We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a 5 day stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun to your Saves list
Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27, Chilpae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-130, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good for a 5 day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Walking distance to Namdaemun. Walking distance to Myeondon. Main shopping area.
Big room with good view. Washer and dryer in room, so you can do your washing.
WiFi in the lobby, right in front of Coffeea Bean. A few convenient stores around for the last minute stuff.

Walking distance to Seoul Station, 5-10mins. (Airport train)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveChoi82, 매니저 at Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you again for your valuable opinion, We will always develop ourselves Ramada Hotel and Suite Namdaemun.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    241
    123
    26
    18
See reviews for
101
91
65
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just stayed at the hotel from Dec 23-26. I made the booking directly with the hotel. I gave my credit card details & everything well in advance. Right before I set off for Korea, the hotel emailed me asking for my credit card again - expecting my response via email without which they couldn't guarantee my booking. Are they aware of the potential risks? I called the worldwide reservation hotline, everything confirmed again but they still couldn't promise everything would go to the destined hotel & asked me to call them directly! How easy is it to communicate with Koreans in English? ...... Anyway, I tried my luck & they did have a room for me when I checked in.
When I handed in my room key to check out, they were so efficient to debit my credit card (they did get my record) but didn't ask if I would like to settle the bill by credit card or cash - I was actually counting my money at the counter. This is my 6th trip to Seoul but 1st time staying at Ramada. It is located far out in the middle of a quiet area where there isn't any eateries. The food court in the basement only had 1 chinese restaurant still opened (at 9pm). The rest was deserted like a ghost town.
The shower has a curtain not running the full length to the floor (no door at all), so you can't possibly leave your bathroom not wet after a shower!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveChoi82, 매니저 at Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete review.
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 82 2 2119 8900.


Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My family of 2 adults & a 11-year-old child, booked 1 Double + 1 Single Bed room in September 2012 when they were having "Stay 3 nights 20% off the rates" promotion. We were staying 4 nights in room 1021 on 2 to 5 December 2012 and 2 nights in room 2506 (highest floor) on 9 & 10 December 2012. We paid 151008 won per night for the first 4 nights atnd 188760 won per night for the last 2 nights, rates inclusive of 21% taxes.

Enquiry and requests via emails were fast and efficient.

We took the KAL Limousine Bus (6702) outside door 11A at the arrival hall of Incheon Airport, paid the staff near the signage for one way tickets, adult fare was 15000 won & child up to 12-year-old was 10000won, travelled about 1 hour and alighted at the door of the hotel. Very convenient. Return tickets for adults can be purchased at the hotel reception counter but child ticket has to purchase from the driver.

Do note that the hotel doesn't provide porter service. We requested a luggage trolley as we were travelling with 3 other families so we had many large suitcases to push to the lobby & rooms.

But the hotel do provide luggage storage for the period we were out at the ski resort for 3 nights.

Check-in and check-out were pretty fast for my family. Staffs could speak and understand English.

Bedroom slippers, bath & hand towels, toilet paper & toiletries were provided but do bring your own toothbrush, toothpaste & shaver for man. Safe was inside the wardrobe.

No free wifi in the rooms, only available in the lobby. There was a handphone provided in the rooms but we didn't use it.

The hotel basement & surrounding have many small restuarants but majority of them didn't open on Sundays. 10 mins walk to Seoul Station where a mall & Lotte Mart are (taxi fare only 3200 won), 5 mins walk to Namdaemun & 10 to 15 mins walk to Myeong Dong depending which part(taxi fare less than 4000 won).

Though taxis were cheap & convenient but almost all the drivers didn't know where this hotel located even showed them the hotel's card. If possible, request the A4 size photocopy map from the concierge as majority of the older taxi drivers couldn't see too well when showed them the tiny hotel card.

Overall, i don't mind to stay here again but not during winter season, too cold to walk to majority of the places eventhough they were just nearby and especially with kids.

Room Tip: Level 1 to 13 or 14 have lifts on 2 sides of the hotel so during peak hours you don't have to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveChoi82, 매니저 at Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you again for your valuable opinion, We will always develop ourselves Ramada Hotel and Suite Namdaemun.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were having a hard time booking for hotels in Seoul last year as our trip was during a Japanese holiday. We just came across Ramada Hotel and Suites online and thought it was a fairly priced hotel. We booked an upgraded room with average expectations.

