We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice restaurant in Zamalek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abou el-Sid

Abou el-Sid
26 July St., Cairo 1111, Egypt
+20227359640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 3,909 Restaurants in Cairo
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice restaurant in Zamalek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

pleasant, nice decor, varied menu. we got rabbit and stuffed pigeon along with some of the standards and it was all good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    156
    148
    47
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The restaurant is tucked away down a small street and there is no big signage out the front, so you need to keep a look out for the big doors.

The atmosphere inside this place is great. You feel like you are in the middle east - dim lighting, smokey ambiance, low ceilings, very decorative, and the smell of shisha lingering in the air.

Food was pleasant, and not too pricey. A fair variety but lots of vegetarian options.

The staff don't seem to speak a lot of English, so I probably wouldn't be trying to change up what's on their menu too much.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty - and smokey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Loved the restaurant, like something out of the movie Casablanca. There is a lot of sheesha smoking, so be prepared for a thin cloud of smokiness. Food was great, surrounding even better. Order lots of small stuff and spin the table tray to share it around

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Genuine Egyptain Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I really do not like to eat typical egyptian food outside my home, but i have tried this restaurant more than once and i loved it, the portions are good, with a nice old vintage atmosphere with old music playing, and prices are a bit pricy for food, but the quality is worth the money, i loved the hot sausages, the Okra with meat and the molokhia, and all appetizers are appealing, it's a nice place to dine for a taste of Egyptian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in an interesting part of Cairo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to this restaurant for a business dinner and we sat outside. We had a lovely evening with some great starters (mixed mezze) and then some interesting main meals - I had messaka - an Egyptian version of mousakka - lovely - other had lamb tagine and various other Egyptian delicacies. highly reccomend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abou el-Sid also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Abou el-Sid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abou el-Sid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.