We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of a "Have to do"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fishawi's Coffeehouse

Fishawi's Coffeehouse
Midan Hussein, Cairo, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 3,910 restaurants in Cairo
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Austin TX
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Kind of a "Have to do"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The coffee house is packed and busy. The servers are very good at making room, they will move tables and chairs/stools within seconds to form a new area for your group. It is maximizing the minimum space at the best. The decor looks old and authentic.

They offer coffees, teas, several local drinks and Shisha. Shisha was ok. The drinks were good. The local drinks were interesting to try out. One being hot spiced drink with chickpeas in it. In all, we all had a great time. It is more about the local experience.
Very few of the servers speak english, but they all make an effort to understand and serve you the best they can. One guy took me to their kitchen area in the back to show me the drinks they offer so that I can pick what I want. :)
The prices are of course all hiked up for the Tourist. It is still very inexpensive.

Not so good part: The roaming vendors trying to sell you stuff. I get it, it is a local market and thats how these places are. But the same vendor trying to sell you the same good every five minutes is annoying. The Servers would occasionally ask them not to bother the Customers, but that doesnt work much. Be prepared to be pestered. There is no way you can have a conversation at this place without being interrupted every other sentence you speak. Doesn't matter if you are sitting outside or inside, these sellers are all over the place.

Conclusion: Go to Fishawi to just sit and sip a drink and smoke a Shisha, forget about chatting at this place. If you like to be in the middle of the local culture and hustle bustle, this is a must visit place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    73
    54
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Its a place everyone tells you to go sit at in Cairo, you just gotta because its a really old coffee shop. You get a feel of how local people spend most their days however, since its in such a tourist hotspot you'll get bombarded by people trying to sell you crap you don't need for ridiculous prices. The tea is good, the shisha is beyond horrible though. Shisha is so much better than that, but because its such a hectic place the service is bad and shisha is all about the service. I don't know if they offer food, but if they did i would recommend not to order food because it just doesn't seem like the greatest atmosphere for food and I don't think it'd be clean.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just OK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

After reading so much about this place, I finally went to see what the hype was all about. Its an old run down coffeehouse in the middle of the historic market. Waiter were pleasant but service is slow. We kept being bombarded by street hawkers trying to sell us things and we said no, they got rude.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This you should do for the experience alone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Do you want friendly service? Spacious seating? The kind of clean quiet experience you are used to at home? If so, than Fishawy's is NOT the place for you. On the other hand, do you want to drink kerkady and smoke sheisha in the same seats where generations of Caireens have for decades? Do you want atmosphere that comes from being full of life rather than some faked up disney display? Then come to Fishawy's. Located in a small alley off the main drag in the Khan al Khalili you will have to walk through the seating areas of imitators to get there, keep focused and don't sit down until you see the sign. The seating area fills the alley and couches and small chairs are filled with customers clustered around tiny tables. If you are lucky you get to sit inside, but I really prefer to sit in the alley. The waiters are brusque and busy so do not dawdle over your order. Hucksters from the surrounding suq wander through the seating area hawking their wares. If you do not want to buy, don't look at the goods, if they see you look they will come back again and again. On the other hand, if you like a good haggle, its a comfortable place to do so.
Prices are high for a coffee house in Cairo, but are not terrible. Tourists outnumber locals, so if you are a hipster or a purist, you may want to go elsewhere, but if you can lay aside your pretensions, its well worth the trip. They don't mind if you bring in food so I often bring in Falafel from my favorite falafel place (and no I am NOT going to tell you where that is)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
“bad habit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

fishawi historically is great and the oldest cafe in cairo and decoration is amazing but bad service and rude waiters

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishawi's Coffeehouse also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Fishawi's Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishawi's Coffeehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.