We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Save Saved
You added ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-021, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 387 hotels in Seoul
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

My wife and I are just back from Seoul where we booked a Jr Suite at the IBIS hotel for 5 nights around Christmas.
Our choice was based on the endless list of positive reviews about this place.
We can only add praises to the previous comments.
The manager has been very helpful during the whole stay. He speaks fluent English, French and Korean.
The Myeong-Dong church is a few hundred yards away through a busy walking street and there was a friendly Christmas spirit going around the area. One must know that Christmas eve is a super Valentine's Day in Korea. So you might have a hard time finding a seat in ANY decent restaurant in town on that special night and Christmas day.
On Christmas morning, the breakfast area was full of couples who had booked in for the night.
The view from the large window pane on the main street is great, especially at night with the Christmas lights on the Lotte mall.
Rooms are very quiet, no sound from the busy street and no sound from adjacent rooms.
If you like doughnuts, you are surrounded by them !!!
We will be back for sure !

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    641
    937
    164
    26
    8
See reviews for
353
466
255
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

I spend a couple of nights at the Ibis Myeong-Dong —mainly based on the great reviews on this site. And for the most part, they were right on. This is a great budget hotel in an unbeatable location.

I was booked in a Jr. Suite and had requested a high floor with a Seoul Tower view. They didn’t have a room with a view when I checked in, but moved me into one the next day. Apparently, the sizes of the Jr. suites vary quite a bit, as my second room was significantly nicer and larger than the first one. Both rooms had comfortable beds, a large flat screen TV and an odd, very small modular bathroom. Bring your own toiletries, as they don’t provide a lot of them.

The location of the hotel is literally in the center of the hippest shopping area in Seoul, with the large Lotte department store across the street. There are countless restaurants, coffee shops and outdoor food vendors all around. Getting around can be a little difficult, as most streets are connected by underground walkways with lots of stairs. There are relatively few crosswalks in that area.

The staff at the Ibis was young and extremely professional and helpful, with pretty good English. They even offered to go get stamps for me, since they didn’t have any in stock. And the breakfast was also rather good, with a wide array of Western and Asian choices.

Overall, a great experience, especially for the price. I would certainly stay there again.

A few side notes:

Right underneath the hotel, there are shopping passages which have a lot of smaller shops, and also a lot of optical shop. If you wear glasses, you can get amazing deals on them, all done in about an hour. I got a really nice pair for about $70 which included everything (and those where the more expensive ones in the shop—you can get really nice one for about $30). In the US, these would cost about $300. I went to the Harvard Optimal Shop, and the owner spoke great English.

You will likely have a hard time finding postcards and souvenirs around Myeong-Dong. Try the near-by Lotte Hotel—they have a nice little shop that sells postcards and stamps. Souvenirs at the airport are rather expensive.
Overall, don’t expect to see many Western tourists in that area—very local and very young area, which is a good thing. But most locals will totally ignore you, which can be a bit awkward at first. Don’t expect too many friendly smiles or help with directions.

  • Liked — Great location and very helpful staff
  • Disliked — I wasn't crazy about Seoul as a whole.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed at the Ibis for the 5 nights that we were in Seoul and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was spacious enough for two of us and had a luggage area. Bedroom slippers were also provided which we used to walk down the corridor to the vending machines and to the laundry room. Our room did not have a view (faced an office block) but that did not bother us since we hardly looked out of the window. The bathroom was small but well equipped with a heated toilet seat and separate shower area. The TV had a good mix of local and international channels and free internet access was available if you brought your own laptop. Overall the room was clean and layout was well-thought out. Check in and out was swift and efficient and they staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location could not be better. It was about 3 mins walk from the tube station and right smack in the middle of Myeong Dong. It is about 7 mins walk from the Cheonggye stream, 10mins walk from Insadong, 5 mins cab ride (krw3,500) from Dongdaemun and 3mins cab ride (krw1,900) from Namdaemun. The Shinsagae department store was just a 5min walk away. At this price, for this quality and location, we will definately stay here when we are in Seoul again!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

I am pretty impressed after reading the reviews on Ibis Myeong-Dong and hence decided to book it.

And just like in the reviews, I only have good stuff to say about this hotel. A lot of Japanese, European travellers stay here as well. I highly recommend staying at Ibis Myeong-Dong! Good value for money!

