We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding service, excellent for biz travelers & expat families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre

Save Saved
You added Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Yeoui-daero, Yeongdeungpo-Gu, Seoul 150-881, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 390 hotels in Seoul
Penang
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“outstanding service, excellent for biz travelers & expat families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

2 words: SIMPLY AMAZING. This was my 1st trip to Seoul, and the MEA (Marriott Exec Apts) performed 5/5. No major issues during my week-long stay. I was very impressed, and left me longing, almost wishing I could stay longer!

PROS:
- great location for biz travelers, in the heart of the Yeoido biz district.
- very near the Yeoido line 5 subway. Subway gets you anywhere and everywhere. From Yeoido station, it'll just take you 40mins/8 stops to get to the heart of Seoul city.
- AMAZING staff... speak very good English and really pamper you. They helped me book a tour to the DMZ and did not disappoint thruout my stay.
- AMAZING room... rooms are spacious, have every single necessity you need, very comfy beds and homely feel (with wooden floors and high ceiling).
- LOVE the showers... especially the rain shower with great water pressure. Wonderful to turn the heat up during a cold winter day.
- Food is great - check out Park Cafe (hotel restaurant). A little pricey but service is attentive and food is yummy. I actually preferred eating here for dinners vs going outside in the 0C cold.
- I love the personal service... the hotel staff called me on a few occasions just to ask if everything was OK. How thoughtful.

CONS:
- rooms are very pricey... then again, it is Seoul. Cost of living here is high.
- like another reviewer said, MEA rips you off for everything.. from Net access to stuff from the bar. C'mon MEA, you can very well charge less and still make a profit.
- lots of cabs cannot find this place by name... I had to write down the address in Korean (or take a hotel card w/Korean address).

Overall, I would stay here again anytime. Perfect for a week biz stay, and easy commute to the city center / cabs will take 30mins or roughly ~15USD one way. Not bad at all.

Again, very very impressed. Outstanding!

Room Tip: ask for high floor >11th floor, to get superb views of the city skyline. get a Marriott membersh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
7
6
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Aa a full-time business traveler I've seen it all --- the good, bad and ugly. The MEA is almost perfect. They offer excellent customer service, very friendly and polite front desk personal and prompt rely to special needs. The apartment is ideal for my wife and I. There's plenty of storage space, the washer/drier brings tears to my eyes after years of washing underwear in the sink, the kitchen is fully equipped, the apartment is spacious and well-decorated... the list goes on and on. Plus, MEA has a health spa and fitness center that rivals the best hotels in Las Vegas. My massage was among the top 10 ever. OK, so what's my gripe? I don't mind paying a premium price for a premium hotel, but it drives me crazy when I am gouged for the extras. How could a hotel of this caliber charge 100,000 won/week for Internet. Really??? A draft beer at the pub cost $15! I bought the exact same beer at the convenience store in the hotel for $3.50. A mediocre glass of wine at dinner: $14.00. Dear MEA Management, your hotel attracts seasoned business travelers. Please do not insult them with ridiculous prices! Instead of having a beer at the pub I have walked to the wonderful E-Mart down the street. Wake up and smell the coffee (BTW, a packet of Illy Coffee in the apartment kitchen will set you back $20! Really????). Please take a look at your pricing strategy. You're forcing customers to wonder what other ways you are trying to get into their knickers. I love this hotel and I plan to return again, but I will avoid the in-room supplies and the restaurants because of the excessive costs. Really.

Room Tip: Make sure to sign up for the breakfast buffet. It's one of the only good deals at the hotel. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida (home of the Gators!)
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel room itself is spectacular. Very spacious, all you need to live for a long time. Dishwasher, washer/dryer... a full service set up. BUT, I would hardly call this a "business apartment", as the daily cost for internet is $18. That, in my opinion, is insane that they charge this much for internet. Not to mention, any other items you may forget: $8.75 for a razor. Laundry soap for one load, $2.20, a box for 20 loads from an outside store, $3.25.

As for the Spa, I went in and waited, and waited, when the lady finally showed up, she had no idea what type of packages they offered. I took my business elsewhere.

I also had a real problem with the attitude of the employees. I guess I just expect a little more respect as a regular Marriott customer.

