We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of eccentric but fine for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benhur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Benhur Hotel to your Saves list
Benhur Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Gukhoe-daero 72-gil, Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea (Yeoido)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 416 Hotels in Seoul
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kind of eccentric but fine for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Benhur for two nights at end of Korea trip. Room was good size and toiletries were fantastic when running low of our own. Good location nr underground and staff friendly. Room was light with bleached floor boards and sauna in Bathroom - think it might have been the nicest on the floor. Not deluxe but good for price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
10
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This place is bearable if you don't have many options or need to save on cost (hotels in Korea are notoriously overpriced). The rooms are big, but slightly old. The air-conditioning didn't work well (not very cool and lots of dripping water). There are lots of bars around and the hotel serves as a final stop for some on the weekends. That said it was cheap and available. Try to book early elsewhere in the city. There are better options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Benhur in Seoul on 2 occasions in May, the second time we had received an upgrade. The hotel is located close to the first drop off point (the Lexington Hotel) of the bus from Incheon Airport – turn right when you get off the bus, then left, then left. The bus trip takes around an hour and costs 15000 won (around $15) per person. There are plenty of restaurants and shops close by, we found Dr Robbins (across the road) had great healthy food and reasonably priced and English menus. The rooms were a good size for two and had a sauna room in the shower area. The doors to the room open outward (seems to be a Korean thing to do). The staff spoke a limited amount of English but really tried to help as much as they could. Breakfast is available but don’t expect much variety. The subway (with an escalator) is about 10 mins away and from there is easy to get around – get a Metro card if you are travelling on the subway for a day or more . ATM’s and a laundry, where you can get clothes washed or pressed, are about 5 mins away. We would stay again and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The staff do not speak english but were generally quite polite and friendly. The room size and faciltiies was definately worth it for the price. The bed was a bit hard, but did not give any back problems, both tv and bathroom was huge! The bubble bath did not work, and there was also a steam suana (which we didnt try). This hotel is very near to the National assembly station (Not Yeouido!) Can take a taxi to 63 city (cost about 3-4 USD). On sunny days, one can take a walk to 63city through the park, which is very nice during cherry blossom period! The breakfast was not fantastic though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights. The room was standard size but the bathroom was huge with bathtub and sauna room. There were everything you need in bathroom (shampoo, conditioner, body wash and even facial cleanser, aftershave) There was also a computer with internet. The breakfast was good. There was selection of Korean and western food but the breakfast area was too small to serve all the hotel guests in the same time. The location of the hotel was good because it's close to underground station. It's just 3 stations aways from Hongik University station where you can explore the night life and shopping street. Also, there were convenience stores, cafe, bekery and restaurant nearby. Good place to stay with reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I traveled seoul with my sun
I stayed from 10/8~10~10. I think that very nice location and always kind receptionist.
There is room that Large bed, zaquzzi, free internet(wireless,WiFi), Included Breakfast
And . There is beautiful riverside park in Yeouido island. So fantastic experience~
Cleck at Frontdesk is help do them best to you.

I'd like to recommend you~!! I garentee you~!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed there for a week and then for one night.
Firstly, we had an upgraded room (which cost us around 5$ per night more than the standard room). The room was really nice - it had a huge plasma, a computer with the internet and a huge bathroom. The shower cabin could have been used as sauna (to 60C) and there was w jacuzzi bathtub. Besides (and that was a standard in every room), there was shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste, hairspray and even aftershave and body lotion. Everything in big bottles, big enough for the whole stay.
While leaving, we made a reservation of a standard room one week later and we got a really good price. The room was smaller, no jacuzzi and no sauna, but computer and all bath supplies were there. :-)
The only difficult thing was the breakfast. It was very Korean, there was always a crowd and the restaurant wasn't too big. I wouldn't recommend taking breakfast if you're a foreigner, especially that there are a lot of bars and restaurants around the hotel. From Starbucks to some local bars offering morning special (toasts, coffee and some kind of warm milk soup, which was actually quite good).

Room Tip: take a deluxe room - it's bigger, nicer, bathroom is bigger, there is better view, and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Benhur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benhur Hotel

Address: 7, Gukhoe-daero 72-gil, Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Yeoido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 416 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benhur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Benhur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benhur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.