We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia

Sequoia
53, Abou El Feda St., | Zamalek, Cairo 11211, Egypt
53, End of Abu El Feda St. Zamalek
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 3,908 Restaurants in Cairo
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My home from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Sequoia is on the island of Zamalek in the middle of the Nile.
The ambiance is amazing. Super friendly staff and great location....
The delicious food is Egyptian/ Lebanese and the pricing is reasonable.
This is by far my favorite spot in Egypt. Wether im on my own or with an entire foreign film crew I'm never disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    191
    55
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Aside from the picturesque location along the Nile, Sequoia and the adjacent bakery/cafe Left Bank are great places to hangout for residents and tourists alike.

I've been to this place several times, so they get extra points for consistency. The menu selection isn't huge but there's something for everyone and they do source some pretty fresh ingredients.

Its a very versatile space so you can have a business lunch or a laid back evening with friends.

And one last point: avoid the cheese platter!

Aside from that great place, and excellent staff, I hope they get the appreciation they deserve.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This restaurant is situated at the tip of Zemalek island and has a perfect location at the Nile shore. They serve different types of food from Arabic to continental and sushi. The service was good the first time I visited the place, however the last time I was there the waiter kept forgetting the orders twice. Still it is a very nice place for dinner in Cairo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Einbeck, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This resturant is an exeptional pleace ,the location,the decoration,the food,you will enjoy the most charming view on the nile

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“My favorite Nile view spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great food, Great Service. Best Shisha I had in a looong time! Oh, and waiters are super friendly! I am never going to stop going there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sequoia also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Sequoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.