We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for shopping and sightseeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong to your Saves list
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-021, South Korea (Myeongdong / Namdaemun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect location for shopping and sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Ibis because of its location. Though it's not exactly a more affordable hotel, the rooms are big enough and the staff are accommodating. There aren't any bellboys that will help with your luggage. But if you were ok getting your own luggage at the airport, you should be fine doing it here.

The location is right across Lotte Dept store and next to the Myeongdong shopping streets. It's also a block away from Line 2 (which took us to most of the sights we wanted to see).

Would stay here again the next trip to Seoul.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear misterjar,

Warm Greetings from ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We would like to thank you for choosing ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong as your accommodation!

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your staying at our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.
We would like to welcome you again on your next visit in the near future.
Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    1,071
    202
    29
    9
See reviews for
431
537
285
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just visited last March, it was bit cold in Seoul, but I had greatt experience with ibis Seoul Myeongdong!! First of all, the location was perfect! Shopping mall was just right in front of hotel, not only that the other attractions were walking distance!! Room was bit small but it was cozy and cute (?) ! Also Ihad a great experience with staff; forgot her name - Whenever I ask something, she never felt irritate- She was more than willing to help me!!
Well, I wanna tell the other point, but I think it's enough why I recommend ibis Seoul Myeongdong!! NEVER REGRET!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sabina4939,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong Dong.
I am sure that your compliments will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I think Ibis has been quite successful in running budget hotel chain and its standards remain very consistent. Basic, simple, clean and convenient.

Actually I am quite happy with its simplicity and human design of the room. The room is very small, I even need to squeeze myself into the toilet but it is cozy enough. I totally agree that budget hotel should remain a small room size with things that you can get from reasonable distance, unlike some budget hotels called themselves budget but pretend to be upscale and arrange a spacious room with no content in it.

Nothing much about this hotel but I would like to emphasis on the location. It is super convenient. Downstairs you can access to exciting cosmetic shops and metro just two minutes away!


Bed is fine and sheets look clean. You can try their jaccuzi, very strong water power! Very good to relax after a long day walk.

Staff are friendly and efficient.

I oils recommend this for budget travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Juicebox1224,

Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong Dong. It is always a pleasure to receive kind feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Location is simply fantastic as it is very near to the subway and next to the main myeongdong main street. Directly opp Lotte Department store and there is even a cafe next to the hotel.

We stay in a junior suit for our family and find the room spacious enough for our luggages and even our stroller. Auntie cleaning was prompt and helpful. There is even a gym and a hot bath for guest to use. In the gym, there is a massage chair that you can sit down and relax looking at the city lightings..The best thing about this hotel that I really like is that they even provide coin laundry services with washer and even dryer.
Will definitely return back to this hotel again if I come back Seoul next time. Keep it up Ibis :)











Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear darrentkk,

Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong Dong. It is always a pleasure to receive kind comments.
I will share your compliments with all of our staffs. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What won our hearts during our 5 day stay at Ibis was the staff. They were really warm, welcoming and courteous. We have never seen such a dedicated group of people and, the way they did everything to make us feel at home, it was really heart-warming. The hospitality began with our arrival itself as all the formalities were completed in record time and we were shown to our room. The rooms were lovely. The décor, the lighting, the warm, soft glow of the lampshades made the room come alive for us. Also the hotel has a great location. Many tourist attractions in Seoul are located near it. The shuttle service made roaming the city easy for us and they did not charge us anything for the service. It was certainly a very good stay for both of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ethan B,

Warmest greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

I’m so glad that you had a great stay in our hotel.
Especially, we would like to deeply thank you for your kind compliments on our service.
Your compliments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.
Again, thank you for choosing Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong.
I would like to welcome you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff was very helpful with a lot of our questions about getting around and with booking one of our tours. The hotel location is conveniently close to great shopping areas and is full of activity at night time. So much to see, buy, eat and experience just a few steps outside of the hotel.

The hotel and the room we stayed in however, is starting to have a little run down feeling. Carpets were a bit grungy, scuff marks on the walls, and I was not a fan of seeing pipes in the bathroom. The hotel definitely needs an upgrade but for the price and the location it was not a big deal.

I would consider this hotel as a budget hotel because of all the other fancier hotels in Seoul. But for the price and location I would definitely stay here again. Hopefully the rooms will get a facelift soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear geeESsee,

Greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!

we would like to tell that appropriate action has been taken with our room attendants and housekeeping supervisor, to ensure this unpleasant incident does not happen again. Also necessary training and daily inspection will be reinforced at all times accordingly.
At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location was good and the room is clean. Service is good. the staff is able to give good advice on food and shopping and able to write the places that i want to go in Korean language so that i can pass it to the taxi driver. Excellent service


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear MTT22013,

Greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We would like to thank you for choosing ibis Seoul Myeong-dong as your accommodation l and for taking the time to share your review on trip advisor.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your staying at our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in the future.
Thank you.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-021, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#18 Family Hotel in Seoul
#32 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.