We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, service and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Australian Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Australian Hostel to your Saves list
The Australian Hostel
23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat St,, Cairo 11111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good location, service and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed two nights during June 2013 either side of travel to Luxor. Paid EGP100 total per night for two people in a double room with two beds, balcony and air-conditioning. Breakfast included. Bathrooms shared and towels not included. Excellent Wi-Fi available throughout the hostel. Staff can organise a taxi to and from Cairo Airport for EGP60 each way. Made a booking by email with the Hostel directly and paid in full on arrival. Nile cruises, Pyramid visits and other excursions in Cairo and around Egypt can be arranged at reception. Staff member Tamir was particularly helpful arranging travel to Luxor and took us to our train at Cairo Station. Location is good, with shops, restaurants and cash machines nearby. Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum are a 10-15 minute walk, Khan El-Khalili Market a 25-minute walk, Giza Pyramids a 25-minute drive and Coptic Cairo a 15-minute drive. El Horreya Café and Bar is also within walking distance, serving cold Stella Beer for EGP10. Recommended as a good budget option and I would stay at the Australian Hostel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Hostel away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
15
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I loved this hostel! For both the service they provided as for the fact that in the middle of the crazy city of Cairo I did get some peace. Stuff super friendly but not pushy, decent and well behaved. Room & bathroom very clean. I really felt comfy in there. And I am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are two girls travelling around Africa and found this hostel to be the best ever! The rooms were big and clean, plus the common area was a cool place to hang out. We felt really safe and welcome there and honestly could not have asked for a better place to stay. The staff were cool and helpful and organised tours around Cairo and to the Oasis for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great little hostel in downtown. Couldn't ask for better location or more helpful staff. Rooms and bathroom were very clean. I was travelling with my wife, and we went on the tours that the hostel organized for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

One of the cleanest and most comfortable hostels I have ever stayed in, more like a hotel with a common area and computer. Our bathroom was clean, and the "hot water" was actually hot (not always the case at hostels advertising hot water)! The staff were very friendly. They were happy to give us travel information and kept bringing us tea :) At night, we enjoyed sitting in the common room watching TV and socializing with the staff and other travelers. There was a small kitchen that we were able to cook food in. The breakfast consisted of a falafel pita and a foul (Egyptian bean dish) pita; both were good. Having stayed for 4 nights in a private room, we got a free ride to and from the pyramids, which was very convenient

Room Tip: our room was 305.it was one of the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I escaped from 2 other AWFUL hostels where I was sexually harassed and verbally abused as a solo female traveller...and the Australian Hostel was like the one safe place for me in all of Cairo.

So the dorm room is long and beds are in lines, but I liked it after being in other hostels where I had male hostel workers trying to get into my private rooms in the middle of the night.
Everything was clean, not pushy and not sleazy and no alcohol meant no noisy neighbours.

The reception organised a trip to Alexandria with a couple of other visitors for a fair price.

Women, this is the kind of place you want to be at in Cairo.

Room Tip: Dorm room is a little cramped but is endearing. Safe and comfortable. Didn't get look at privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire, Dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at the Australian Hostel with a friend as part of a first visit to Egypt. The hostel is located in downtown Cairo about a 10 minute walk from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian museum.

The hostel is occupies the 3rd floor of a 19th century building. As with many buildings in Egypt elements could do with refurbishment, however the hostel itself has been refurbished to a high standard with, thick walls, high ceilings, interesting plasterwork and simple yet tasteful decoration.

We arrived in Cairo in the middle of the night, Ehab from the hostel kindly arranged a transfer by private driver for 60LE. Check-in was efficient and the reception area is clean and offers free wi-fi.

Our twin room had a view of a side street, there wasn’t a great deal to look at, but it was very quiet. The room itself as perfect for a short stay, clean, cool (with /ac) and quiet (for Eqypt).

The staff arranged a private driver for a tour of Saqqara (the Step pyramid), Dahshur (the Red pyramid) and Giza for 180LE per person, excluding entrance fees. The driver Muhammad was very knowledgeable, providing advice on fair amounts for tips and incidentals. He also brought us on the obligatory trip to a papyrus and perfume centre. To be fair both were interesting, but be aware one can purchase similar items at a local souq for slightly less (depending on your haggling skills!)

Breakfast at the hostel was basic and sufficient. There’s a small store opposite the hostel on Tharwat St which sells basics (water, bread etc) at fair prices. The hostel is also well situated for a McDonalds and the local takeout Gad. Like almost all smaller establishments in Egypt they don’t sell alcohol, however for those seeking ‘refreshments’ there’s a store called “Drinkies” a short walk away.

Would certainly recommend the hostel to any visitors to Egypt, it provides good value, with friendly staff (who aren’t at all pushy) and is a perfect base in central Cairo.

Room Tip: Ask for a side street, they are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Australian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Hostel

Address: 23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat St,, Cairo 11111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cairo city centre, this budget hostel is a 10-minute walk from the Egyptian Museum. It has a 24-hour front desk, communal room and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at The Australian Hostel have air conditioning, a tea/coffee maker and a private or shared bathroom. Some rooms have a balcony. Guests can enjoy an Egyptian or continental breakfast in the mornings. The Australian's communal kitchen allows guests to cook their own meals. The oriental-style communal room equipped with comfortable couches and a coffee table is a nice place to meet other travelers. The Australian Hostel's staff can help arrange tours of Cairo city centre, local museums and the Pyramids. They also provide maps and sightseeing brochures. The Australian is a 15-minute walk from the Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Australian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Australian Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.