1) Location (subway, tourists attractions, convenience stores, shopping stores and malls, food, etc all below hotel or within walking distance)

2) Hotel amenities (free hot & cold water & ice dispenser, free in-room internet, free rental of electrical stuff [i.e. dehumidifier], coin laundry [if u wana do your own], free shuttle from airport limo bus stop and vice versa, etc)

Tip: Best to ask for a room with window (automated shutter) as I realised there is no airflow within the room [the hotel blocks usage of air-con during winter]

3) Room and en-suite bathroom (very clean, safebox, coffee/tea making amenities, work table, LCD TV, slippers, etc)

4) Hotel service (multi-lingual staff, pleasant service, etc)

  • Liked — Almost everything!
  • Disliked — None so far
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

It is all true: it is a nice little hotel in the middle of everything!
GREAT location, although my taxi driver couldn't find it (probably on purpose) for a good 15min in Myeong-dong.
It is just in front of Lotte Dept. store, at exit 6 of Euljiro 1 metro station.
Check in on 19fl was fast, efficient and with a smile. I checked in at 13.00 without problems. I asked to be "downgraded" to a cheaper room (I had chosen a corner room), but they didn't have any available. I can believe that, since the hotel was brimming with people, 90% Japanese. I think this hotel caters mainly to Japanese tourists and is therefore very high standard.
The room was slightly larger than an average Asian business hotel. When I got in, it was very hot and had some problems adjusting the temperature properly but then it was fine. You cannot open the window though. The bathroom has a nice shower but not bath tube.
You have everything you need in the room, hair dryer, safe, TV, etc. Internet is free and working well, which is good.
Myeong-dong is great for eating, close to the key touristic spots and convenient to catch the shuttle bus back to Incheon airport.
Dry cleaning was good and cheap, they arranged for a free service to be taken to the KAL terminal (shuttle bus to Airport).
No real complaint at 30% cheaper price than Intercontinental; although the room was smaller, location made up for it..
I would definitely recommend it, especially to women and budget-conscious travellers.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

After reading the reviews about Ibis Myeong Dong, I went and experienced myself. It's all true, great location, clean/ neat room, free internet, 1000 won (70 cents) coin operated laundry room with plasma TV, iron board, magazines, etc. Vending machine and hot/cold water on each floor. Free green tea spa available and friendly staff. All that good stuff. Just around the corner are all the shops, street vendors and restaurants. You have to try the Dunkin Donuts (chewy, mochi style), you can't get that in the States only Taiwan and Seoul. We took bus 6015 from airport to hotel 5 minutes walk. The bus will pass by the building so you won't miss it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

I booked the hotel in the last minute before my red leaves seeing trip (1 day before). At first I want to book something cheaper like Metro Hotel or Namsan Guesthouse but they're all full (& I got no idea why it's so difficult to book a reasonable priced hotel room in mid Nov weekdays), so I went to Tripadvisor & checked what hotels/guesthouse they had in Seoul. I found Hotel Ibis. It got a very good rating & as an airline staff, I could book it in a cheaper rate. So I decided to pay a bit more to live in this hotel.

Myeong-Dong Ibis & the reviews from other travellers didn't disappoint me. Room is small, but big enough to let 2 medium size suitcases opened without blocking the way. Small bathroom with limited amentities (just shower gel but nothing else), but you can get everything from the vendor machine. There's drinking water machine in each floor & kettle in each room, so don't worry that you'll become too thirsty. You can access internet in your room or in the Biz Corner free of charge. Unfortunately there're only 3 computers & they're always occupied (1 nite I went to the Biz Corner 1 am, waited for 20 minute, nobody wanted to leave the computer, & I gave up waiting)

Room & bathroom is very clean. I can see Seoul Tower through the window of my room. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Some reviews said that the english standard of the staff is poor & I disagree with that. Staff cannot speak perfect english but their english is good enough to answer all your questions & understand your need.

Hotel location is excellent. Very near to the airport bus stop, metro station & Myeong-Dong shopping area. The best thing is you can find all types of restaurant nearby & the price are reasonable.

1 point worth mentioning is the free-of-charge self-help Green Tea Spa. If you don't mind being naked in front of the strangers, you should try. The spa is small, but clean. Body shampoo, facial toner / moisturiser, towels, body moisturiser & hair blower are provided. From what I saw, nobody went into the pool without taking shower. This means the pool can't be too dirty. The Green Tea Spa is a nice place to go after a long day.

  • Liked — Clean room, good location
  • Disliked — amenities in the bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-021, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#33 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.