We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 1st trip in Korea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong to your Saves list
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-021, South Korea (Myeongdong / Namdaemun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Luzon, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“our 1st trip in Korea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location of Ibis in Myeong-dong, worst you can't check in early, our flight was first thing in the morning and it was tiring and sleepy day while waiting for our room..the hotel is quiet small to look for a place to rest or stay while waiting. Another thing the air-condition in the room was not functioning well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    1,071
    202
    29
    9
See reviews for
431
537
285
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice experience. Very convenience location. English speaking staff that are very helpful and polite. Nearby alot of shopping, a few mins walk to subway. 10mins walk to namdaemun. Free shuttle services to nearby place of interest but limited timing and space so got to book early. Airport shuttle service available only walk aways from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in Oct 2012, the hotel is situated in a good location. There are cafes, subway and shops surronding the hotel. This is The hotel to stay in Seoul for travellers be it business or leisure, for its location and free wifi in rooms. The airport bus at 10,000 korean won stops at the hotel's entrance. A pity that we can not stay here for our family's Nov trip as it is fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here for three nights recently. The location was great and we really enjoyed being near lots of shops and the afternoon/ evening market. The hotel staff were friendly and the hotel itself was quite comfortable. It is a little worn, and although the room was quite clean there were quite a few large marks on the carpet in the room. The bathroom is small and seems to be a 'pod' that was installed as a complete unit into the room. The reception, bar and restaurant is on the top floor with a good view. Didn't get to eat at the restaurant but had a very strange mojito at the bar. I found the beds to be very hard. The free internet was great! (I would give this three and a half stars but can't figure out how to do the half).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at Ibis Myeongdong for 4 nights as a solo traveller. Extremely happy with my stay!

After arriving from an overnight (and sleepless) flight at 9am, efficient staff kindly organised for my room to be ready within the hour. Thank you! Reception is located on the top floor.

Room was spacious and spotlessly clean, with an incredibly comfortable bed/doona/pillows. Great view out onto the busy streets of Myeongdong. Bathroom was small - but very clean and functional. Free wifi provided in rooms (which was stable and reliable).

Located in a fantastic spot - numerous restaurants located within a couple of minutes (all varying in cuisine, price, etc). Shopping in immediate area is also great - a couple of huge shopping centres (which I didn't visit), along with the brightly lit shopping lanes of Myeongdong (which was awesome!).

A leisurely 15-20 minute stroll to major Seoul attractions - Hanok Village, Gyeongbokgung Palace and Changdeokgung Palace (recommended). And only a 5 minute walk to Cheonggyecheon Stream.

Airport bus 6015 drops/picks up from right outside the hotel - very convenient.

On a side note: A big thank you to the lovely girl on reception who informed me about a free concert by Psy (Gangnam Style) at Seoul City Hall (that happened to be on during my stay) as she thought I might be interested. I went... and it ended up being a huge highlight of my trip to Seoul!

Highly recommended hotel for the Myeongdong area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I would say this hotel did not live up to it’s rating score on Tripadvisor. It’s quite average and I am surprised how high it is compared to it’s competitors. Location wise it was good if Myeongdong is where you want to base yourself. It is around the corner from all the shops. We walked every where even up to Insadong and further afield. However, I prefer a quieter, slightly more upscale area where there are more cafes and boutiques such as Samcheongdong. Then again the price may be in a different category if that’s the case. The hotel itself was average. Room size and service were neutrual. We didn’t eat or use their indoor steam bath so cannot comment. However, the spa downstairs was very convenient and was open until very late. Great way to end the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-021, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#18 Family Hotel in Seoul
#32 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.