We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Cairo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Heliopolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Heliopolis to your Saves list
Fairmont Heliopolis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Uruba, Heliopolis, Cairo 2466, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Newburyport, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Cairo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We were supposed to be staying in a different hotel in downtown Cairo, but our tour company moved us due to the demonstrations in Tahrir Square. We were very pleased with the accomidations here. Room was large and comfortable. There is a great selection of restaurants - 6 of them! We ate at several of them and found the food to be very goosd. We had a chance to use the spa and enjoyed the sauna and steam room. The service and personnel were great - I had a problem with an ATM machine retaining my debit card, and the Manager was very helpful in resolving the issue. The only issue we had is that we found the room temperatures were too cold, and the heat/AC was impossible to figure out. The location is great if you want to be near the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    129
    55
    21
    18
See reviews for
36
56
30
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed during day 3 of the revolution in January. The main advantage was the close location to the airport. This was not selected by our tour initially. We were very pleased to be at such a beautiful hotel. Our rooms were large and luxurious. It was a busy place with all the restaurants open. That did change but it was the circumstances. I think we were in the newer part. If we ever return, this is a good selection for its amenities and location to the airport. As much as they were able, the people were trying to help us all, again circumstances were difficult for all of us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel for 10+ years as Sheraton. Other than a refurbished rooms and better restaurant selection, it seems the same. I did not stay at the Towers. Value of room was great at old hotel side. Check in and anything at the front desk always seems confusing and complicated, but very friendly at check in. Lebanese restaurant is always good, but if you want a quieter dinner or have business discussions, make sure you are not there for the music and belly dancer. Past visits have used the pool and gym, which are ok. Great location for in/out of airport. Free wifi a plus.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Director of E-business at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for posting the above valuable words. It is an honor to have you as a loyal guest for more than ten years. We are glad that you found the value of our rooms as great and liked our Lebanese restaurant and the free WIFI as well.

Regarding the confusing experience at the front desk, Please accept our apology for any inconvenience that have occurred. We would appreciate also your help in sending us more details at fairmont.heliopolis@fairmont.com. As this would assist us in identifying the room for improvement at our check in process and avoid reoccurrence of such experience for your good self and the rest of our valuable guests.

Looking forward to receiving your valuable reply and to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers, Cairo.

With sincere regards,
Mohamed Hussein
Director of E-business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

very comfortable and spacious hotel .good breakfast some work rebnovastions when we wrere there in mid october.

Room Tip: cloose to airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

This hotel was amazing! The food, service, rooms, location near the airport are all great. I haven't seen staff that understand customer service this well but a few times in my life.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were staying in the old section of the hotel - not the towers. The rooms were big and were very clean with a nice view overlooking the 2 hotel pools.

A lot of the restaurants in both this hotel and the towers next door were closed as we were told the hotel was only 35% full and was very quiet.

It was a good hotel especially if you want to be very close to the airport as it is only a few minutes drive from the airport. The downside of that is that it's a long way from Cairo city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Director of E-business at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post your valuable review. We are glad to know that you liked our rooms and enjoyed the pool view as well.

As for the operating restaurants, we are pleased to inform you that all our fifteen dining options are now ready to delight you with their authentic cuisines.

On behalf of all our colleagues, we look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers, Cairo soon.

Kind regards,
Mohamed Hussein
Director of E-business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just came back from this hotel where i have stayed for 2 days only. This is very nice place very close to the Cairo Internaitonal Airport. Nice and helpful stuff, big and wonderfull designed rooms.
I am not quite satisfied with the food in the restaurant (i tried Italian) but suppose it is better to order there only seafood.
If you can't find dental kit there - ask the receptionist, he will bring that for free.
The pool is not so big to be expected in such big hotel but there is more than enough sunbeds here and pool guys could are very nice

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heliopolis

Address: Al Uruba, Heliopolis, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cairo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 588
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Fairmont Hotel Heliopolis
Fairmont Hotel Cairo
Cairo Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Heliopolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.