We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benhur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Benhur Hotel to your Saves list
Benhur Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-18 Yoido-dong Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 393 Hotels in Seoul
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed there for a week and then for one night.
Firstly, we had an upgraded room (which cost us around 5$ per night more than the standard room). The room was really nice - it had a huge plasma, a computer with the internet and a huge bathroom. The shower cabin could have been used as sauna (to 60C) and there was w jacuzzi bathtub. Besides (and that was a standard in every room), there was shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste, hairspray and even aftershave and body lotion. Everything in big bottles, big enough for the whole stay.
While leaving, we made a reservation of a standard room one week later and we got a really good price. The room was smaller, no jacuzzi and no sauna, but computer and all bath supplies were there. :-)
The only difficult thing was the breakfast. It was very Korean, there was always a crowd and the restaurant wasn't too big. I wouldn't recommend taking breakfast if you're a foreigner, especially that there are a lot of bars and restaurants around the hotel. From Starbucks to some local bars offering morning special (toasts, coffee and some kind of warm milk soup, which was actually quite good).

Room Tip: take a deluxe room - it's bigger, nicer, bathroom is bigger, there is better view, and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
5
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I'd stayed in Hotel benhur for 4 nights. The hotel location is OK for me because I spent one day in Yoido and Full Gospel Church. If your traveling locations were in the downtown areas, don't pick this one. It requires transfer most of times and it took about 10 mins boarding on the train.

There are many restaurants/convenient stores around so you don't need to worry about the foods. The Hotel surrounding is a quite and safe, it is good for female who travel alone. The front door receptionists are nice but their English abilities need to be improved. BTW, one of them can speak Chinese so I had no issue with it.

The cleanliness needs to be improved. Though my room was cleaned every day but the quality was not good enough. There were couple hairs on the tub when I first walked in. Yukky.

Room Tip: The breakfast time is from 7:30-8:40
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at Benhur hotel for a total of 5 nights. The staff speaks very little/no English, and so communicating is quite a puzzle if you don't speak Korean (luckily we do). They are very professional and the room was quite clean. However, we had asked for a non-smoking room, and it seems that the room was actually a smoking room. Hence, the smell of cigarette was very strong, and we ended up having to buy air fresheners for our comfort.

We were offered free breakfast in the morning, but the food and its smell was not very appealing to westerners early in the morning.... (steamed rice, porridge, Kimchi, sprout soup and seafood). We do enjoy Korean food, but we stuck to the toasts and free coffee.

The room itself was nice; they had great amenities (shaving cream, toothbrush and paste, razors, lotions and shampoo, as well as in-room computer with free high-speed internet). The washroom was quite nice as well, with a rain shower and sauna. However, the bed was rock hard, and will give you a rather good backache if you are not used to sleeping on a hard mattress. Furthermore, they did not have self-serve washer/dryer service for customers, and we had to pay of we wanted our clothes washed (the service was quite expensive as well).

Yoeido is a very calm, professional and removed neighborhood, and so there isn't much to do. Still, the hotel itself is close to the National Assembly building, and is a short taxi ride from the 63 building. There are also quite a few Noraebangs (Karaoke) and restaurants in the area, but keep in mind that this is not as touristy as central Seoul, which means that you would get a better service if you speak a little Korean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Everything is fine there if you just need a normal residence for a while. There is internet in rooms, which is good, because you don't have to walk down to the internet room. You might be confused on how to open the lights, but you'll probably get it. The room is perfect for us, but the make-up table light didn't work. There's not a variety of food for breakfast but there's enough food to eat (of course). The service seems to be fine. You can also walk to 7-eleven close by to buy some snacks, or drinks. For me, I would recommend this hotel, because it's quite convenient, silent, and not crowded.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011 via mobile

Good location, cheap price, kind staff. This hotel is very small but their rooms have enough fixtures & service. Breakfast is humble but delicious. If your purpose is business, maybe this hotel become a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Had a pleasant stay at Behur Hotel this week. It is located in Seoul's business district called Yeouido, within walking distance to the famous Yoido Full Gospel Church. There is no shopping mall nearby as place is full of banks and financial companies. Nearby are some coffee joints, korean and western food outlets.

Room is clean, decor is nice with colored lights at ceilings. Place feels cosy with a big sofa and coffee table served with green tea and coffee, you can make hot water with portable electric boiler. The TV is big and next to it is a desktop computer with free internet, personal laptops can be used as well. The bathroom is clean and big, has a jacuzzi bathtub and also a personal sauna with shower.

I will recommend this hotel to people who are on business trips in Yeouido and also people visiting Yoido Full Gospel Church.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benhur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benhur Hotel

Address: 13-18 Yoido-dong Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 393 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benhur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Benhur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benhur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.