Bottom line, beautiful hotel, good location, questionable staff. If you are going to stay here, stock up with all your needs (paper towels, soap...)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

hotel is service apartment style with kitchen, living room area and bedroom.

rooms are clean and cozy

staff speaks fluent English

this hotel is great for business trips but the area is not very convenient for vacationing in seoul

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very comfortable and nicely furnished apartments in financial district. However very expensive and public areas and restaurants lacking in atmosphere. There are a few restaurants nearby and a large new mail just opened down the road. Colleagues stayed in the nearby Courtyard Marriot which was a lot better value and closer to the action.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love staying at the Marriott Exec Apartments - the extra space is something every traveler loves after a long week on the road. Throw in the included laundry machine and it is just like home. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: You will want a room away from the road if you are a light sleeper (away from the River).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a studio with kitchen, laundry, beautiful marble bathroom and a roll away. All rooms are non smoking even though it is not stated in the website.

Initially, I was hesitant in my reservation due to its cost. I thought $350/ night with tax and 10% service charge for 13 days was a bit high compared to comparable places like Oakwood Premier at Coex. Internet connection and breakfast were extra $100/ week and $24( not incl tax & service) daily, respectively. However, the place is definitely recommended for families and business travellers alike for the following reasons.

First, room and amenities:

1. Kitchen is well equipped. All you need is groceries. After a day of sight seeing, fun but tiring, last thing kids want to do is sit at restaurants to eat. It's nice to eat simple food, chilling with TV, and rest for next day at home like environment.

2. Miele laundry is convenient. I pack extremely light, just a carry-on and backpack for each of us, for 14 days of travel, all the way from Boston MA. Laundry every other day worked out very well.

3. Place looks just like pictures on their website, no misrepresentation what so ever... New, clean, state of the art room with electric adapters built in and iPod docking, great rain shower, relaxing tub, beautiful 25m lap pool and amazing work out facility. This Hotel even has 2 trek bikes ( adult size) for free use.

Second, location:

True, this hotel is not in the heart of most tourist sights. Rather, it is located in the midst of banks and National Assembly. But, it is just few blocks from 3 metro stations ( line 1, 5, 9) which means you can get just about anywhere with a single transfer at the most. And if you go far, you can take an express car as one of the station is a transfer station for line 5 & 9. It is also one of the few stations that was staffed all the time which was most helpful.

Some of the places we convieniently got to within about 30 minutes were National Museum, National Children's Museum, National Folk Museum, War Memorial, USO for DMZ tour, start point for City Tours, Insa Dong(souvenir shopping), and Chunggae Chun. Within about an hour were Lotte World, Coex Aquarium, Gwachon National Science Mueum, Seoul Land and Zoo. One thing to note is that traffic is very heavy in Seoul so taking taxi doesnt get you anywhere faster.

It is also located next to Yeoido Park where you can rent a bike (ample choice for all) to ride along paved exercise paths along the Han River. It was absolutely beautiful, relaxing and fun for our family. There is also a water park on the river for children which was great for a down day.

Third, people:

One of the most amazing thing about Seoul is the people and at this hotel was no exception. Just about everyone was able to help us in English with warmth. Couple of the people who provided notable service were restaurant managers Leeny and Mr Pang, and one of the van driver. One word of caution, while friendly, concierge isn't exactly most knowledgeable when it comes to tourism. They provide good business support, arranging transportation, bills, calls, groceries, etc. but not for helping you book organized tours/transportations to go to DMZ, Everland, Folk Village in Suwon, etc. I found concierge desk at Marriott Timesquare to be more helpful for that type of task.

Final thought:

I would visit this hotel again but wish they would include either Internet, breakfast or local calls in the package. While I really really liked my 13 day stay at this hotel and would stay again, I felt for some reason, more value at the Atlantis, Bahamas and Four Seasons at Hualalai, Big Island, Hawaii which are definitely not cheap places at all.

Room Tip: 2 adults and 2 children under 12 stayed in studio. We were comfortable. There are no bad rooms, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre

Address: 8 Yeoui-daero, Yeongdeungpo-Gu, Seoul 150-881, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#8 Business Hotel in Seoul
#12 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott
Marriott Executive Apartments Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.