We were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room as it was a suite with two queen beds, a living room area and 2 baths.The room was well-equipped with a computer, 2 televisions and other amenities. The floor area is quite large and very clean since it's relatively new.

In terms of location, it is in the central business district. There is a food court and Starbucks nearby. It's relatively easy and safe to hail a cab at the lobby. However, if like us, you would prefer to take the train, it's a 10-minute walk to either of 2 train stations. To get to the nearest supermarket, one would need to pass by the underground walkway which is where some homeless senior Koreans stay. It may be quite tiring for kids or older travelers.

Overall, other than the walk to the station, we have no complaints. We will definitely return as long as we are not going with older travelers.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room. You may also request for bathrooms with either tubs or shower enclosures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveChoi82, 매니저 at Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you again for your valuable opinion, We will always develop ourselves Ramada Hotel and Suite Namdaemun.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

i had the pleasure of staying there this week for 2 nights when I was in Seoul on my business. Very nice and clean place. Good English speaking staff. The breakfast buffet was also good but had to pay extra for the breakfast as it was not included in the price of the room. Downside: Had to pay for the internet in the room it is not free.

Overall a good stay and not too sure if I will come again there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveChoi82, 매니저 at Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you again for your valuable opinion, We will always develop ourselves Ramada Hotel and Suite Namdaemun.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Ramada Hotel and Suites is located in a quiet corner of a bustling part of Seoul. It is convenient to Seoul Station and Namdaemoon Market. The rooms are fairly spacious and well equipped all lights, cooling and TV can be controlled from a single wireless controller. The wired internet in the room is blindingly fast and free Wi-fi is available in the lobby. The bed is comfortable and a simple morning breakfast is served on the 24 storey restuarant. Conveneint stres are located opposite and besides the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Sorely lacking is the shower compartment enclosure. The present set-up with a shower curtain and no other separation from the bathroom tend to permit water to flow all across the floor during shower. Also the location of the dining room on the top floor while giving very good views of the surround is poorly served by the tow elevator cars during the morning breakfast peak.

Room Tip: Get rooms below the 12 storey which are served by two sets of elevators. Rooms on the hight floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveChoi82, 매니저 at Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you again for your valuable opinion, We will always develop ourselves Ramada Hotel and Suite Namdaemun.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband, 6 year-old son and I stayed at this hotel because it was recommended as being cost friendly (We don't usually spend much time at the hotel other than for showering and sleeping) and close the Seoul Station/KTX Station. This was important as we enjoy using public transportation. The KTX (bullet train) arrives in Seoul Station and then you can walk to the hotel (or cab it if you have a lot of luggage; we travel in backpacks.) The remainder of the 4 days we could walk to various subway/metro stations (an bus if we wanted). The hotel will also call you a "foreigner only" cab. They speak English and will give you a card. The hotel will give you a card also so you can always get back to the hotel. The hotel also has a basement with food courts, coffee shops, convenient stores and parking. It has a spa and fitness center. There is a buffet with all you can drink wine/beer on the 25th floor also. We were upgraded to a suite for free. It had a king bed, twin for our son, TV, desk with computer, small fridge, water cooker, shower, closet, etc. The only drawback was the lack of wifi. You had to pay 18,000 won for internet in your room that was not wifi. The lobby has wifi for free tho. The price was right, the location was right, the amenities were almost right. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveChoi82, 매니저 at Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you again for your valuable opinion, We will always develop ourselves Ramada Hotel and Suite Namdaemun.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun

Address: 27, Chilpae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-130, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Seperate floor provided for long-term stay guests 2. High speed internet service, free Wifi 3. Seoul station, Myeong dong free shuttle bus 4. KAL Limo bus from/to Inchon International Airport 5. Room service, Mini Bar, Meeting Room available 6. Laundry& Drycleaning service 7. Pick Up & Sending service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Suites Seoul
Ramada Hotel Seoul
Ramada Seoul
Seoul Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hotel and Suites Seoul Namdaemun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.