We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun

Save Saved
You added Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Sunhwa-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-130, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 387 hotels in Seoul
Faisalabad, Pakistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our family (2 adults and 3 children) stayed at Ramada Hotel Namdaemun for about a month (July-August 2013). We were a little worried before coming to a new country with entirely different language and culture, but all of our concerns vanished once we entered this property. We booked a suite which consisted of a living room (with a bed), a separate bedroom (3-beds), a kitchen, washing machine and refrigerator. The cooking utensils and iron stand were also provided by the hotel on request.

There are 3 convenience stores within a minute distance from hotel from where you can buy your daily necessities. Seoul station is at 10-12 minute walking distance and there are a variety of restaurants and departmental stores around station. City hall and Hoehyeon subway station are also at 10-15 minute walk from here. Seosumun park is about 200 meters from hotel and there are various exercise machines and nice walking trails in this park.

The front desk and concierge were extremely helpful and always willing to respond the countless questions asked by our children. The best thing was that they provided us two mobile phones and we were connected always. Though outgoing call charges were high, but incoming calls are free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    194
    92
    19
    10
See reviews for
72
67
47
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane,New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

a large apartment but space poorly utilised-bed in one corner with no room on one side,only 1 chair in the room when room for several,chair old and shabby.Bathroom shower large but rest of space too small.
Good points:large frig/freezer,washer/drier and kitchen but no utensils.Comfortable bed but not king size as advertised.
Unit drab and badly needs redecorating as does the corridor on the 9th floor.Expensive for what was provided.Helpful front desk staff except that request for wake up call did not eventuate.Npt impressed by the a la carte menu on Sat. night when no buffet offered.

Room Tip: go for the hotel rooms-the apartments are shabby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The front desk staff we very friendly and they all spoke English.
The room was very large and there was more than enough storage space. This room had no washing machine or stove. The floors were warmed by a control on the wall. This feature, which I really liked, could be turned off if needed. The air worked well in the room. I had no problem with the warm/cold water in the shower. The Coffee Bean in the lobby was more expensive than the Starbucks a couple of doors down the street. Furthermore, I discovered a cozy bakery called the Bread Mill in the basement. One can see the baker kneading flour for the bread. They serve coffee, hot and cold drinks, sandwiches, and smoothies from fresh fruit. The hotel's location was about 7-10 minutes walk to Nandaemun, a shopping area. We also walked to the Seoul Station (10-15 minutes) where we got a the Seoul City Tour bus. The fare was $10US per adult for the day. This was a hop on and off operation where one can stop at a particular tourist sight and when finished, wait for the next bus to arrive. Taxis cost $7US to go to Dongdaemun, a shopping area. Myeongdong was also in close proximity to the hotel. The KAL airport limousine bus stops in front of this hotel and when ready for the return to the airport, tickets can be bought at the front desk. If you travel in July walk with rain gear. I will certainly stay at this hotel again since it was so easy to get around the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here last summer for a few days in July, then again in January, and again in February. I was met with a very courteous and welcoming check-in staff. We were greeted with a smile and a very nice king suite bedroom with a modern kitchen, furniture, a king bed and a full bed. The closets we're double closets for his and hers with hangers, shoe drawers and more. The bathroom was nicely acquainted with a full shower and a full jet bathtub. On top of that, the BEDS were so comfortable, triple layered with feather pillows and goose-down comforters.

The room was very comfortable and a/c was freezing cold! Perfect for the hot humid Korean summers. The lobby is very nice and I love that in the room we can bring the portable wifi everywhere we go (for an additional charge, but if you pay for internet, you can bring it everywhere anyways). You can also rent a cell phone that they have in the room as well and bring it around.

I got the suite at a very good rate and if you can a good deal, it is one of the best hotels I have every stayed in. It is a brand hotel, but the Namdaemun suites make it feel comfortable, and away from all the tourists at other hotels in Seoul such as the Lotte Hotel etc. I enjoy nice hotels in a good central location without the business and feeling like a tourist. This hotel is the epitome of what the Ramada brand should represent! I have stayed at many Ramada's but this one tops the charts in my opinion.

The location is nice and you can walk to City Hall from it with a plethora of free wifi along the way if you opted not pay for the portable one. It's a great walk in both directions surrounding the property. There is also a Starbucks, GS25, and a Chicken place right outside the hotel door and a Coffeebean in the lobby! The lobby bathrooms are also nicely designed and very clean. This hotel makes it very comfortable.

The staff also would help call taxis for me from the street, the cheaper ones and help me out. I also took the hotel taxi from Seoul to Incheon and they we're very nice and courteous.

I HIGHLY recommend it. I am definitely going to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hotel is near to Seoul station. Especially for those who want to take a train to other cities or to airport, this is convenient. It is near Myeongdong too. Especially good for those who like night shopping and going back to hotel late. We got upgraded to a suite when we checked in. So it is very nice of them.
Hotel lobby has Coffee and Tea cafe, only opens till evening and not 24 hours. But outside of the hotel, there are 2 convenient stores. As hotel is located near the office blocks, it gets busy when in the day. However, if you come out of the Seoul station, take Exit 1 and walk about 500 m and you can reach. If it rains, a taxi ride will cost less than 2700 Won. (Non Black taxi ) So for location: 4****.
room cleanliness and amenities : 4 **** (no bathtub ) but has 2 beds ( 1 super king size and 1 super single ); larger than average toilet. However, the washing basin is too shallow, water kept coming spilling out when washing hand. No floor mat for drying feet ( but does have an anti skip plastic map though); Rental of phone available per room. Wifi is free within room.
Large enough space for sofa and TV and placement of luggage. The shower tap which is square is a bit too fanciful, I think. It took me a while to read the instructions on how to turn it on and have warm water.
We asked for extension of check out and was given another hour grace.
As it is raining and we need to borrow umbrella. We need to place a deposit of 10,000 Won for each.
Overall : 34**** for this hotel for their upgrade and extension of check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Second stay. Convenient on bus line 2 from airport (75 minutes) drops to front door. Rooms are good size with washing machine and dryer. You have to ask for an iron. But overall a bit tired with cracks in basin, sheets with a tear in it. Bar on L24 closes at 1000 pm. Coffee Bean in lobby. But I would stay again. Convenient and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun

Address: 151 Sunhwa-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-130, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Seperate floor provided for long-term stay guests 2. High speed internet service, free Wifi 3. Seoul station, Myeong dong free shuttle bus 4. KAL Limo bus from/to Inchon International Airport 5. Room service, Mini Bar, Meeting Room available 6. Laundry& Drycleaning service 7. Pick Up & Sending service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Suites Seoul
Ramada Hotel Seoul
Ramada Seoul
Seoul Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.