We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget place to stay in!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Namsan Guest House 2

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Namsan Guest House 2 to your Saves list
Namsan Guest House 2
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   41, Toegye-ro 18-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 263 Reviews
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great budget place to stay in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

It was our first time in Korea and we didn't know what to expect. We arrived October 14, 2011 in Incheon and it had taken us over an hour to get to Seoul due to the subway transfers. It was almost midnight by the time we found our hotel, the Namsan 2 Guest House, but it was thankfully just a short 5 minute walk from the Myeong-dong metro station. After a quick check in (our room was ready!) we were led to our room on the 2nd floor by the front desk clerk.

The room was a bit small but it had a remote-controlled air-conditioning unit (which we turned into a heater at night due to the cold fall weather), a toilet and shower (takes up about a quarter of the space and has hot and cold water), cable TV, dryer, and fresh towels. Plus it came with free Continental-style breakfast (unlimited noodles, bread, jam or butter, and coffee or tea)! Our beds consisted of mattresses on the floor and came with clean sheets, pillows, and comforters. The only problem we had was the almost see-through glass walls of the toilet/shower. But we made do and had a good night's rest.

We switched to Namsan 3 the next day (our reservation was for 4 days and Namsan 2 could only accommodate us for 1 night). It was just right beside Namsan 2 but we had trouble finding it since it did not have any sign outside.

Namsan 3 is larger than Namsan 2 and had an elevator. Our room was on the 5th floor, just below the rooftop garden. The pantry and storage room was at the basement level. Our room was larger and had the same features as our Namsan 2 room, but now had some closet space and opaque wall on one side of the toilet/shower to better preserve our modesty.

Again, we were delighted with the accommodations. There was free internet in the common room (1 PC at Namsan 2, 2 PCs at Namsan 3), a mini-gym in the pantry as well as a mini-library consisting mostly of travel guides and brochures that were very helpful for tourists such as ourselves. There was also a cork board filled with notes and pics from satisfied guests. We would have loved to have added our pics but we didn't have time to get one printed during our short stay.

We were able to leave our bags in the storage area after checking out so we could do some last minute shopping. The only thing we wished could be improved was the cleaning service. We asked for some clean-up but we only found our trash bins emptied and towels replaced... the floor did not seem to have been swept thoroughly.

But all in all, it was a great choice for first-time budget travelers like us. Especially since it is near attractions such as the Namsan Tower, and just a few minutes' walk away from a subway station. Several shops, convenience stores and restaurants/eateries are also nearby.

I would recommend this highly to other budget tourists and have actually enthusiastically recommended this to friends who have plans to visit Korea. Consider me one satisfied guest.:)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    119
    51
    10
    7
See reviews for
54
33
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I had high hopes for my stay here however it was quite a disappointment due to the below reasons:
1) Booked two months in advance and continuously asked for early check-in preferably in the morning but was rejected all 3 times. However, when I arrived at the 'lobby' while flipping though itinerary right after arriving, early check-in was given to another guest (10am)..

2) as I specifically requested for 'no corner rooms' was given a room which was next to the STEEL staircase located right outside the window. Each and every footstep could be heard when people were going up and down of it.

3) there were of course no BBQ parties but I think some of the workers invited over some friends for soju session on a the Saturday night when i was staying there. Quite loud and noisy they were.

4) Bathroom was horrendous. Suggest you to bring your own toiletry.
a- Bar of soap was leftover from previous room guests
b- slippers provided for bathroom use were all moldy (ew!)
c- shower curtains were originally not long enough so they extended the length by using nylon strings to hang them up.

I know it wasn't a five star hotel but I was at least looking forward to better amenities in the bathroom. The room itself was small as well.

5- Reception had obvious better attitude when serving 'Japanese/Westerners'. Didn't smile. But was extremely courteous to help out with moving luggage to room.

On a lighter note Loved:
1) That they provided free usage of pantry. Fresh bread, coffee and instant noodle packs were provided every morning.

2) Location was perfect. 2-3 minutes walk to Myeong-Dong

Unfortunately, wouldn't choose this guesthouse again. I've tried others for better value.

Room Tip: ask for corner rooms if you are planning a stay at Namsan 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namsan-Guesthouse, Manager at Namsan Guest House 2, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
1) If there is no previous room guest, you can check in early morning time. Why not ! Why we make our guest incommode. But we don't know what time the previous room guest will check out. That's why we can not guarantee the early check in.

You said another guest check in early (10:00 AM). Because other guest check out early and we clean up the room already. If the room is ready and there is no guest, we always give it to our guest even it's 05:00 AM. But we can not guarantee the early check in even you made a reservation 1 year before check in date, because we don't know the check out time of previous room guest

2) Guest can choose the room type (Twin, Double ...) but can't choose the room number.
Because we have to arrange our room and time table. We try to keep the room which the guest want, but can't keep it 100%.

3) Normally one month one time we have the BBQ party (except winter season)
But if the guests want to make a small party, we welcome anytime. And anybody can make a small party. We think this is very important for us and guests. Guests can know each other and they are from many other countries. This is the Guesthouse. Not only sleep but can make many other country's friends too. And we try to finish the party before 11:00 PM.

