We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heliopolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Heliopolis to your Saves list
Fairmont Heliopolis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Uruba, Heliopolis, Cairo 2466, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great service, but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great service, but too expensive coffee shops and restaurants for the quality of food served. Had dessert at " Le Marche' " was terrible, not worth the money. Had 2 Turkish coffee and a small bottled water and paid 100 EP?? Would have preferred to have Starbucks instead

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    143
    65
    25
    22
See reviews for
46
62
34
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reutlingen, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Quick and efficient check-in service, staff is attentive and polite. Only annoying issue is that smoking is still allowed in public restaurants, particular during breakfast time very uncomfortable and unpleasant. Also smoking and non-smoking area is allocated there is no seperation between the designated areas und you are sitting close to guests who are smoking.
Carpet in corridor to rooms is in brown colour and was during my stay always dirty. Room and bathroom are a very good size, the only problem was the lack of light in the room as I needed to work and the desk light was too dim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

AVOID - if you like a good night's sleep, and actually are a businessman with tight schedules and meetings etc and need a good night's sleep, dont even try thus and its sister hotel the Towers - all they care about these days is the huge profits they make out of the wedding banquets - the pool side music is loud, ingratiating and no one will do anything about it if you complain - and oh the wifi sucks ... breaks all the time ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Kindly be informed that we have a new hotel policy and we no longer allow wedding parties by the pool side. For the time being, we only host the wedding parties that we were committed to before the policy was made. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that have happened


Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards.
Yara Atlam
Internet Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I can not rate this hotel high enough.
The beds and pillows are like sleeping on clouds and the rooms are spacious, even for sharing.
There are plenty of resturants and bars and the food and service is wonderful.
It is close to the airport with a free shuttle leaving every hour.
It is a bit of a ways from the attractions but most tour companies will pick you up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
On behalf of Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers, I would like to thank you for the above kind words. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you liked our spacious rooms and cuisines.

We understand your comment regarding traffic to down town; hence, in an effort to enhance the experience of all our guests, the hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle bus daily to down town Cairo.

Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards.
Yara Atlam
Internet Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile



I stayed 5 nights in october at fairmont heliopolis after experiencing issues at fairmont towers. The difference between the two hotels is that at fairmont heliopolis you can sense the family atmosphere and the simplicity its a very modest nice family oriented hotel and its cheaper than fairmont tower. The issue i faced here is he housekeeping, i found my room still not cleaned two three times though i complained, my complaint was answered at first followed by complimentary but later on the same mistake happened so i had to complain again and truly i was fed up even after i was showered with complimentary . I salut Wael from the front desk for his good sweet spirit and Ossama the supervisor from the morning buffet restaurant they both try their best to make the guests feel special and hsppy during their stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just ok, but very far from all attractions. Only good if you need to be close to the airport or on a conference around that area... takes a long time to go to the city and taxis are NOT CHEAP from the hotel

Room Tip: go to the towers if you NEED to go there... food is very expensive and overall experience is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We understand your comment regarding the cost, the traffic and the time it takes to get to down town; hence, in an effort to enhance the experience of all our guests, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus daily to down town Cairo.

Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards.
Yara Atlam
Assistant Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Avoid this Hotel, they are very rude
We have stayed 5 nights in this Hotel, this is one place you should avoid.
-First trouble, the security personal inspect your bags at the door every time you want to come in, they search for food and beverage.  
The Hotel manager tries to implement his own unwritten policy "No food & beverage from outside the Hotel" we wasted a lot of time trying to ask to show us where this policy was written. The staff and their manager were very unhelpful and rude. There are many high quality cheaper restaurants outside the Hotel but you are not allowed to order from them. The manager wants us to eat the food we ordered in the street in front of the Hotel. It seems to me the manager is paid by the internal restaurants to implement his own rules, I wouldn't be surprised if this was corruption...
-Second trouble, Before we arrive, we made the reservation on 2 separate ones, the hotel staff were very confused, we had to check-in / check-out 3 times during our stay, they even deactivated our keys. 

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review. We would like to inform you that “No food & beverage from outside the hotel” is definitely a hotel written policy and that our front office team is simply executing policy.
Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers is proud to provide 16 different outlets among which are diversified authentic cuisines that serve food and beverages of very high standards. In addition to the outlets, the hotel also introduced a new fast food style menu for in room dining that includes high quality cheaper items.

We do apologize for any inconvenience that has occurred and we look forward to welcoming you soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Regards,
Yara Atlam
Assistant Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heliopolis

Address: Al Uruba, Heliopolis, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cairo
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 588
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Fairmont Hotel Heliopolis
Fairmont Hotel Cairo
Cairo Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heliopolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.