We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a large Bedouin tent on the Nile.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia

Sequoia
53, Abou El Feda St., | Zamalek, Cairo 11211, Egypt
53, End of Abu El Feda St. Zamalek
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 3,346 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Like a large Bedouin tent on the Nile.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Wonderful fun venue because of the restaurant is shaped like a large tent, open-air, on the Nile River. I was with a large party of over 50 people. So my experience may be somewhat different than a casual diner. But there were many other large parties, as this seems like a great venue for group celebrations. Communicating in English was occasionally difficult. The food was very typical Egyptian fare, much like the food one might get seemingly everywhere else in the city. I don't think people go for the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    224
    63
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Well located and lively”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This restaurant is by the Nile. The food was very good but the service a bit slow. Lively, nice people and good food reasonably priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Sequoia's view is breath taking, specially at sunset time,the food is fair and the atmosphere is elegant, for a romantic dinner or celebrating a special occasion it's the place to go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
582 reviews 582 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“The trendy and fashionable place of zamalek district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

rendy and fashionable place where the hip middle class come to enjoy in luxury. Located in the posh zamalek neighborhood on the West Bank of the Nile, this is a place to splurge. Very tasty mix of western and Egyptian cuisine, as well as a sushi bar (fitting the latest trend). Minimum of £150 per table but expect to spend closer to £150/person here at a minimum while enjoying cocktails and shisha with the beautiful people of Cairo

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Food, Bizarre Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was looking forward to visiting Sequoia on my recent trip to Cairo. Unfortunately, we visited on a chilly evening, so maybe it was in our favor that we were seated far from the water - the ambiance was still lovely. As for the food, our shared mezzes were decent, but the bread served with them was amazing. For our main course, one of our party took advantage of the neighboring sushi option, another had pizza, while I had the shish tawook - it was nicely marinated and the portion was generous.

However, our lasting impression of the evening was of our waiter. First, he walked off in the middle of receiving our order. Next, when we inquired about the sangria, he tried to convince us that we should order a small carafe rather than a large for three people. One of our party had to pull out her limited Arabic to convince him that, no, we wanted the large. (This proved to be wise when the large carafe equaled about six small glasses.) When the sangria arrived, he had us taste it as you would a bottle of wine, which was a little weird, but wouldn't have been memorable on its own. The sangria was very tart and limey, but drinkable.

Finally, toward the end of the meal our waiter asked if we had phones on us and insisted we pull them out and write a tripadvisor review then and there. When told our phones were not internet-equipped, he handed one of our party a comment card, and came back not once, not twice, but three times in the span of five minutes to ask for it. She ended up handing it straight to the manager, probably not with the type of review he had hoped for.

Perhaps our waiter was new and nervous, or maybe he was trying to please his manager, but it's the experience I'll remember from Sequoia rather than the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoiaonline, Public Relations Manager at Sequoia, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for visiting Sequoia and for taking the time to share you experience. We are always looking for our guests' feedback in order to constantly enhance our service. We're sorry to hear that your experience wasn't perfect. If you would be so kind as to share your views on how we could have made it better for you, we'd really appreciate it. Please feel free to email us or respond here.

Thank you,

Sequoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sequoia also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Sequoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.