We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo to your Saves list
Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Tesseen St, Fifth Settlement | New Cairo, Cairo 0000, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hotel just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We live in Cairo. We stayed at the Dusit Thani overnight after attending a ball held here. While the ballroom facility and set-up were great the overall hotel atmosphere was just okay. We had connecting rooms as our children stayed too. Both rooms were dusty and filled with mosquitoes. The room odor was musty. As a result, we did not feel like the rooms were clean. There were also no amenities (soap, shampoo, lotion, etc.). The pool area was nice and the breakfast buffet was too. The hotel advertises "lake view" and "spa" but there is no lake and the spa had been closed for several months when we were there. A lot of construction in a and around the hotel. The surrounding area is under development so not much is around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    117
    28
    21
    8
See reviews for
85
77
12
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is a lovely hotel but it is in a developing part of Cairo so the infrastructure around it is not there yet. It has a great setting but is not ideal for travelling around Cairo. If you are on a business trip with a driver at hand you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Spent 2 nights for work in the Hotel, enjoyed the stay very much, it will be a bit hard if you don't own a car, but you will have a good stay, excellent SPA, good food and very helpful staff, stay there if you have something to do in New Cairo Area.

Room Tip: "The underground floor balcony views are amazing" "Night is awesome in the balcony&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We only spent one night there but it was truly delighting. We already live in Cairo. However, we felt like we traveled for a couple of days, guess it is the unique ethnic (asian) vibes that is there in evey corner of the hotel.
We chose a Lakeview room, it was really cozy and the fact that they take care of every little single detail in the room made our experience even more special, starting from the luxurious bathtubs, the cleanliness, the candles, to the fruit basket and drink they offered to us as a welcome treat.

The most significant highlights of our experience were the effeciency and friendliness of the staff and of courese the GOOD FOOD!:)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I spent 4 nights in this hotel at a work function and have only 1 fault which seems to be reflected in many of the reviews. The internet connection is sporadic and could not be relied on. However, everything else is magnificent. Breakfast is fantastic, lunch equally so and the Thai restaurant is divine! Even the coffee shop bread and cakes are to die for - I did try using the gym to make up for all the overeating but gave up!! The rooms are really lovely - I had a balcony overlooking the pool and it was just fab. The setting is lovely and very relaxing - I hope I have the opportunity to go back some day!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have eaten in this restaurant twice recently on visits to Cairo and both times the service and food was absolutely lovely.
The hotel looks stunning inside but I have never had the pleasure of staying overnight as a guest.
The restaurant is very welcoming and the staff are all excellent. There is plenty of choice on the menu and each dish is beautifully presented.
Recently we had the great fortune of being offered a bottle of wine at half price, in the dining room! Obviously we took them up on the offer and it was delicious.
I think it is one of the best restaurants for Thai food in Cairo and would recommend anyone who is staying nearby to try it. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for.
On our way out we discovered the Dusit Thani has it's own bakery, so we bought some bread, breakfast pastries and macaroons. All were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have stayed at the Dusit Thani Lakeview Cairo during a business trip. I would recommend it because of the lovely setting, the cleanliness and the room - very spacious and with all the amenities. The restaurant didn't disappoint me and my colleagues.
The meeting room are very well equipped, a conductive environment for proper meetings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo

Address: El Tesseen St, Fifth Settlement | New Cairo, Cairo 0000, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#3 Family Hotel in Cairo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#12 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel features several dining options including an authentic Thai Restaurant - Ruen Thai , Tajine for Oriental Arabic cuisine and Branzino , all day dining restaurant offering International cuisine 24/7, guests also can enjoy freshly baked delights and home made chocolate at Dusit Gourmet open air patio while watching football, or they can indulge into a dazzling drink at Blue Rose lounge and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Lakeview Cairo Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.