We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feral cat infested.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Australian Hostel

Save Saved
You added The Australian Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Australian Hostel
23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat St,, Cairo 11111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Feral cat infested.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Bring your own toilet tissue. Free breakfast is advertised on the website but never ever served.

Day shift manager is glued to video games and TV. Night shift remains sound asleep on lounge sofa.

Lounge's video games or Egyptian disco or Arabic TV or all simultaneously audible 24/7 on other side of bedroom wall. Allah help you when the footie's on -- a two-hour drone!

Temperature frigid (5 degrees celsius), but no heaters provided. Blankets are adequate, but pillows hard.

Limited hot water in showers.

Existing management and staff have yet to grasp the concept of hospitality.

Mosque is next door in an alley three floors below -- amplified howls to prayer pierce windows five times daily. During Friday's amplified sermon, be sure to be somewhere over the horizon.

The elevator to the 3rd floor actually functions sometimes and is itself a dark dungeon -- as is the filthy stairwell. Heck, the entire building is a firetrap.

Feral cats roam the building and are apt to enter your bedroom if the door is ajar.

Kept nicely clean daily by two women who ought to give their lazy male co-workers a kick upside their heads.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
12
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The location was pretty good. the staff was good...but this placve has NOTHING to do with AUSTRALIA...
they claim that the owner is in Australia, but the owner is Ahmed.
Also they should take care as not every one tells them they can speak Arabic. Some of the things they were saying was not polite at all.
The beds are ok. the bathrooms need a pit of work. The smoking everywhere is horrid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PP
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for about a week. This is a small hostel in Downtown. There is one room with an ensuite bath and the other rooms have a shared bath. I had little interaction with the staff and have not comment about them. There is a kitchen with a hot water kettle. It is useful to make coffee. The price was very affordable at just over $10 a day for a shared bath room. My room had a balcony which was nice. There was never a line to use the bathroom. However, the place ran out of toilet paper at some point. As long as you time your movements with your daily shower that shouldn't be a problem.

A British fellow in Egypt asked me if I was proud of the United States. As an American, the following is what I am most proud of:

In 1956 J. Edgar Hoover was becoming increasingly frustrated by Supreme Court decisions that limited the Justice Department's ability to prosecute people for their political opinions. Some of his aides reported that he purposely exaggerated the threat of communism to "ensure financial and public support for the FBI." At this time he formalized a covert "dirty tricks" program under the name COINTELPRO.

This program remained in place until it was revealed to the public in 1971, after the theft of many internal documents stolen from an office in Media, Pennsylvania, and was the cause of some of the harshest criticism of Hoover and the FBI. COINTELPRO was first used to disrupt the Communist Party, where Hoover went after targets that ranged from suspected everyday spies to larger celebrity figures such as Charlie Chaplin who were seen as spreading Communist Party propaganda,[34] and later organizations such as the Black Panther Party, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Southern Christian Leadership Conference and others. Its methods included infiltration, burglaries, illegal wiretaps, planting forged documents and spreading false rumors about key members of target organizations.[35] Some authors have charged that COINTELPRO methods also included inciting violence and arranging murders.[36] In 1975 the activities of COINTELPRO were investigated by the United States Senate Select Committee to Study Governmental Operations with Respect to Intelligence Activities, called the Church Committee after its chairman, Senator Frank Church (D-Idaho), and these activities were declared illegal and contrary to the Constitution.[

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Staff were great, location was good and my own room was fine. The bathrooms were cleaned regularly and Wifi worked. They organised several trips for me which was great and definitely a must in Egypt, makes things sooo much easier. I would be put on a bus or train and met at the other end. Use them to buy your tickets otherwise they will be 'sold out'!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I liked it's place the most .. Near everything in Cairo .. The rooms are clean the bathroom too .. Have plenty of restaurants near by so don't ask for meals just a place to stay .. There is WIFI and TV .. i watched Chelsea vs. Man Utd there .. Have three rooms, one with a bathroom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My fiance' and I stayed at this accommodation for 4 nights and frankly that was enough. We had planned on staying there 1 month, but were bitterly disappointed with what we found. It did not start off very well with the pickup from the airport with the driver (a taxi procured by the hostel) driving away from the airport with no lights on at 03:30hrs and driving down the road like a Formula 1 racing driver. The stair-well upto the Hostel from the road is disgustingly dirty and would be condemned in a Western City. The lift would get stuck on floor 3 and would not open, meaning having to go upto level 4 and walk down, but a stuck lift in such a location is a serious worry. Upon arrival at the hostel itself, despite having booked in advance, we found the night receptionist asleep on the cushions in the lounge area. Then having woken him up, we had to wait for around 20 minutes whilst he found sheets etc to make the bed.
When we got up around 09:30hrs, we had to wait until around 11:00hrs to get breakfast and that was a disappointment. The air-con in the room would not drop below 25 deg c, so that was a waist of time. At night the night receptionist would have the television on in the lounge blasting out most of the night.
When we went to pay for a few days, the staff tried to hit us for $2.00 per person per night over what we were due to pay so we demanded to see the owner. The owner admitted the charge we had been asked to pay was wrong and remedied the sum due to his credit. We had booked the next day to go to Giza to see the pyramids and the owner had assured us that our breakfast would be ready at 08:00hrs for us to leave at 08:30hrs. You guessed it, the breakfast was not ready and were told that the driver who was taking us to Giza would get food for us on route. This did NOT happen. When we returned to the hostel around lunch-time, my fiance' quizzed the male receptionist as to why the driver had not gotten us food and she was dismissed by the receptionist in a very UN-friendly way because she is a female which I over-heard and took to be very sexist. I then challenged the receptionist myself and he was far more accommodating towards me as a male. 10 minutes later, we were given 1 fried egg between the two of us and 2 hot dog rolls between the two of us.
The night receptionist would be found asleep on the floor every morning and with the current unrest in Cairo, this was very concerning that anything could happen in the night and guests could be in grave danger asleep totally UN-aware anything was wrong.
This hostel moots itself on the Australian branding, Australian hospitality across the world in very good, but this hostel is a million miles away from being anything Australian.
My advice, don't stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you wanna crash for a day or two at the downtown in Cairo, this is the place.. Close to Tahir squire, bus station (if you wanna go to the airport), metro and surrounded by amazing food joints..I spent close to 5 days here while I was exploring Cairo and Giza

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Australian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Hostel

Address: 23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat St,, Cairo 11111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Australian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Australian Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.