We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location at good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Save Saved
You added ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-021, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 387 hotels in Seoul
Write a Review

1,776 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    641
    937
    164
    26
    8
See reviews for
353
466
255
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel really fit our needs for our first trip ever to Seoul. The hotel is conveniently located across from Lotte Department Store, and a myriad of other shops are just around corner. It's an area filled with amazing energy and lots of crowds! The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable, and overall ibis provided a great environment.

The most outstanding part of this hotel is the Concierge which comprised of four different fellows. They are all really eager to help and very knowledgable about the area. There also very friendly, funny, and just very helpful in terms of showing us what/where/how to experience Seoul. So really -- five stars for the awesome concierge! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Shireen L,

Greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
On behalf of the management and staff of Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong, we would like to thank you for staying with us.
Especially, we keenly appreciate your kind compliments on our staffs working on ground floor.
Your compliments have certainly motivated them to further develop service.
We would like to welcome you in the future.

Thank you so much.

Yours sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I think Ibis has been quite successful in running budget hotel chain and its standards remain very consistent. Basic, simple, clean and convenient.

Actually I am quite happy with its simplicity and human design of the room. The room is very small, I even need to squeeze myself into the toilet but it is cozy enough. I totally agree that budget hotel should remain a small room size with things that you can get from reasonable distance, unlike some budget hotels called themselves budget but pretend to be upscale and arrange a spacious room with no content in it. (Like my previous review of Bann K residence in Bangkok)

Nothing much about this hotel but I would like to emphasis on the location. It is super convenient. Downstairs you can access to exciting cosmetic shops and metro just two minutes away!

Forget about the breakfast, there are much more exciting choices for breakfast around. Don't waste your money for the breakfast upgrade. (Except if your room rate is including it)

Bed is fine and sheets look clean. You can try their jaccuzi, very strong water power! Very good to relax after a long day walk.

Staff are friendly and efficient.

I oils recommend this for budget travel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear True_Hotelier,

Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong Dong.
I will share your kind words with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is slightly better than the typical Ibis. Rooms are a reasonable size and are equipped with a small fridge,safe,a kettle and hair dryer. There is free wi fi in the rooms. There is also a coin operated laundry on the premises.The staff are most helpful and friendly.
The location,in the centre of Seoul,is excellent. There are enumerable restaurants and bars in the area as well as shopping centres and out door markets with great street food.
The hotel is easy to get to from the airport. Just take bus number 6015 from exit 12. It will drop you off right in front. It takes about an hour and it costs ¥10,000 ( $10). You can pay on board. It is walkable from Seoul Train Station but a cab ride is about $5. There is parking below the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear peter_sue20,

Greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
On behalf of the management and staff of Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong, I would like to thank you for staying with us. Especially, I would like to deeply thank you for your kind efforts to write your previous staying on trip advisor.
Your kind comments has certainly motivated us to further develop our service staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.
I wish you a prosperous success in your future, and I would like to welcome you in the future.
Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel!

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-021, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#33 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.