4) We provide a soap big one, so there are many guests use it together. We provide Shampoo too, it is in the shampoo bottle.
Even we clean the Bathroom slippers every day, but is not clean like a expensive Hotel.
And shower curtain is long enough for shower (You can see our website) but some rooms there is no shower curtain (Namsan 1 Guesthouse)
Namsan Guesthouse is the Guesthouse. We are not the expensive Hotel. But we are sure
We are the one of clean and best service Guesthouse in Korea.

5) Best service is our company policy. If a staff dodn't smile, we are very sorry about that.
But we always educate to our staff for best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Location was great, as it was a couple of minutes walk away from the Myeongong subway line, from which you can access virtually all part of the city. It was also across the street from the Myeongdong market, and walking distance from the Tower and Namsangol Village (though admittedly a bit of a long walk, but doable). Restaurants abound in the area, also with a lot of convenient stores, so eating was never a problem.

Rooms were small, though we really didn't mind since we basically just used the room to sleep in. Most important was that it was very clean, and we even got housekeeping services even though we didn't request for it. No lock on the frosted glass bathroom door, though there was a shower curtain you can use to cover up the doorway.

Their website is pretty much indicative of what you'll see when you get there, so make sure to check them out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

- Stayed 7 days 6 nights during August 2011 (Summer time)
- Strategic location - Walking distance (3 minutes walk) to Myeongdong night market street.
- Very near to the Subway station (4-5minutes walk)
- Wide choices of restaurant (even more restaurants across the street -which located at Myeongdong street)
- Excellent and helpful staffs (who would explain in multi-language) and they speak EXCELLENT English.
-Rooms are clean, towels were clean, quiet surrounding.

- But.... perhaps the tiniest bathroom that I've been in my entire life. (Slightly overweight people like me even find it is hard to get the space in the bathroom). - But I'm too sure about other type of rooms, as we were staying in Namsan Guest House 3 and a standard room for 2.

Location wise, I DEFINITELY would return to this Guest House if I ever return to Seoul again!

Room Tip: Pls ask whether they have bigger bathroom if you consider yourself as big size (like myself)... othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed there for 5 nigths. The toilet is small but other stuff are fine. The best thing is the location. It is just 2-3 minutes walk to Mydg subway and you can easily walk across underground shopping area to other shopping zone.Night time is quite happening at Mydg area. You can try lot of food there. N towel is just roght behind Namsan guest house. You can easily visit Seoul from subway facilities.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed at Namsan 3 for 8 nights. You would expect that staying for 8 nights would warrant a room cleaning at least once but noooo, they didn't clean our room even a single time, despite them offering to do so when we checked in ("just come down to the recep to request for room cleaning!"), us requesting for it twice, and the reception promising that they would do so! LIke what once of the reviewers below mentioned, we gave up and resorted to putting our rubbish in the hallway outside for the housekeeper to dispose of. In fact, everyone on our floor did.

That aside, the room was small but fine. It was very clean, and we loved that our room on the 3rd floor had a view of Namsan Tower (N Seoul Tower). Beds were mattresses laid out on the floor, so there wasn't much space to move around, but hey - we weren't intending to spend a lot of time in our room anyway. There's a TV in the room, hairdryer and the works provided. Washroom was a tad too tiny, we were almost standing on top of the toilet to shower, but we managed. If you are a bigger tourist intending to stay here, beware. The website says that toiletries are provided, and by that, they mean shampoo and a soap bar, so do bring your own toiletries if you want more. You can get towels from reception. Free wifi through the building, it was very good in our rooms as well.

Great location, no qualms about that. Only thing is that there is no clear signage labelling Namsan 3, only Namsan 2. The Namsan 2 staff will tell you "that gray building" but we still ended up wandering around until some fellow tourists took pity on us, pointing us in the right way and letting us in. Near the guesthouse, there are 3 convenience stores (GS25/Family Mart), a fried chicken restaurant (TwoTwo Chicken), and at least 2 grilled restaurants that you will pass by on your way back from the subway station exit - pretty good for that late night snack!

There's a roof top "garden" where it was great to sit and have breakfast instead of having it in the stuffy basement kitchen / common area. Instant cup noodles and bread is provided for breakfast everyday. There's free Skype calls and a few computer terminals.

I think it's one of the cheaper and better guesthouses in the Myeongdong area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at Namsan 2 for 3 nights. So our room at 3rd floors, staircase only. Room small but bathroom size pretty decent. Huge kitchen compare to Namsan 1. Breakfast consist of bread with peanut/butter/jam + coffee/tea + cup noodle. But I like most is d location. Few min walking distance to metro n myeongdong market just opposite road. D money exchange shop's rate is not bad, better than myeongdong's.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Namsan Guest House 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namsan Guest House 2

Address: 41, Toegye-ro 18-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Namsan Guest House 2 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer affordable and quality accommodation in the most relaxed and comfortable place. We are in the fantastic location for travelling and shopping. we are located just 150 M from Myeongdong Subway station which is the center of Seoul and the best shopping area.Namsan Guest House is convenient for transportation, so you can go to Korea’s famous places easily such as Namdaemun, Dongdaemun, City hall, Cheonggaecheon, Insadong, and old palace.We do our best to satisfy our guest by supporting travel information, free Seoul map, and taking care 24 hours like your home.We offer many different facilities that will suit all guests and cater for all your needs when travelling; this is the perfect location for you to stay when you visit the beautiful Seoul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Namsan Guest House 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namsan Guest House Hotel Seoul
Namsan Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namsan Guest House 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.