We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible, but nothing much to recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Benhur Hotel

Save Saved
You added Benhur Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benhur Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-18 Yoido-dong Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 388 hotels in Seoul
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Not terrible, but nothing much to recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This place is bearable if you don't have many options or need to save on cost (hotels in Korea are notoriously overpriced). The rooms are big, but slightly old. The air-conditioning didn't work well (not very cool and lots of dripping water). There are lots of bars around and the hotel serves as a final stop for some on the weekends. That said it was cheap and available. Try to book early elsewhere in the city. There are better options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
5
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Benhur in Seoul on 2 occasions in May, the second time we had received an upgrade. The hotel is located close to the first drop off point (the Lexington Hotel) of the bus from Incheon Airport – turn right when you get off the bus, then left, then left. The bus trip takes around an hour and costs 15000 won (around $15) per person. There are plenty of restaurants and shops close by, we found Dr Robbins (across the road) had great healthy food and reasonably priced and English menus. The rooms were a good size for two and had a sauna room in the shower area. The doors to the room open outward (seems to be a Korean thing to do). The staff spoke a limited amount of English but really tried to help as much as they could. Breakfast is available but don’t expect much variety. The subway (with an escalator) is about 10 mins away and from there is easy to get around – get a Metro card if you are travelling on the subway for a day or more . ATM’s and a laundry, where you can get clothes washed or pressed, are about 5 mins away. We would stay again and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The staff do not speak english but were generally quite polite and friendly. The room size and faciltiies was definately worth it for the price. The bed was a bit hard, but did not give any back problems, both tv and bathroom was huge! The bubble bath did not work, and there was also a steam suana (which we didnt try). This hotel is very near to the National assembly station (Not Yeouido!) Can take a taxi to 63 city (cost about 3-4 USD). On sunny days, one can take a walk to 63city through the park, which is very nice during cherry blossom period! The breakfast was not fantastic though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights. The room was standard size but the bathroom was huge with bathtub and sauna room. There were everything you need in bathroom (shampoo, conditioner, body wash and even facial cleanser, aftershave) There was also a computer with internet. The breakfast was good. There was selection of Korean and western food but the breakfast area was too small to serve all the hotel guests in the same time. The location of the hotel was good because it's close to underground station. It's just 3 stations aways from Hongik University station where you can explore the night life and shopping street. Also, there were convenience stores, cafe, bekery and restaurant nearby. Good place to stay with reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I traveled seoul with my sun
I stayed from 10/8~10~10. I think that very nice location and always kind receptionist.
There is room that Large bed, zaquzzi, free internet(wireless,WiFi), Included Breakfast
And . There is beautiful riverside park in Yeouido island. So fantastic experience~
Cleck at Frontdesk is help do them best to you.

I'd like to recommend you~!! I garentee you~!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed there for a week and then for one night.
Firstly, we had an upgraded room (which cost us around 5$ per night more than the standard room). The room was really nice - it had a huge plasma, a computer with the internet and a huge bathroom. The shower cabin could have been used as sauna (to 60C) and there was w jacuzzi bathtub. Besides (and that was a standard in every room), there was shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste, hairspray and even aftershave and body lotion. Everything in big bottles, big enough for the whole stay.
While leaving, we made a reservation of a standard room one week later and we got a really good price. The room was smaller, no jacuzzi and no sauna, but computer and all bath supplies were there. :-)
The only difficult thing was the breakfast. It was very Korean, there was always a crowd and the restaurant wasn't too big. I wouldn't recommend taking breakfast if you're a foreigner, especially that there are a lot of bars and restaurants around the hotel. From Starbucks to some local bars offering morning special (toasts, coffee and some kind of warm milk soup, which was actually quite good).

Room Tip: take a deluxe room - it's bigger, nicer, bathroom is bigger, there is better view, and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I'd stayed in Hotel benhur for 4 nights. The hotel location is OK for me because I spent one day in Yoido and Full Gospel Church. If your traveling locations were in the downtown areas, don't pick this one. It requires transfer most of times and it took about 10 mins boarding on the train.

There are many restaurants/convenient stores around so you don't need to worry about the foods. The Hotel surrounding is a quite and safe, it is good for female who travel alone. The front door receptionists are nice but their English abilities need to be improved. BTW, one of them can speak Chinese so I had no issue with it.

The cleanliness needs to be improved. Though my room was cleaned every day but the quality was not good enough. There were couple hairs on the tub when I first walked in. Yukky.

Room Tip: The breakfast time is from 7:30-8:40
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Benhur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benhur Hotel

Address: 13-18 Yoido-dong Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 388 hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benhur Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Benhur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benhur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.