We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but the cleanlinesss needs to be improved.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benhur Hotel

Save Saved
You added Benhur Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Benhur Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-18 Yoido-dong Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 392 hotels in Seoul
Taipei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service but the cleanlinesss needs to be improved.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I'd stayed in Hotel benhur for 4 nights. The hotel location is OK for me because I spent one day in Yoido and Full Gospel Church. If your traveling locations were in the downtown areas, don't pick this one. It requires transfer most of times and it took about 10 mins boarding on the train.

There are many restaurants/convenient stores around so you don't need to worry about the foods. The Hotel surrounding is a quite and safe, it is good for female who travel alone. The front door receptionists are nice but their English abilities need to be improved. BTW, one of them can speak Chinese so I had no issue with it.

The cleanliness needs to be improved. Though my room was cleaned every day but the quality was not good enough. There were couple hairs on the tub when I first walked in. Yukky.

Room Tip: The breakfast time is from 7:30-8:40
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
5
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at Benhur hotel for a total of 5 nights. The staff speaks very little/no English, and so communicating is quite a puzzle if you don't speak Korean (luckily we do). They are very professional and the room was quite clean. However, we had asked for a non-smoking room, and it seems that the room was actually a smoking room. Hence, the smell of cigarette was very strong, and we ended up having to buy air fresheners for our comfort.

We were offered free breakfast in the morning, but the food and its smell was not very appealing to westerners early in the morning.... (steamed rice, porridge, Kimchi, sprout soup and seafood). We do enjoy Korean food, but we stuck to the toasts and free coffee.

The room itself was nice; they had great amenities (shaving cream, toothbrush and paste, razors, lotions and shampoo, as well as in-room computer with free high-speed internet). The washroom was quite nice as well, with a rain shower and sauna. However, the bed was rock hard, and will give you a rather good backache if you are not used to sleeping on a hard mattress. Furthermore, they did not have self-serve washer/dryer service for customers, and we had to pay of we wanted our clothes washed (the service was quite expensive as well).

Yoeido is a very calm, professional and removed neighborhood, and so there isn't much to do. Still, the hotel itself is close to the National Assembly building, and is a short taxi ride from the 63 building. There are also quite a few Noraebangs (Karaoke) and restaurants in the area, but keep in mind that this is not as touristy as central Seoul, which means that you would get a better service if you speak a little Korean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Everything is fine there if you just need a normal residence for a while. There is internet in rooms, which is good, because you don't have to walk down to the internet room. You might be confused on how to open the lights, but you'll probably get it. The room is perfect for us, but the make-up table light didn't work. There's not a variety of food for breakfast but there's enough food to eat (of course). The service seems to be fine. You can also walk to 7-eleven close by to buy some snacks, or drinks. For me, I would recommend this hotel, because it's quite convenient, silent, and not crowded.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011 via mobile

Good location, cheap price, kind staff. This hotel is very small but their rooms have enough fixtures & service. Breakfast is humble but delicious. If your purpose is business, maybe this hotel become a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Had a pleasant stay at Behur Hotel this week. It is located in Seoul's business district called Yeouido, within walking distance to the famous Yoido Full Gospel Church. There is no shopping mall nearby as place is full of banks and financial companies. Nearby are some coffee joints, korean and western food outlets.

Room is clean, decor is nice with colored lights at ceilings. Place feels cosy with a big sofa and coffee table served with green tea and coffee, you can make hot water with portable electric boiler. The TV is big and next to it is a desktop computer with free internet, personal laptops can be used as well. The bathroom is clean and big, has a jacuzzi bathtub and also a personal sauna with shower.

I will recommend this hotel to people who are on business trips in Yeouido and also people visiting Yoido Full Gospel Church.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We found this hotel listed in a Seoul Lonely Planet travel guide. It sounded too good to be true at the price listed but we took a subway to check it out, anyway, It is a 2500 Won (about $2.00 USD) taxi ride from the Yeouinaru subway stop. The hotel is on the island of Yeouido which is a business and financial area of Seoul. The island is known for it's beautiful parks and views of the Han River. Our guide book turned out to be old and the price was 130000 Won for the room and an extra 20000 for our third person (A total of around 118.00 USD). We were tired and decided to take the room and settle in before going out again to eat and explore more of Seoul.
We were completely shocked when we opened the door and viewed the room! It was downright elegant! Marble countertops, flatscreen TV, computer, refrigerator stocked with all sorts of free drinks (yes, free... our 16-year-old-son asked)! Everything was controlled by remote control right down to the lights. The bathroom had a separate sauna, shower/tub combination, and sink area. Full sized toiletries were provided... right down to cologne! There was a bag full of toiletry items as well, coffee & tea with real china cups to make in the room, and a cold/hot water filtration system in the room to make the coffee, soup or whatever you desired.
We had two big beds made up with the finest of linens and the best feature of all... high thread count, super soft sheets! To top all of this off we had three coupons for breakfast in the morning which was a big, sit-down, Korean breakfast. We enjoyed eggs, soup, rice, toast, sausages, fruit, etc.
You can catch a Taxi at the end of the street to the subway station for around 2500 Won and go any place in the city, but there are also places to eat right around the hotel. There are also convenience stores, Dunkin' Dounuts, etc. within walking distance along the Han River. Wonderful, clean room with everything your heart desires at a very reasonable price!

  • Liked — Luxurious linens
  • Disliked — No shower curtains in Korean bathrooms!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Benhur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benhur Hotel

Address: 13-18 Yoido-dong Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 392 hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benhur Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Benhur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benhur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.