 hotels at the same location (which I believe belong together): Fairmont & Sheraton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the above kind words. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you liked our comfortable, spacious rooms and modern bathrooms. At Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers we always aim to turn our guests moments into memories. Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards.
Yara Atlam
Internet Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    135
    59
    23
    21
See reviews for
41
60
33
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Fairmont is a very nice hotel with nice rooms. It is near to Cairo Airport, so stay there if you are traveling early morning as it takes less than 5 minutes to reach the airport.
Restaurants and food are great. Service is outstanding. There are two hotels so make sure you chose the most suitable for you. One is very modern and new, the other a bot older. Prices are different and both share same restaurants and facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my Mum - when booking, I wasn't sure which one to go for Fairmont Heliopolis or Fairmont Twin Towers, but on arrival I understood I had made the right choice. Both hotel (Heliopolis and Twin Towers) are linked, but Heliopolis has a much better infrastructure in the bit that relates to it. That is particularly relevant in relation to the patio garden, the gym and the open air pool.

Overall, the hotel is like a separate world with some 10+ restaurants of various cuisines it has in the lobby. It is located in what is considered to be a posh local area in which the former president had a residence. There is a lovely shopping mall not far from the hotel and you can get there by a free shuttle bus.

Unless I stay in the Ritz or the Four Seasons next time I'm in Cairo, I will be going to Fairmont Heliopolis again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
On behalf of Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers, I would like to thank you for the above kind words. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. At Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers we always aim to turn our guests' moments into memories.

Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards.
Yara Atlam
Internet Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having stayed several times at the Fairmont Nile Towers in Cairo I had hoped that the Fairmont Heliopolis would be of a similar standard in quality and service. Unfortunately this is a far cry and in comparison disappointing. The hotel is great if you want to make a no-fuss short stay close to the airport but don't expect the most modern facilities. The rooms are nice but smallish and clearly have a jaded feel from the worn out carpeting. The property itself used to be the old Sheraton. Rooms were very cold and we had to ask for portable heaters. The room key wouldn't work upon check-in and had to make 2+ tips up and down to fetch new keys. The breakfast buffet spread is not bad as are the number of restaurants on site and this makes up somewhat for the below average room experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Everytime I've stayed at the fairmont it's been an enjoyable stay,
Very comfortable rooms on both sides of the hotel, Great pool area, great room service.
It's in an ideal location, near the airport and near Heliopolis ends.
Also has a luxury feel at reasonable prices.

The only negative is that sometimes the overnight staff on reception can get a bit grumpy by the morning - but who wouldn't!

Great wedding venue.

Room Tip: I preferred staying in the new buiding (towers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
On behalf of Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers, I would like to thank you for the above kind words. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you liked our comfortable rooms and services. At Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers we always aim to turn our guests moments into memories.

Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards.
Yara Atlam
Internet Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I bring tourists to Egypt from North America for a living. Fairmont has never disappointed, and they have always treated our guests with respect and kindness. Hotel is lovely and bright and clean with some beautiful middle-Eastern touches that make it charming. All if my passengers have been more than impressed with the hotel. We come back year after year, and will be back again in February and March 2013. See you soon...

Room Tip: Ground rooms with patio are wonderful. Also, one bedroom suites are pretty hard to beat as well. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

On my own this time and a single check in seems to work. They found my booking, checked me in and even remembered me. What a change from the normal mess at reception!
Rest of the hotel is still excellent with a great Lebanese meal and a mid-morning visit to the patisserie where the staff were superb, they seemed sorry to see me go.
Not impressed with wifi but its workable. Bedroom if a little dark (5th floor).
Pricey but good. Too far away from station or attractions but great for airport.

Room Tip: Don't overlook pool on lower floors as some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for writing your valuable review. We are delighted to learn you liked our Lebanese restaurant Al Dabke, staff and quality of service. We understand your comment regarding the distance from attractions; hence, in an effort to enhance the experience of all our guests, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus daily to down town Cairo.

Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards.
Yara Atlam
Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heliopolis

Address: Al Uruba, Heliopolis, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cairo
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 588
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Fairmont Hotel Heliopolis
Fairmont Hotel Cairo
Cairo Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heliopolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.